Ascension into heaven of God Jesus Christ

Ascension into heaven of God Jesus Christ

(In 2018, on May 17)

Each year in late spring - early summer, the entire Orthodox world, including Ukraine, celebrates the Ascension into heaven of God Jesus Christ. Measured from the end of the celebration of Easter Ascension Day is celebrated on the 40th day, on Thursday, the sixth week after Easter.

According to a national tradition, it is a day of spring bloom and its transition to the summer season. Usually in the evening people kindle huge bonfires as a symbol to reveal in its full nature’s glory, and play around them. In this day, people also often were visiting their dead relatives - to enjoy their ascension to heaven.

According to the scriptures, all the important events taking place on the 40th day after the major achievements. For example, babies are brought into the temple of God on the 40th day, and it is believed that Jesus had to go to the temple of God as the Savior of men on the 40th day after his "second birth", the Resurrection.

The holiday is celebrated especially by believers, as it is the best capture the essence of faith: it is needed to end worthily own earth way to ascend to a new heavenly home, the home of eternal and blessed life.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read also

The coming holidays

Transfiguration of Christ (Apple Spas)

Transfiguration of Christ or Christ is the Christian holiday dedicated mention of the Transfiguration of Jesus Christ, the feast of. Celebrated on August 1...


The Day of Lutsk

According to some hypotheses, Lutsk (Luchesk at the base) is over 1,000 years old (it is believed that it was founded by duleb tribe in VII century), but...


The Day of Kharkiv

Kharkiv is relatively young Ukrainian city, which in 2013 will celebrate its 360th anniversary. It was founded in 1653. Today Kharkiv is one of the first...

Вознесение господне

Праздник Вознесение господне

(В 2018 году отмечается 17 мая)


Ежегодно в конце весны — начале лета весь православный мир, в том числе Украина, празднует день Вознесения на небо бога Иисуса Христа. Праздник отсчитывается от окончания Пасхи — Вознесение Господне отмечается на 40-й день, в четверг шестой недели после нее.

По народной традиции это день расцвета весны и ее перехода в летнюю пору. Обычно вечером разжигаются огромные костры, как символ раскрывшейся в полной своей красе яркой природы, а также водят хороводы. В этот день также часто посещают своих умерших родственников — чтобы порадоваться их вознесению в Царство Небесное.

Праздник Вознесение господне

Согласно священному писанию, все важнейшие события происходят на 40-й день после важных свершений. Например, младенцы приносятся в храм к Богу на 40-й день, а также считается, что Иисус должен был войти в храм Господень как Спаситель людей также на 40 день после своего «второго рождения», Воскресения.

Праздник Вознесение господне особенно широко отмечается верующими, так как в нем как нельзя лучше отражена суть веры: необходимость достойно окончить земной путь, чтобы вознестись в свой новый Небесный дом, дом вечной и блаженной жизни.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Читайте также

Ближайшие праздники

Преображение Господне

Преображение Господне или Спас — христианский праздник, посвященный упоминанию о Преображении Иисуса Христа, двунадесятый праздник. Празднуется 19 августа ...


День города Луцк

По некоторым гипотезам Луцку (Луческ при основании) уже более 1000 лет (считается, что он был основан дулебами в VII веке), но официальное летоисчисление п...


День города Харьков

Харьков — относительно молодой украинский город, который отпразднует в 2013 году свое 360-летие. Он основан в 1653 году. Сегодня Харьков занимает одно из...