Candlemas


Feast of the Presentation of the Lord the whole Orthodox world celebrates on February 15 (February 2, Old Style). "Candlemas" in Old Slavonic meaning "meeting." This festival is dedicated to the meeting, which occurred on the fortieth day after Christmas . On this day, the baby Jesus was born Mary and Joseph in the Temple of Jerusalem, to bring offerings to God in the tradition  the time. The temple was righteous Elder Simeon, who many years ago of the Old Testament from Hebrew into Greek. And to question the words of the prophets, that Christ is not born of a woman, and a Virgin. For that which was the angel sent down to him punishment and said that he would not die until he sees the fulfillment of prophecy. According to legend, at the time of the meeting, Simeon was about 300 years old. When Simeon saw Mary in the church with the baby, he came and took Jesus in his arms and gave thanks to the Lord for this miracle that happened, and he can finally die in peace. This meeting was a witness and the prophetess Anna, the attendant at the Jerusalem temple. The words spoken by Simeon at the meeting, have become part of the service.
Presentation of the Lord - the holiday of the Orthodox Church, the final cycle of the Christmas holidays. It is celebrated in ancient times, but the VI century takes particular splendor.
Symbolically represents the purification feast of the Presentation of all impurity and meeting winter and spring. Our ancestors at the beginning of this holiday determine seeding, and the weather that day was tried, what would be the spring and summer. A lot of people take on the feast of the Purification, used to this day.
The main shrine is Candlemas holiday icon "Softener of Evil Hearts", which depicts the transfer of Mary Jesus in his arms, Simeon, and the righteous Joseph holds the sacrificial doves, and in the background - the prophetess Anna.
On the day of the Meeting decided to consecrate candles and prayers mention that Candlemas candle dispersed night's darkness and ignorance of our dush.Sretenskaya candle - a symbol of blessing and enlightenment of the soul. Candlemas Day - a celebration of not only meeting Simeon with the Christ, that he was waiting for all my life, but also a meeting of Christ with humanity, which is always open as a true joy.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read also

The coming holidays

Defender’s of the Fatherland Day

February 23 in our country made to congratulate all men, regardless of age, with a "Day of Defender of the Fatherland." This holiday has become something o...


International Women's Day

International Women's Day is a holiday, celebrated annually on March 8 in a number of countries as "Women's Day". Celebrated annually on the United Nati...


Palm Sunday

(In 2018, on April 1)Palm Sunday - the popular name of one of the major festivals of Christians - Entry into Jerusalem. This celebration of the Orthodox ca...

Сретение Господне

Праздник Сретение Господне Праздник Сретения Господня весь православный мир отмечает 15 февраля (2 февраля по старому стилю). «Сретение» на древнеславянском обозначает «встреча». Этот праздник посвящен встрече, которая случилась на сороковой день после Рождества Христова. В этот день младенец Иисус был принесен Марией и Иосифом в Иерусалимский храм для принесения благодарственной жертвы Богу по традициям того времени. В храме находился праведный старец Симеон, который много лет назад переводил Ветхий завет с еврейского языка на греческий. И усомнился в пророческих словах, что Христос родится не от жены, а от Девы. За это явившийся ангел наслал на него кару и сказал, что тот не умрет, пока не увидит свершения пророчества. По преданию, на момент встречи Симеону было около 300 лет. Когда Симеон увидел в храме Марию с младенцем, он подошел, взял Иисусу на руки и возблагодарил Господа за то, что свершилось сие чудо, и он может наконец-то умереть спокойно. Свидетельницей этой встречи стала и пророчица Анна, служительница при Иерусалимском храме. Слова, которые произнес Симеон при встрече, стали частью богослужения.

Сретение Господне — праздник Православной церкви, завершающий цикл рождественских праздников. Он празднуется с древнейших времен, но с VI века совершается особенно торжественно. 

Символически праздник Сретения обозначает очищение от всякой скверны и встреча зимы с весной. Наши предки по этому празднику определяли начало посевных работ, а по погоде в этот день судили, какие будут весна и лето. Много народных примет, связанных с праздником Сретения, используются до нашего времени. 

Главной святыней Сретения Господнего считается праздничная икона «Умягчение злых сердец», на которой изображена передача Марией Иисуса на руки Симеону, а праведный Иосиф держит жертвенных голубей, а на заднем плане — пророчица Анна. 

В день Сретения принято освящать свечи, а в молитвах упоминать о том, чтобы сретенская свеча разогнала ночной мрак и невежество наших душ. Сретенская свеча — символ благословения души и просвещенности. Сретение — это праздник не только встречи Симеона с Христом, которую он ждал всю жизнь, но и встреча самого Христа с человечеством, которая всегда открыта, как истинная радость.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Читайте также

Ближайшие праздники

День защитника Отечества

23 февраля в день защитника Отечества в нашей стране принято поздравлять всех мужчин, независимо от возраста с «Днем защитника Отечества». Этот праздн...


Международный женский день

Международный женский день — праздник, отмечаемый ежегодно 8 марта в ряде стран как «женский день». Ежегодно отмечается ООН как Международный день борьбы ...


Вербное воскресенье

(В 2018 году отмечается 1 апреля) Вербное Воскресенье — народное название одного из главных праздников христиан — Входа Господня в Иерусалим. Этот праздн...