Day of Ukrainian Writing and Language

Day of Ukrainian Writing and Language

Day of Ukrainian writing and language was established by the decree of the 2nd Ukrainian President Leonid Kuchma in 1997 and is celebrated every year the 9th of November in honor of Ukrainian chronicler of St Nestor - follower of the creators of the Slavic alphabet Cyril and Methodius.

Now Ukraine conducted a thorough research origins of Ukrainian literature. It is considered that Ukrainian writing starts with the Monk Nestor the Chronicler. Also there is the assumption that the writing on the territory of Ukraine had a few options.

One option is writing the Northern Black Sea, where the alphabet used identical Greek or Roman (Latin), and in the eastern regions (especially Scythian-Sarmatians) had its own original writing, known to science called Sarmatian signs. These signs were similar to the Armenian and Georgian alphabet.

Anyone who has ever seen the modern Ukrainian alphabet, can see that most of his characters are like Greek, but there are also some Slavic characters. It should be noted that along with the Cyrillic alphabet, there was another alphabet and at the same time, known as Glagolitic alphabet, which had an unusual pattern of curls. Scientists have no analogs Glagolitic. This gives rise to allegations that the Glagolitic alphabet - is the creation of one person, as opposed to the Cyrillic alphabet, which has a natural organic nature and very ancient counterparts.

Day of Ukrainian writing and language - is not only the public but also religious holiday. The first in the modern Ukrainian language product that meets the Byzantine primary sources, called Orthodox Akathist Virgin Chelm.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read also

The coming holidays

Day of Ukrainian Writing and Language

Day of Ukrainian writing and language was established by the decree of the 2nd Ukrainian President Leonid Kuchma in 1997 and is celebrated every year the 9...


Holodomor Remembrance Day

(In 2018, on November 24) Famine that gripped the years 1932-1933 in vast areas of the USSR, including the territory of the Ukrainian SSR, resulted in...


The Presentation of the Holy Virgin in the Temple

Introduction (Introduction to the Church of Our Lady) is one of the twelve great religious holidays. With the feast of which is celebrated the church on De...

День украинской письменности и языка

День украинской письменности и языка

День украинской письменности и языка был установлен указом второго Президента Украины Леонида Кучмы в 1997 году и отмечается каждый год 9 ноября в честь украинского летописца преподобного Нестора — последователя творцов славянской письменности Кирилла и Мефодия.

Сейчас на Украине проводятся тщательные исследования истоков украинской письменности. Считается, что именно с преподобного Нестора Летописца и начинается письменный украинский язык. Также есть предположения, что письменность на территории Украины имела несколько вариантов.

Одним из вариантов можно считать письменность Северного Причерноморья, где пользовались азбукой, идентичной греческой или римской (латинице), а в восточных районах (особенно скифо-сарматы) имелась своя оригинальная письменность, известная в науке под названием сарматских знаков. Эти знаки были похожи на армянскую и грузинскую письменность.

Тот, кто хоть раз видел современный украинский алфавит, заметил, что большинство его букв похожи на греческие, но среди них есть и несколько славянских знаков. Следует заметить, что наряду с кириллицей и одновременно с ней существовала другая азбука, известная под названием глаголица, которая имела необычный характер завитков. Ученые пока не находят аналогов глаголицы. Это дает основания для утверждений, что глаголица — есть творение одного человека, в отличие от кириллицы, которая имеет природный органический характер и очень древние аналоги.

День украинской письменности и языка — это не только государственный, но и церковный праздник. Первое в современном украинском языке произведение, которое отвечает византийским первоисточникам, православные назвали акафистом Богородице Холмской.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Читайте также

Ближайшие праздники

Рождество Пресвятой Богородицы

Рождество Пресвятой Богородицы (Вторая Пречистая, как говорят в народе), христианский праздник, в Православной Церкви входит в число Богородичных двунадеся...


День города Чернигов

Город Чернигов считается одним из старейших в Украине — основан еще до крещения Руси, в 907 году. Так как точной даты основания города не сохранилось, ег...


День города Полтава

Полтавчане празднуют День своего города 23 сентября. Город основан в 1174 году. Традиционно празднование приурочено ко Дню освобождения Полтавы от немецко-...