Feast of the Protecting Veil of the Mother of God

Feast of the Protecting Veil  of the Mother of God

The beginning of winter in the Ukrainian village was considered a holiday Protection - Protection of the Blessed Virgin Mary, celebrated the Orthodox Church on October 14, new style. This is the main autumn festival, whose history dates back to the year 910, when in one of the churches of Jerusalem during the service whacky Andrew and his disciple Epiphanius seen hovering in the air, the Mother of God, which is spread out over praying his wide white veil - covering.

... On Sunday, during the vigil, when the temple was crowded with worshipers, St Andrew, for Christ's Fool, at four o'clock in the night, raising his eyes to heaven, he saw walking in the air Blessed Lady Theotokos, illumined by the light of heaven, surrounded by angels and a host of saints. Holy Lord John the Baptist and St. John the Theologian accompanied the Queen of Heaven.

On bended knee, the Blessed Virgin began with tears to pray for Christians and for a long time in prayer. Then she came to the throne, continued his prayer, finishing that, she took off with his head covered and spread it over the prayers in the temple people, protecting them from enemies visible and invisible. Blessed Lady shone with heavenly glory, and cover in the hands of its shine "more than the rays of the sun."

St Andrew with awe beheld a wondrous vision, and asked who was standing next to his disciple, the blessed Epiphanius: "You see, brother, the Queen and Lady, praying for the world?". Epiphanius replied: "I see, Holy Father, and horrified."

Most Blessed Virgin Mary asked the Lord Jesus Christ to the prayers of all the people who call upon Him Most Holy Name and resorting to her intercession.

Saints Andrew and Epiphanius, honoring contemplate praying Virgin, "for a long time looking at the people sprawled on the blanket and shineth like lightning glory of the Lord, until the Mother of God was there, and apparently it was covered, for the same departure it to do and it's invisible, but taking it with him, she left Grace, who were there. "

Wondrous phenomenon Virgin covering Christians encouraged and comforted Greeks, gathered his last strength, they defeated the Saracens.

In Vlaherna church preserved the memory of the appearance of the Virgin. In the XIV century Russian pilgrim clerk Alexander saw in church praying for peace icon of the Blessed Virgin Mary, written as her beheld St. Andrew. But the Greek Church does not know of this holiday.

Another day in pagan times, which now accounts for the Protection of the holiday, was associated with the cult of remembrance of ancestors and create new families, the celebration of the end of the agricultural cycle, when all the field work ended. In the Christian era began with a cover vechornytsi that lasted until Easter, and the wedding, which lasted until Filippovsky post (November 27). This was also a time of mass marriages. "Protection of the covering of grass leaves, ground - snow, water - ice, and girls - wedding crowns."

Carpathian Ukraine to return all Covers Cattle herds with meadows and ended last trip Chumakov. To all the family members were healthy, the senior mistress Veil took embroidered towel that was over the icon of the Virgin, and hang it over the door.

It is interesting that the people retained a belief that the Blessed Virgin has a guardian cover, which asked: "My friend Shroud, cover our house warm and the owner - good."

For the feast of the Protection of the Cossacks was the biggest holiday. On this day, there were elections for a new Cossack chieftain. Our knights believed that Saint Protection protects them, and the Most Holy Mother of God considered their protector and defender. To Zaporozhye Cossacks were at Church of the Holy Veil. Known researcher traditions of the Ukrainian people Oleksa Voropai wrote that after the destruction of the Zaporozhian Sich in 1775, Cossacks, who left the Danube for immigration took with them the image of the Holy Virgin.

Cossacks are so believed in the power of the Holy Virgin, and so sincerely and solemnly celebrated a holiday cover, which for centuries in Ukraine, he bought another and Cossack content and its second name - Cossack Veil. Recently, the feast of the Protection in Ukraine is celebrated also as the Day of Ukrainian Cossacks.

Signs on the cover:

1. If the Shroud of wind blows from the east, the winter will be cold, and if the south - to the warm winter, when the north - winter will be cold and snowy, variable - a variable.

2. If the leaves of oak and birch Shroud fall clean (ie full) - to an easy year, but not clean - to severe winter.

3. What is the weather on the Shroud, this is winter.

4. If not storks flew to cover - on a warm winter.

5. To cover up to lunch - autumn afternoon - zimushka-winter.

6. If the cover is not snowing, then it will not be until January.

7. If the Shroud of snow fell, then Dmitriev Day (Nov. 8) will also be snow.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read also

The coming holidays

Day of Ukrainian Writing and Language

Day of Ukrainian writing and language was established by the decree of the 2nd Ukrainian President Leonid Kuchma in 1997 and is celebrated every year the 9...


Holodomor Remembrance Day

(In 2015, on November 28) Famine that gripped the years 1932-1933 in vast areas of the USSR, including the territory of the Ukrainian SSR, resulted in...


The Presentation of the Holy Virgin in the Temple

Introduction (Introduction to the Church of Our Lady) is one of the twelve great religious holidays. With the feast of which is celebrated the church on De...

Покров Пресвятой Богородицы

Покрв Пресвятой богородицы

Началом зимы в украинском селе считался праздник ПокроваПокров Пресвятой Богородицы и Приснодевы Марии, отмечается Православной Церковью 14 октября по новому стилю.

Это главный осенний праздник, история которого восходит к 910 году, когда в одном из храмов Иерусалима во время богослужения юродивый Андрей и его ученик Епифаний увидели парящую в воздухе Богородицу, которая распростерла над молящимися свое широкое белое покрывало — покров.

...В воскресный день, во время всенощного бдения, когда храм был переполнен молящимися, святой Андрей, Христа ради юродивый, в четвертом часу ночи, подняв очи к небу, увидел идущую по воздуху Пресвятую Владычицу нашу Богородицу, озаренную небесным светом и окруженную Ангелами и сонмом святых. Святой Креститель Господень Иоанн и святой апостол Иоанн Богослов сопровождали Царицу Небесную.

Преклонив колена, Пресвятая Дева начала со слезами молиться за христиан и долгое время пребывала в молитве. Потом, подойдя к Престолу, продолжала Свою молитву, закончив которую, Она сняла со Своей головы покрывало и распростерла его над молящимися в храме людьми, защищая их от врагов видимых и невидимых. Пресвятая Владычица сияла небесной славой, а покров в руках Ее блистал «паче лучей солнечных».

Святой Андрей с трепетом созерцал дивное видение и спросил стоявшего рядом с ним своего ученика, блаженного Епифания: «Видишь ли, брат, Царицу и Госпожу, молящуюся о всем мире?» Епифаний ответил: «Вижу, святый отче, и ужасаюсь».

Преблагословенная Богородица просила Господа Иисуса Христа принять молитвы всех людей, призывающих Его Пресвятое Имя и прибегающих к Ее заступлению.

Святые Андрей и Епифаний, удостоившиеся созерцать молящуюся Богоматерь, «долгое время смотрели на распростертое над народом покрывало и на блиставшую наподобие молнии славу Господню; доколе была там Пресвятая Богородица, видимо было и покрывало; по отшествии же Ее, сделалось и оно невидимым, но, взяв его с Собою, Она оставила благодать, бывшую там».

Дивное явление Богородицы, покрывающей христиан, ободрило и утешило греков, собрав последние силы, они победили сарацинов.

Во Влахернской церкви сохранилась память о явлении Богоматери. В XIV веке русский паломник дьяк Александр видел в церкви икону молящейся за мир Пресвятой Богородицы, написанную так, как Ее созерцал святой Андрей. Но Греческая Церковь не знает этого праздника.

Еще в языческие времена день, на который сейчас приходится праздник Покрова, был связан с культом поминовения предков и создания новых семей, празднованием окончания земледельческого цикла, когда завершались все полевые работы. В христианскую эпоху с Покровы начинались вечерницы, которые продолжались до Пасхи, и свадьбы, которые продолжались до Филипповского поста (27 ноября). Это также было время массовых браков. «Покрова накрывает траву листьями, землю — снегом, воду — льдом, а девушек — брачным венцом».

В Карпатской Украине до Покровы возвращались все пастушьи стада с лугов и заканчивали последнее путешествие чумаки. Для того, чтобы все члены семьи были здоровыми, на Покрову старшая хозяйка брала вышитого рушника, который был над иконой Богородицы, и развешивала его над входной дверью.

Интересно, что в народе сохранилось поверье, что у Пресвятой Девы есть опекун Покров, которого просили: «Батенька Покров, накрой наш дом теплом, а хозяина — добром».

Для казаков праздник Покрова был самым большим праздником. В этот день у казаков происходили выборы нового атамана. Наши рыцари верили, что святая Покрова охраняет их, а Пресвятую Богородицу считали своей заступницей и покровительницей. На Запорожье у казаков была церковь святой Покровы. Известный исследователь обычаев украинского народа Олекса Воропай писал, что после разрушения Запорожской Сечи в 1775 году, казаки, ушедшие за Дунай на эмиграцию, взяли с собой образ Покровы Пресвятой Богородицы.

Казаки настолько верили в силу Покровы Пресвятой Богородицы и настолько искренне и торжественно отмечали праздник Покровы, что на протяжении веков в Украине он приобрел еще и казацкого содержания и получило второе название — Казацкая Покрова. С недавних пор праздник Покровы в Украине отмечается еще и как день украинского казачества.

Приметы на Покрову:
1. Если на Покров ветер подует с востока, зима будет холодная, а если с юга — к теплой зиме, если с севера — зима будет холодная и многоснежная; переменный — к непостоянной.

2. Если листья с дуба и березы на Покров упадет чисто (т.е. полностью) — к легкому году, а не чисто — к строгой зиме.

3. Какая погода на Покров, такой будет зима.

4. Если аисты не улетели на Покров — на теплую зиму.

5. На Покров до обеда — осень, после обеда — зимушка-зима.

6. Если на Покров не выпал снег, то не будет его до января.

7. Если на Покров выпал снег, то на Дмитриев день (8 ноября) тоже будет снег.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Читайте также

Ближайшие праздники

День святого Николая Чудотворца

Украина отмечает День святого Николая Чудотворца — покровителя детей и путешественников — в ночь с 18 на 19 декабря. Из целой череды святых Никола...