Day of Saint John the Baptist

Day of Saint John the Baptist

Day of Saint John the Baptist celebrated since ancient times. Tradition introduced by the first Christian communities. Only in a few centuries, around the IV century, this day has become a celebration of the entire Christian calendar as the feast of the "Sun of righteousness". After all, the day has appeared in Judaism. In those days people celebrated Day of the Baptist, a herald that announces the appearance of the Messiah. Those Jews called the prophet Elijah. Christianity says that John continued teaching of Elijah, to which his blessed Jesus himself.

According to the Holy Scriptures, John began to preach at age 30, and the power of his preaching was so strong that it’s almost immediately appeared followers. John chose for them a baptism as a visible symbol of repentance and spiritual renewal, and so it came to be call him the Baptist. Jesus received the baptism from him, which is particularly important for the faithful, because the first of Jesus’ disciples came to him from John.

Day of Saint John the Baptist is very important for Ukraine's Orthodox, as Jesus himself called John his predecessor, strongly expressed his respect to John and admired his spirit as the greatest of all on the earth. The Day is close to the holiday of the summer solstice, while the Christmas (birth of Jesus) is closer to winter solstice. The symbolism is in the words of John, "He must rise, and me to move away". According to the beliefs of people, the Baptist cures headaches, corruption, bleeding, ailments of cattle, and also protects from the wrath of superiors.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read also

The coming holidays

The Day of Ukrainian Constitution

June 28 in Ukraine a national holiday - the Day of the Constitution. On this day in 1996, of the Verkhovna Rada of Ukraine adopted a new basic law of the c...


Midsummer Day

Midsummer is a traditional holiday, which is celebrated in Ukraine on the night of July 7, on the night of 23 to 24 June in the old style. Historically, ...


Day of Saint John the Baptist

Day of Saint John the Baptist celebrated since ancient times. Tradition introduced by the first Christian communities. Only in a few centuries, around th...

Рождество Иоанна Предтечи

Рождество Иоанна Предтечи, Рождество Иоанна Крестителя в Украине

Рождество Иоанна Предтечи, или Иоанна Крестителя, отмечается с незапамятных времен. Традицию привнесли еще первые христианские общины. Всего спустя несколько столетий, примерно в IV веке, данное торжество вошло во все христианские календари как праздник «Солнца правды». Зародился же он еще при иудаизме — тогда отмечался день Предтеча, вестника, оглашающего появление Мессии. Таковым иудеи называли пророка Илию. Христианство же говорит, что Иоанн продолжил учение Илии, на что его благословил сам Иисус.

Согласно Святому писанию, Иоанн начал свой путь проповедника в возрасте 30 лет, и сила его проповедей была настолько сильна, что за ним практически сразу же начали идти последователи. Иоанн избрал для них крещение как символ видимого окружающим покаяния и духовного обновления, поэтому его и стали называть Крестителем. От него же крещение принял и Иисус, что особенно важно для верующих, ведь первые Его ученики пришли к нему именно от Иоанна.

Рождество Иоанна Крестителя очень важно для православной Украины, так как Иисус сам называл Иоанна своим предтечем, всячески высказывал свое почтение ему и восхищался его духом как самым великим из всех земных. Отмечается оно близко к празднику летнего солнцестояния, в то время как Рождество Иисуса — ближе к зимнему. Символизм заключается в словах Иоанна, открывающих суть прозвища Предтечи: «Ему должно расти, а мне — удаляться». Согласно верованиям людей, Креститель исцеляет от головных болей, порчи, кровотечений, хворей скота, а также защищает от гнева старших по званию.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Читайте также

Ближайшие праздники

День Конституции Украины

28 июня в Украине отмечается государственный праздник — День Конституции Украины. В этот день в 1996 году на утреннем заседании Верховная Рада Украины прин...


Праздник Ивана Купала

Праздник Ивана Купала в Украине — традиционный праздник, который отмечается в стране в ночь на 7 июля, т.е. в ночь с 23 на 24 июня по старому стилю. И...


Рождество Иоанна Предтечи

Рождество Иоанна Предтечи, или Иоанна Крестителя, отмечается с незапамятных времен. Традицию привнесли еще первые христианские общины. Всего спустя несколь...