Palm Sunday



(In 2018, on April 1)

Palm Sunday - the popular name of one of the major festivals of Christians - Entry into Jerusalem. This celebration of the Orthodox calendar falls on the last Sunday of Lent.

The holiday is dedicated to the day when Jesus rode into Jerusalem. People happily greeted Jesus with songs and flowers, as well as the stele under his feet, his ass clothes and palm branches - the plants, symbolizing purity and infallibility. Catholics are called this holiday - Palm Sunday. But a palm tree in our latitudes is not growing, so in the Orthodox tradition, it was replaced by willow - plant, which blooms after the first onset of winter and symbolizes the beginning of a new life. A festival called Palm Sunday.

Willow twigs to prepare better for the holiday in advance. It happens that the early Easter, and spring - cold, and then the willow does not have time to blossom before the holiday. In this case, for 4-5 days cut the branches and put them in water in the room. If the weather is favorable and bloom buds, twigs cut the day before.

Religious people on Palm Sunday morning to go to the church service, be sure to put a candle to symbolize the death and resurrection of Christ. After the service sanctifying Palm branches. These days, many people come to church only devote recruit, visiting service.

Sanctified branches are home. The first thing to slap this beam of children and other household members, saying, "Verba-whipping, beat to tears. I did not beat, willow beats! Be healthy, like water, strong as willow, as rich as the earth!" Why the willow as a symbol of strength and health? Yes, because it is one of the most tenacious plants. Observed that accepted and grow even those of its branches, which are stuck into the ground upside down.

A few sprigs of willow can be put into the water, and when they take root, planted near the house, but the other day. If twigs take root, is a plant grown will protect family home from adversity.

The rest of the beam should be kept for the images. Buds and twigs of willow svyachenoy people attributed magical and medicinal properties. Willow twigs thrown into the water for bathing small or ill children. Twigs also was applied to the sore spot. Before the beginning of the important things were instructed to eat one of Palm svyachenoy kidney and drink water. During a disaster, willow twig thrown into the street to misery spared the home side. But there is a warning - do not need to bother wasting willow, use these tools can be used only when necessary.

Remaining from last year's holiday twigs burned or thrown into the current (not standing!) Water.

It is believed that indoor plants, planted on Palm Sunday, grow well and bring to the house of wealth.

Hammered on that morning in the wall of a willow stick frees man from fear, making it bolder and more decisive.

If the Palm Sunday to remember a loved one, it is on this day will come.

Palm Sunday falls on Lent, so tumultuous festivities suit is not necessary, but that day, a harbinger of Easter should be bright and cheery.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Read also

The coming holidays

The Day of Poltava

Poltava citizens celebrate the Day of the city on September 23. The city was founded in 1174. Traditionally, the celebration is timed to the Day of Liber...


The Exaltation of the Cross

September 27 Exaltation of the Holy Cross (as they say, "Exaltation") is one of the greatest Christian holidays. Historical content of this ancient Christi...


The Day of Khmelyntsky

(In 2018, on September 29) As most of ancient cities, the exact date of foundation of Khmelnytsky is not known. The first mention of it noticed in chronic...

Вербное воскресенье

Праздник Вербное воскресенье

(В 2018 году отмечается 1 апреля)

Вербное Воскресенье — народное название одного из главных праздников христиан — Входа Господня в Иерусалим. Этот праздник православного календаря выпадает на последнее воскресенье Великого поста, он переходящий.

Праздник посвящен дню, когда Иисус въехал в Иерусалим. Люди радостно встречали Христа песнями и цветами, а также стелили под ноги его осла свои одежды и ветви пальмы — растения, символизирующего чистоту и непогрешимость. Католики так и называют этот праздник — Пальмовое Воскресенье. Но пальма в наших широтах не растет, поэтому в православной традиции ее заменили вербой — растением, которое первым расцветает после прихода зимы и символизирует начало новой жизни. А праздник назвали Вербным Воскресеньем.

Приготовить веточки вербы к празднику лучше заранее. Бывает, что Пасха ранняя, а весна — холодная, и тогда верба не успевает расцвести до праздника. В таком случае за 4-5 дней срежьте веточки и поставьте их в воду в помещении. Если погода благоприятна и почки распускаются, веточки срезают накануне.

Праздник Вербное воскресенье

Верующие люди в Вербное Воскресенье утром идут в церковь на службу, обязательно ставят зажженную свечу, символизирующую смерть и воскресение Христа. После службы святят вербные веточки. В наши дни многие приходят к церкви только посвятить вербу, не посещая службу.

Освященные веточки несут домой. Первым дело нужно похлопывать этим пучком детей и остальных домочадцев, приговаривая: «Верба-хлест, бей до слез. Не я бью, верба бьет! Будь здоровый, как вода, сильный, как верба, богатый, как земля!» Почему верба считается символом силы и здоровья? Да потому, что это одно из самых живучих растений. Замечено, что принимаются и вырастают даже те ее веточки, которые воткнуты в землю вверх тормашками.

Несколько веточек вербы можно поставить в воду, а когда они пустят корни, высадить возле дома, но в другой день. Если ветки приживутся, то, выросшее растение будет защищать семейный очаг от невзгод.

Остальной пучок нужно хранить за образами. Почкам и веточкам свяченой вербы люди приписывали магические и целебные свойства. Веточки вербы бросали в воду для купания маленьких или болеющих детей. Веточки также прикладывали к больным местам. Перед началом важного дела предписывалось съесть одну вербную почку и запить свяченой водой. Во время стихийного бедствия веточку вербы выкидывали на улицу, чтобы несчастье обошло дом стороной. Но есть одно предупреждение — не нужно беспокоить вербу понапрасну, применять эти средства можно только в случае необходимости.

Оставшиеся с прошлогоднего праздника веточки сжигают или бросают в текущую (не стоячую!) воду.

Считается, что комнатные растения, посаженные в Вербное Воскресенье, хорошо растут и приносят в дом богатство.

Вбитый утром этого дня в стену колышек из вербы избавляет человека от страхов, делает его смелее и решительнее.

Если в Вербное Воскресенье вспомнить о любимом человеке, то он в этот день обязательно придет.

Вербное Воскресенье приходится на Великий Пост, так что бурных гуляний устраивать не стоит, но этот день, предвестник Пасхи, должен быть светлым и радостным.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Читайте также

Ближайшие праздники

День города Полтава

Полтавчане празднуют День своего города 23 сентября. Город основан в 1174 году. Традиционно празднование приурочено ко Дню освобождения Полтавы от немецко-...


Воздвижение Креста Господня

27 сентября Воздвижение Честного и Животворящего Креста Господня (как говорят в народе, Воздвижение) — один из великих христианских праздников. Историческо...


День города Хмельницкий

(В 2018 году выпадает на 29 сентября)Как и у большинства древних городов, точная дата основания Хмельницкого не известна. Первое упоминание о нем приходитс...