Transfiguration of Christ (Apple Spas)

Transfiguration of Christ (Apple Spas)

Transfiguration of Christ or Christ is the Christian holiday dedicated mention of the Transfiguration of Jesus Christ, the feast of. Celebrated on August 19 and August 6 orthodox Catholics.

All three synoptic Gospels contain similar descriptions of the Transfiguration (Matthew 17:1, Mark 9:2, Luke 9:28). Soon after, as the Savior opened the disciples that He must suffer and be killed and on the third day rise again, he made three apostles - Peter, James and John on the Mount Tabor, and was transfigured before them: His face shone like the sun and His clothes became white as snow. The Transfiguration of Christ accompanied by the appearance of the Old Testament prophets Moses and Elijah, who spoke with Jesus about His close care. All of them were struck by a cloud of light, and out came a voice: "This is my beloved Son, in whom I am well pleased. Listen to him. "

Celebration of the Transfiguration Church confesses connection in Christ two principles - human and divine. Transformation - the appearance of the Son with the Father witness in the Holy Spirit, that is, the revelation of the incarnation of the Holy Trinity. Transfiguration was not to change the divine nature of Christ, but the appearance of His Divine in human nature. According to St. John Chrysostom, Transfiguration happened "to show us the future transformation of our nature and the future of His coming in the clouds with the angels in glory."

Feast of the Transfiguration already existed in the IV century, as evidenced by the teachings and words of Ephrem the Syrian, and John Chrysostom. Mother of Constantine the Great, Saint Helena Equal to the Apostles, built on Mount Tabor church in honor of the Transfiguration, which was destroyed in the XII century. Salah al-Din. In the West, a holiday in the XII century. was common; founded it in 1457 Pope Callistus III, establishing at the same liturgical rite.

On this day, the church consecrated pears, apples, grapes, honey and obzhinochnye wreaths or ears of rye and wheat.

Once devout peasants to this day do not eat fruit because it is considered a sin. After returning from church, the family, of course, solemnly sat down at a table and break: eating apples with honey and washed down with grape or apple wine - "that bore fruit." Ritual meal that day are Szulik.

In central Ukraine on the day can already start freezing, and therefore say, "Christ has come, keep your gloves in store!"

Before the Savior has two weeks post - "Spasovka." There is a legend that the Christ - a continuation of Lent. God has appointed for nine weeks of Lent and Holy Fathers have to ask God for something so done because hard for people to sustain such a long post. Then God split the post into two parts: seven weeks before Easter in the spring and two weeks in late summer before the Savior. That is why the popular belief in Spasovka should also fast, as in Lent.

Saved - a day of remembrance of the dead relatives to popular mythology, the third statement dead to light in the spring-summer season: the dead appear on Holy Thursday, the Green Festival and Spas.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read also

The coming holidays

Day of Ukrainian Writing and Language

Day of Ukrainian writing and language was established by the decree of the 2nd Ukrainian President Leonid Kuchma in 1997 and is celebrated every year the 9...


Holodomor Remembrance Day

(In 2015, on November 28) Famine that gripped the years 1932-1933 in vast areas of the USSR, including the territory of the Ukrainian SSR, resulted in...


The Presentation of the Holy Virgin in the Temple

Introduction (Introduction to the Church of Our Lady) is one of the twelve great religious holidays. With the feast of which is celebrated the church on De...

Преображение Господне

Преображение Господне (Яблочный Спас)

Преображение Господне или Спас — христианский праздник, посвященный упоминанию о Преображении Иисуса Христа, двунадесятый праздник. Празднуется 19 августа православными и 6 августа католиками.

Все три синоптических Евангелия содержат подобные описания Преображения Господня (Матфей 17:1; Марк 9:2; Лука 9:28). Вскоре после того, как Спаситель открыл ученикам, что Ему следует пострадать, быть убитым и на третий день воскреснуть, Он завел троих апостолов — Петра, Иакова и Иоанна на гору Фавор и преобразился пред ними: лицо Его просияло, как солнце, одежды сделались белыми как снег. Преображение Христово сопровождалось появлением ветхозаветных пророков Моисея и Илии, которые говорили с Иисусом о Его близкий уход. Всех их осенила светлая туча, и из нее послышался голос: «Сей есть Сын Мой возлюбленный, в Котором Мое благоволение. Его слушайте».

Праздник Преображение Господне, Церковные праздник Спас

Празднованием Преображения Церковь исповедует соединение во Христе двух начал — человеческого и Божьего. Преображение — появление Сына при свидетельстве Отца в Духе Святом, то есть откровение всех ипостасей Святой Троицы. Преображение состояло не в изменении Божественной природы Христа, но в появлении Его Божества в природе человеческой. Согласно Иоанна Златоуста, Преображение произошло, «чтобы показать нам будущее преображение естества нашего и будущее Свое пришествие на облаках во славе с ангелами».

Праздник Преображения Господня существовал уже в IV веке, о чем свидетельствуют наставления и слова Ефрема Сирина и Иоанна Златоуста. Мать Константина Великого, святая равноапостольная Елена, построила на горе Фавор храм в честь Преображения, разрушенный в XII в. Салах-ад-Дином. На Западе праздник еще в XII в. не было общим; его основал в 1457 папа Каллист III, установив тогда же богослужебный чин.

В этот день в церкви освящают груши, яблоки, виноград, мед и обжиночные венки или колосья ржи и пшеницы.

Когда-то правоверные крестьяне до этого дня не ели фруктов, потому что это считалось грехом. Вернувшись из церкви, семья, конечно, торжественно садилась за стол и разговлялась: ели яблоки с медом и запивали виноградным или яблочным вином, — «чтобы фрукты родила». Обрядовой едой в этот день являются шулики.

В средней полосе Украины от этого дня уже могут начинаться заморозки, а потому и говорят: «Пришел Спас, держи рукавицы про запас!»

Перед Спасом есть две недели поста — «спасовка». Существует легенда, что Спас — это продолжение Великого поста. Бог назначил для Великого поста девять недель, а святые отцы стали просить Бога, чтобы что-то с тем сделал, потому что для людей тяжеловато выдержать такой длинный пост. Тогда Бог разделил пост на две части: семь недель весной перед Пасхой и две недели в конце лета перед Спасом. Вот почему по народным верованиям в спасовку надо так же поститься, как и в Великий пост.

Спас — это день поминовения умерших родственников; по народной мифологии, это третье выступление мертвецов на свет в весенне-летнем сезоне: мертвецы появляются на Страстной Четверг, на Зеленые Праздники и на Спас.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Читайте также

Ближайшие праздники

Рождество Пресвятой Богородицы

Рождество Пресвятой Богородицы (Вторая Пречистая, как говорят в народе), христианский праздник, в Православной Церкви входит в число Богородичных двунадеся...


День города Чернигов

Город Чернигов считается одним из старейших в Украине — основан еще до крещения Руси, в 907 году. Так как точной даты основания города не сохранилось, ег...


День города Полтава

Полтавчане празднуют День своего города 23 сентября. Город основан в 1174 году. Традиционно празднование приурочено ко Дню освобождения Полтавы от немецко-...


Преображение Господне
праздник Преображение Господне
праздник спас
церковный праздник спас