Feast of St. Nicholas

День матери

Ukraine celebrates the Feast of St. Nicholas - the patron saint of children and travelers - on the night of 18 to 19 December. Of a succession of St. Nicholas can be considered the most revered and well known - he is honored the Orthodox and the Catholic Church. It is believed that the first temple of a saint appeared in Kievan Rus about XIX century - on the grave of the former Prince Askold.

St. Nicholas is famous, because he is match with the image of Santa Claus (“Grandfather Frost” in Slavic countries) - the pagan winter frosts incarnation of the Slavs (particularly were honored with the Eastern Slavs - present Ukrainians, Belarusians and Russians), and in the future (during the Soviet period) gained his fairy character of a “grandpa” giving gifts to children on New Year. Although Soviet Santa Claus bless children in the New Year, putting presents under the tree, St. Nicholas comes to their houses before the Christmas holidays: the Orthodox - on the night of 18 to 19 December, the Catholics - on the night of 5 to 6 December. Gifts that St. Nicholas brings the children, they call in Ukraine "mikolajczyk," and he puts them usually under the pillow. But in the West it is generally believed that the holy places them in the socks hanging from the fireplace or in the clothing, which was exhibited at the door. Here and there, believe that Nicholas comes to visit along with two angels and two devils who whisper to him about the child's behavior. Obedient kids get the gifts, naughty - stones and twigs!

At the root of the holiday is the history of a man, who lived in III-IV centuries. He was called Nicholas and he was famous as a great servant of God. While a pilgrimage to Jerusalem, at the request of Nicholas its travelers prayer calmed the stormy sea. He also kept the sword of the executioner than saved from execution three men convicted innocent by a greedy mayor. He committed in his faith many other good things, for which he was honored by Christians and pagans. Nicholas died at a great age (his relics are in Bari, Italy), but the parishioners believe that he still helps all who turn to him in prayer.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read also

The coming holidays

Palm Sunday

(In 2018, on April 1)Palm Sunday - the popular name of one of the major festivals of Christians - Entry into Jerusalem. This celebration of the Orthodox ca...

The April Fool's Day

In Ukraine, this festival is very popular and the love of the people, because this nation has awarded more than one special sense of humor. Since then,...

Annunciation Day

Annunciation Day, the Annunciation of the Blessed Virgin Mary is a great feast of, the third-largest national-religious holiday after Easter and Christmas...

День святого Николая Чудотворца

День матери

Украина отмечает День святого Николая Чудотворца — покровителя детей и путешественников — в ночь с 18 на 19 декабря. Из целой череды святых Николая можно считать самым почитаемым и известным — его чтут и православная, и католическая церкви. Считается, что первый храм Чудотворцу появился в Киевской Руси примерно в XIX веке — на могиле прежнего князя Аскольда.

Святой Николай знаменит в первую очередь тем, что отождествляется с образом Деда Мороза — языческого воплощения зимних морозов у славян (особенно почитаем был у восточных славян — нынешних украинцев, белорусов и россиян), а в дальнейшем (в советский период) и сказочного персонажа, дарящего детям подарки на Новый год. Хотя советский Дед Мороз осчастливливал детей в Новый год, подкладывая подарки под елку, святой Николай является в дом к детям перед рождественскими праздниками: у православных — в ночь с 18 на 19 декабря, у католиков — в ночь с 5 на 6 декабря. Подарки, которые Чудотворец приносит детям, зовут в Украине «миколайчики», и кладет он их обычно под подушку. Однако на Западе традиционно считается, что святой кладет их в носочки, подвешенные у камина, или в детскую обувь, которую выставляют у порога. Кое-где верят, что Николай приходит в гости вместе с двумя ангелами и двумя чертями, которые нашептывают ему о поведении ребенка. Послушным малышам достаются подарки, непослушным — камни да розги!

У истоков праздника стоит история человека, жившего примерно в III—IV вв. Его прозвали Николаем Угодником, так как прославился он как великий угодник Божий. Совершая паломничество в Иерусалим, Николай Угодник по просьбе своих путников молитвой успокоил штормовое море. Он также удержал меч палача, чем спас от казни трех мужчин, осужденных безвинно корыстолюбивым градоначальником. Совершил он в своей вере еще множество других добрых дел, за что стал почитаемым и христианами, и язычниками. Умер Николай в глубокой старости (его мощи находятся в городе Бари, Италия), но прихожане верят, что он до сих пор помогает всем, кто обратится к нему с молитвой.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Читайте также

Ближайшие праздники

Международный женский день

Международный женский день — праздник, отмечаемый ежегодно 8 марта в ряде стран как «женский день». Ежегодно отмечается ООН как Международный день борьбы ...


Вербное воскресенье

(В 2018 году отмечается 1 апреля) Вербное Воскресенье — народное название одного из главных праздников христиан — Входа Господня в Иерусалим. Этот праздн...


День смеха

В Украине 1 Апреля день смеха пользуется особой популярностью и любовью со стороны населения, так как этот народ кто-то свыше наградил особым чувством юм...