Beheading of John the Baptist

Beheading of John the Baptist

September 11 is holiday Beheading Prophet Forerunner and Baptist John, or, as they say, Golovosek.

This holiday is better known among the faithful, called "John Lean" because church established in the day-day fast, hence its common name.

In the Gospel of Mark, detailing the horrible martyrdom of John the Baptist - the precursor of Jesus Christ, who predicted the coming of Jesus.

King Herod, who lived in the time of John the Baptist and Jesus Christ, the love of his brother Philip's wife, and married her. Herod feared John, for he saw in him a man righteous and holy, in many cases, it is to listen to him. John told him frankly that he had committed a shameful act, linking his life with his brother's wife. These accusations are not very popular with Herod. Such frank and courageous words and did not like Herodias, the former wife of Philip, who wanted to kill John. And then, finally, the opportunity was. On his birthday Herod invited many guests, they sang and danced. Especially captured the king dance of Salome, daughter of Herodias. Captured so that the pleasure which she gave him, he promised her anything she asks. The girl, talking to her mother, asked the king the head of John the Baptist on a platter. Herod did not refuse, and the head of John was brought.

On this day, adhere to strict fasting. You can not cut anything that resembles a head. It is generally considered that this day should not pick up sharp objects: knife, ax. That is all that reminds martyred saint.

There is a saying: "If you cut the head of cabbage in the day, the blood can flow." On Truncation can not have round fruits and vegetables: apples, cabbage, potatoes (which is shaped like the severed head of the Baptist), and red tomatoes, watermelons, because they resemble the blood of the saints. Consequently, there can not be anything on the plate - he was in the head of John the Baptist.

This day had been cooked soup, it was the only day when sin is borscht.

This day was forbidden to sing and dance. Because it is through song and dance made Herodias penalty Baptist.

On this day, everyone tried to go to church, and those who suffered from headaches, requested healing.

According to popular belief Golovoseka day is the last line, when there are thunderstorms. But if someone heard the thunder, it foreshadowed a long and warm autumn. Hence the saying, "thundered Golovosek - add a warm year."
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read also

The coming holidays

The Day of Poltava

Poltava citizens celebrate the Day of the city on September 23. The city was founded in 1174. Traditionally, the celebration is timed to the Day of Liber...


The Exaltation of the Cross

September 27 Exaltation of the Holy Cross (as they say, "Exaltation") is one of the greatest Christian holidays. Historical content of this ancient Christi...


The Day of Khmelyntsky

(In 2016, on September 24) As most of ancient cities, the exact date of foundation of Khmelnytsky is not known. The first mention of it noticed in chronic...

Усекновение головы Иоанна Крестителя

Усекновение головы Иоанна КрестителяИ

11 сентября — День Усекновения головы Пророка Предтечи и Крестителя Господня Иоанна, или, как говорят в народе, Головосек.

Этот праздник более известен среди верующих под названием «Иван Постный», потому что церковь установила в этот день однодневный пост, отсюда и его народное название.

В Евангелии от Марка подробно рассказывается о страшной мученической смерти Иоанна Предтечи — предшественника Иисуса Христа, который предсказывал пришествие Иисуса.

Царь Ирод, во времена которого жили Иоанн Креститель и Иисус Христос, полюбил жену своего брата Филиппа и женился на ней. Ирод боялся Иоанна, ибо видел в нем человека праведного и святого, во многих случаях он его слушался. Иоанн откровенно говорил ему, что он совершил позорный поступок, связав свою жизнь с женой брата. Эти упреки не очень нравились Ироду. Такие откровенные и смелые слова не нравились и Иродиаде, бывшей жене Филиппа, которая хотела убить Иоанна. И вот, наконец, такая возможность появилась. В день рождения Ирода пригласили много гостей, они пели и танцевали. Особенно захватил царя танец Саломеи, дочери Иродиады. Захватил настолько, что за наслаждение, которое она ему подарила, он пообещал ей все, что она попросит. Девушка, посоветовавшись с матерью, попросила у царя голову Иоанна Крестителя на блюде. Ирод не отказал, и голова Иоанна была принесена.

В этот день придерживаются строгого поста. Нельзя ничего резать, что напоминает собой голову. Вообще считается, что в этот день не стоит брать в руки острые вещи: нож, топор. То есть все, что напоминает мученическую смерть святого.

В народе говорят: «Если срезать головку капусты в этот день, то может потечь кровь». На Усечение нельзя есть круглые фрукты и овощи: яблоки, капусту, картофель (их форма напоминает отрубленную голову Предтечи), а также красные помидоры, арбузы, потому что они напоминают кровь святого. Следовательно, нельзя есть и что-либо на блюде — на нем лежала голова Иоанна Предтечи.

В этот день не варили борщ, это был единственный день, когда грех есть борщ. В этот день запрещалось петь и танцевать. Потому что именно с помощью песен и танцев Иродиада добилась казни Крестителя.

В этот день каждый старался побывать в церкви, а те, кто мучился головными болями, просили исцеления.

По народным верованиям день Головосека являются последней чертой, когда появляются грозы. Но если кто-то услышал гром, то это предвещало длительную и теплую осень. Отсюда и поговорка: «Загремел Головосек — теплая прибавит год».
blog comments powered by Disqus

Читайте также

Ближайшие праздники

День города Полтава

Полтавчане празднуют День своего города 23 сентября. Город основан в 1174 году. Традиционно празднование приурочено ко Дню освобождения Полтавы от немецко-...


Воздвижение Креста Господня

27 сентября Воздвижение Честного и Животворящего Креста Господня (как говорят в народе, Воздвижение) — один из великих христианских праздников. Историческо...


День города Хмельницкий

(В 2017 году выпадает на 30 сентября)Как и у большинства древних городов, точная дата основания Хмельницкого не известна. Первое упоминание о нем приходитс...