Day of Ukrainian Cossacks

Each year on 14 October the Ukrainians cebrate two important for the country holidays. The first is the Day of Ukrainian Cossacks according to the decree of the President of Ukraine of 1999, "given the historical significance and merits of the Cossacks in the statement of the Ukrainian state and its significant contribution to the process of building a modern state." Another holiday appeared in 2015 - the Day of the Defender of Ukraine. It is created to be a replacement of the Fatherland Defender's Day which is celebrated in the former Soviet Union on 23 February. According to the opinion of the government of Ukraine and according to variety opinion polls, the change in the Ukrainian calendar of holidays was relevant in connection with military actions on the territory of Ukraine, which has began in 2014, and because of the military aggression against Ukraine of the Russian Federation. However, for today the Day of Defender of Ukraine is rather the professional holiday since at the household level a considerable part of Ukrainians continue to celebrate February 23 as "Men's Day".

Despite the huge number of controversial issues Cossacks , one should not underestimate its role in shaping a country such as Ukraine. That it was the perfect consolidating factor that united the people around one idea - to achieve independence and to build their own state.

As a purely national, Ukrainian phenomenon Cossacks appeared in the 14th century. From the beginning, it consisted solely of free people, who dedicated his life to defend the homeland from enemies.

The main characteristic of Zaporizhzhya Sich include, first of all, democracy. This is ahead of Europe for centuries. At a time when the whole of Europe adopted a sharp division of society into classes and social strata in the Zaporizhzhya Sich all were considered equal comrades, brothers with equal rights and responsibilities for all Cossacks. Here are two words that have attracted everyone: freedom and equality. Cossack freedom - this is not anarchy. This freedom creates obligations and consisted in the fact that those who carried out his responsibilities, he also had freedom. And equality was that at the camp there was no room for the servants or masters.

Since July 2002, our country has a Ukrainian Registered Cossacks - organization, which considers itself the successor and the traditions of the Cossacks of Ukraine. It brings together nearly 70,000 Cossacks. Activities of the Ukrainian Registered Cossacks: scientific, educational, spiritual and ideological, economic, social, national and military. Of Cossack formations are: "Cossacks of Ukraine" (2001), "The Ukrainian Cossacks" (1991), "Union of Cossack organizations of Ukraine" (1999), "United Cossacks of Ukraine" (2003) and others.
Since 1991, regularly organizes horse trips, trips to the seagulls, festivals, tournaments and national martial arts martial arts. In 2001, the federation was established Ukrainian Cossack fight and the International Federation of combat hopak.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read also

The coming holidays

Day of Ukrainian Writing and Language

Day of Ukrainian writing and language was established by the decree of the 2nd Ukrainian President Leonid Kuchma in 1997 and is celebrated every year the 9...


Holodomor Remembrance Day

(In 2015, on November 28) Famine that gripped the years 1932-1933 in vast areas of the USSR, including the territory of the Ukrainian SSR, resulted in...


The Presentation of the Holy Virgin in the Temple

Introduction (Introduction to the Church of Our Lady) is one of the twelve great religious holidays. With the feast of which is celebrated the church on De...

День украинского казачества и День защитника Украины

Каждый год 14 октября в Украине отмечается два важных для страны праздника. Первый — День украинского казачества согласно указу Президента Украины от 1999 года, «учитывая историческое значение и заслуги казачества в  утверждение украинской государственности и его существенный  вклад в современный процесс создания государства». Другой праздник появился в 2015 году — День защитника Украины, призванный стать заменой Дню защитника Отечества, который отмечается на постсоветском пространстве 23 февраля. По мнению руководства страны и согласно ряду социологических опросов, данное изменение в украинском календаре праздников было актуальным в связи с военными действиями на территории Украины, которые начались в 2014 году, и из-за военной агрессии против Украины Российской Федерации. Впрочем, пока День защитника Украины является скорее профессиональным праздником, т.к. на бытовом уровне по старой памяти значительная часть украинцев продолжает отмечать 23 февраля как «мужской день».

Несмотря на огромное количество спорных вопросов, касающихся казачества, нельзя недооценивать его роль в формировании такого государства, как Украина. Именно оно стало идеальным консолидирующим фактором, который объединил народ вокруг одной идеи —  добиться независимости и построить собственное государство.

Как сугубо национальное, украинское явление, казачество появилось в 14-м веке. С самого начала  оно состояло исключительно из вольных людей, которые всю свою жизнь посвятили защите Родины от врагов.

Главной характеристикой Запорожской Сечи можно назвать, в первую очередь, демократичность. Этим она опередила Европу на целые столетия. В то время, когда по всей Европе утвердилось резкое разделение общества  на классы и социальные слои, в Запорожской Сечи все считались равными товарищами, братьями с равными правами и обязанностями для всех казаков. Здесь были два слова, которые привлекали каждого: свобода и равенство.  Казацкая свобода — это далеко не анархия. Эта свобода порождала обязательства и состояла в том, что кто выполнил возложенные на него обязанности, тот и имел свободу.  А равенство было  в том, что на Сечи не было места ни слугам, ни господам.

С июля 2002 года в нашей стране действует Украинское реестровое казачество — общественная организация, которая считает себя правопреемником и продолжателем традиций казачества Украины. Она объединяет почти 70 тысяч казаков. Направления деятельности Украинского реестрового казачества : научно-образовательное, духовно-идеологическое, экономическое, социальное,  национальное и военное. Среди казацких образований есть: «Казачество Украины» (2001), «Украинское казачество» (1991), «Союз казаческих организаций Украины» (1999), «Объединенное казачество Украины» (2003) и другие.

С 1991 года регулярно организовываются конные походы, походы на чайках, фестивали-турниры боевых искусств и национальных видов единоборств. В 2001 году была создана Всеукраинская федерация казацкого поединка и Международная федерация боевого гопака.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Читайте также

Ближайшие праздники

День святого Николая Чудотворца

Украина отмечает День святого Николая Чудотворца — покровителя детей и путешественников — в ночь с 18 на 19 декабря. Из целой череды святых Никола...