The Day of Unification of Ukraine

The Day of Unification of Ukraine is the Ukrainian national holiday, which is celebrated annually on January 22. On this day in 1919, rejoined the Western Ukrainian People's Republic and the Ukrainian People's Republic.

In 2011, the president signed a decree according to which the Day of Unification canceled at the official level and found instead a holiday Day of Unification and Freedom.

Every year on January 22 the streets of the Ukrainian capital and other cities in the country are filled with people celebrating this great holiday. This day is traditionally formed the so-called human chains that serve as a symbol of unification of Ukrainian lands. Solemn traditional events are held in a railroad car outside Fastow, who is the "Museum on Wheels" (installed in 2001). It was in this car December 1, 1918 the signing of the preliminary agreement, which regulates union ZUNR and UNR.

The first twenty years of the solemn celebration of catholicity was held January 22, 1939 in the Carpathian Ukraine, namely in Hust, which at the time was part of the Czechoslovak Republic. That day will be a good opportunity to remind people of the Carpathian Ukraine to the will, which was to declare the memorable Congress of 1919 the Popular Assembly of the Ukrainian association of two Ukrainian lands into a single state with the center in Kiev.

Human chain formed by the people January 21, 1990 between Kyiv and Lviv came to symbolize the spiritual unity of the people living in the eastern and western regions of Ukraine. Then the total number of Ukrainians who have formed a human chain, was equal to two million people.

The end of the 2000s was marked by the revival of the tradition of a "living chains", symbolizing integrity of Ukraine. Quite often such chains were organized on the bridge Paton, symbolically uniting the left and right banks of the Dnieper. In 2011, human chains were formed in more than twenty cities in Ukrain.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read also

The coming holidays

The Day of Ukrainian Constitution

June 28 in Ukraine a national holiday - the Day of the Constitution. On this day in 1996, of the Verkhovna Rada of Ukraine adopted a new basic law of the c...


Midsummer Day

Midsummer is a traditional holiday, which is celebrated in Ukraine on the night of July 7, on the night of 23 to 24 June in the old style. Historically, ...


Day of Saint John the Baptist

Day of Saint John the Baptist celebrated since ancient times. Tradition introduced by the first Christian communities. Only in a few centuries, around th...

День соборности Украины

День соборности Украины является государственным украинским праздником, который ежегодно отмечают 22 января. Именно в этот день в 1919 году воссоединились Западно-Украинская Народная Республика и Украинская Народная Республика.

В 2011 году был подписан указ президента, согласно которому День соборности отменили на официальном уровне и установили вместо него праздник День соборности и свободы.

Ежегодно 22 января улицы украинской столицы, а также других городов страны заполнены людьми, отмечающими этот большой праздник. В этот день традиционно образуются так называемые живые цепи, которые служат символом объединения украинских земель. Торжественные традиционные мероприятия проводятся в городе Фастов возле железнодорожного вагона, который является «Музеем на колесах» (был установлен в 2001 году). Именно в этом вагоне 1 декабря 1918 года состоялось подписания предварительного договора, регламентирующего объединение ЗУНР и УНР.

Первое за двадцать лет торжественное празднования Дня соборности состоялось 22 января 1939 года в Карпатской Украине, а именно в городе Хуст, которая в то время входила в состав Чехословацкой республики. Тот день послужил прекрасным поводом напомнить жителям Закарпатской Украине о воле, которая была задекларирована на памятном съезде 1919-го года Всенародного украинского собрания об объединении двух украинских земель в единое государство с центром в Киеве.

Живая цепь, образованная людьми 21 января 1990 года между Киевом и Львовом, стала символизировать духовное единство людей, живущих в восточных и западных регионах Украины. Тогда общее число украинцев, образовавших живую цепь, равнялось двум миллионам человек.

Конец 2000-х ознаменовался возрождением традиции создания «живых цепей», символизировавших целостность Украины. Достаточно часто такие цепи организовывались на мосте Патона, символично объединяя, правый и левый берега Днепра. В 2011 году живые цепи образовались в более чем двадцати городах Украины.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Читайте также

Ближайшие праздники

День Конституции Украины

28 июня в Украине отмечается государственный праздник — День Конституции Украины. В этот день в 1996 году на утреннем заседании Верховная Рада Украины прин...


Праздник Ивана Купала

Праздник Ивана Купала в Украине — традиционный праздник, который отмечается в стране в ночь на 7 июля, т.е. в ночь с 23 на 24 июня по старому стилю. И...


Рождество Иоанна Предтечи

Рождество Иоанна Предтечи, или Иоанна Крестителя, отмечается с незапамятных времен. Традицию привнесли еще первые христианские общины. Всего спустя несколь...