Holodomor Remembrance Day

(In 2018, on November 24)

Famine that gripped the years 1932-1933 in vast areas of the USSR, including the territory of the Ukrainian SSR, resulted in massive loss of life. This sad period in the life of the country is considered to be - "The great famine 32/33 years".

In 1931, the five territories of the Soviet Union: Western Siberia, Kazakhstan, Middle Urals and the Volga region due to drought were collected grain is less than that required for the needs of these areas. This event was a prelude to the famine in Ukraine as well as significantly reduced grain resources of the country of the Soviets. The Soviet leadership continued incompetent general policy of collectivization, and did not stop the export of grain harvest in 1931, thus further aggravated the situation - in 1932, there was an even more huge decline in production of grain and other food products, now in the "barn" of the country: Ukraine and the Kuban.

By the fall of 1932, the Soviet Union began to experience serious difficulties with some of the residents of the cities with food. But by the spring of 1933, difficulties with food spread all over the country. Famine coverage areas: West Siberia, the Middle Urals, the Volga region and the Central Black Earth Region. The most difficult situation in Ukraine, the Caucasus and Kazakhstan.

The peasants took up almost all the food supplies. Deprived of food, they could not make it to the next harvest. Although the leadership of the Communist Party of USSR is constantly making the request to Stalin plan to cut the bread and stop the surplus, the government is not made concessions and imposed the death penalty for stealing farm property and the law "of spikelets", which for each ear blown off the field relied year prison conclusion. To conduct prodrazverstok in rural Ukraine were sent 112 thousand party members, does not understand the problems of the village.

In early 1933, death from hunger, widespread scale, it is remarkable that the inclusion of dead people stopped in April 1933. But even with these "scanty" reports, the number of deaths from starvation in 4 months in 1933 amounted to - 2,420,100 people, as well as 2.5 thousand officially registered cases of cannibalism.

According to some data of Ukrainian historians, the number of Ukrainians died of starvation in 32/33 years of - 7.2 million people are estimated to Russian specialists in the Kazakh Soviet Socialist Republic in the period 2 million people died in the Kirghiz SSR and the Russian Federation - 2/2, 5 million. Hunger have been contained by the beginning of 1934.

The United Nations has recognized the famine 1932/33's tragedy of the Ukrainian people and other fraternal republics of the Soviet Union.

Decree of the second President of Ukraine Leonid Kuchma of 31.10.2000, the "Day of Remembrance of the Victims of Holodomor" was called "Day of Remembrance of Holodomor and political repression," and the third President of Ukraine V. 21.05.07 Yushchenko issued a decree stating that these two names are separated in time. Thus, the "Holodomor Remembrance Day" is celebrated on the fourth Saturday the November, and the "Day of Memory of Political Repression" is observed every third Sunday of May.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read also

The coming holidays

The Day of Ukrainian Constitution

June 28 in Ukraine a national holiday - the Day of the Constitution. On this day in 1996, of the Verkhovna Rada of Ukraine adopted a new basic law of the c...


Midsummer Day

Midsummer is a traditional holiday, which is celebrated in Ukraine on the night of July 7, on the night of 23 to 24 June in the old style. Historically, ...


Day of Saint John the Baptist

Day of Saint John the Baptist celebrated since ancient times. Tradition introduced by the first Christian communities. Only in a few centuries, around th...

День памяти жертв Голодомора

(В 2018 году выпадает на 24 ноября)

Массовый голод, охвативший в 1932—1933 годах огромные территории СССР, и в том числе территорию Украинской ССР, привел к огромным человеческим жертвам. Этот печальный период в жизни Украины принято считать «Великим Голодомором 32/33 годов».

В 1931 году на пяти территориях Советского Союза: Западной Сибири, Казахстане, Среднем Урале и Поволжье вследствие засухи было собрано зерна, меньше чем этого требовалось для нужд этих территорий. Это событие было преддверием голода на Украине, так как значительно сократило зерновые ресурсы страны Советов. Руководство СССР продолжало некомпетентную политику всеобщей коллективизации, а также не прекратило экспорт зерна урожая 1931 года, чем еще более усугубило ситуацию — в 1932 году произошел еще более огромный спад производства зерна и других продуктов питания, теперь уже на «житницах» страны: Украине и Кубани.

К осени 1932 года, СССР стал испытывать серьезные трудности с обеспечением жителей некоторой части городов продуктами питания. А к весне 1933 года, трудности с обеспечением продовольствием охватили всю страну. Голод охватил районы: Западной Сибири, Среднего Урала, районы Поволжья и Центральный черноземный округ. Самая тяжелая ситуация сложилась на Украине, Кавказе и Казахстане.

У крестьян отнимали практически все запасы продовольствия. Лишенные продуктов питания, они не могли дотянуть до нового урожая. Хотя руководство компартии УССР постоянно обращалось с просьбами к Сталину сократить план по хлебу и прекратить продразверстки, руководство страны не пошло на уступки и ввело смертную казнь за воровство колхозной собственности и закон «о колосках», по которому за каждый унесенный с поля колосок полагался год тюремного заключения. Для проведения продразверсток, в села Украины были командированы 112 тыс. членов партии, совершенно не понимающих проблем села.

В начале 1933 года смерти от голода приняли массовый масштаб, примечательно, что учет умерших людей прекратили в апреле 1933 года. Но даже с учетом этих «куцых» сводок, количество умерших от голода за 4 месяца 1933 года составило — 2 420 100 человек, а также официально зарегистрировано 2,5 тысячи случаев каннибализма.

По уточненным данным украинских историков, число украинцев умерших от голода в 32/33 годах составляет — 7 200 000 человек, по оценкам российских специалистов в Казахской ССР в этот период умерло 2 млн. человек, в Киргизской ССР и РСФСР — 2/2,5 миллионов человек. Голод удалось локализовать лишь к началу 1934 года.

Организация Объединенных Наций признала голод 1932/33 годов трагедией народа Украины и других братских республик Советского Союза.

Указом второго Президента Украины Л. Кучмы от 31.10.2000 года, «День памяти жертв Голодомора» получил название «День памяти жертв Голодомора и политических репрессий», а третий президент Украины В.А. Ющенко 21.05.07 года издал указ, в котором говорилось, что эти два названия разнесены во времени. Так, «День памяти жертв Голодомора» отмечается в четвертую ноябрьскую субботу, а «День памяти политических репрессий» отмечается каждое третье воскресенье мая.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Читайте также

Ближайшие праздники

День Конституции Украины

28 июня в Украине отмечается государственный праздник — День Конституции Украины. В этот день в 1996 году на утреннем заседании Верховная Рада Украины прин...


Праздник Ивана Купала

Праздник Ивана Купала в Украине — традиционный праздник, который отмечается в стране в ночь на 7 июля, т.е. в ночь с 23 на 24 июня по старому стилю. И...


Рождество Иоанна Предтечи

Рождество Иоанна Предтечи, или Иоанна Крестителя, отмечается с незапамятных времен. Традицию привнесли еще первые христианские общины. Всего спустя несколь...