Theatre and cinema

Development of Ukrainian theater

Development of Ukrainian theater The theatrical art of Ukraine originated in the extreme antiquity in national games, dances, songs and ceremonies. Since VI century the theatrical buffoons performances. During an epoch of  Kievan Russia the theater elements were in the church ceremonies. Frescos of Sofia cathedral in Kyiv testify to it (XI century). The first samples of drama were publicly pronounced by the pupils of Kyiv Brotherly (Kyiv-Mohula Academy) and Lavrsky school (XVI-XVII centuries). Lviv brotherly school and Ostrozhsky academy are now considered as the important centres of religious drama development.

Nativity scene

Nativity scene The word "vertep" (Eng. “nativity scene” or “den”) got Old Slavic origin and means "valley" or "cave". It is believed that this kind of Puppet Theater became popular in the Russian empire through Ukrainian students. Especially noted the role of so-called “spudei” (in Ukraine the name of seminarians, of students of religious schools and alias of junior students of Kyiv-Mohyla Academy). The researchers are inclined to believe that the nativity scene was born about 200 years ago in Western Ukraine, which belonged to Poland.

Ukrainian serf artists

Ukrainian serf artists The time of occurrence of the serf theater is considered the end of the XVII century. Formerly the members of the Rzeczpospolita (Poland) and the Russian Empire, being in a kind of reservation, i.e. without mixing with the culture of Western Europe, the Ukrainians had their own creative flair - folk songs and theatrical performances. Ukrainians had an aesthetic value to the nobles and princes of the time.

The Golden Age of Ukrainian Theater

The Golden Age of Ukrainian Theater Coryphaei Theater is one of the brightest pages of the Ukrainian theater history. In fact, this is the first professional theater in Ukraine. Officially, it is assumed that the theater was founded in 1882, in Yelisavetgrad (former name of Kirovograd).

Coryphaeus’ Theater

Coryphaeus’ Theater The history of modern Ukrainian theater is counted off from the creation of Coryphaeus’ Theater, and even more precisely: the history started with the staging of "Natalka-Poltavka" (in Ukrainian language) in 1882 Yelisavetgrad (now - Kirovograd) in the Zimniy (Eng. “Winter”) Theatre. Homestead of one of the members of the theater (the writer and actor Ivan Karpenko-Kary) become a forge of stage productions. Farm "Nadija" (Eng. “hope”; it is also name of Karpenko-Kary’s wife) was not far from Yelisavetgrad; it became the center of the top art intellectuals of Ukraine.

The history of Ukrainian animation

The history of Ukrainian animation Ukrainian animation is neither more nor less than 85 years. In 1927, the first Ukrainian cartoons were "Ukrainianization" (Kyiv) and "Tale of the straw bull" (Odessa Film Studio). Events of 1930s, which followed a wave of repression (the Second World War, and then hunger) have almost destroyed this branch of art. Until 1959, the Kiev Film Studio was released only a few dozen cartoons.

Development of Ukrainian Cinema

Development of Ukrainian Cinema In 1893 the main mechanic of Odessa Novorossiysk University Joseph Timchenko invented and designed prototype of the modern movie camera and device for a film projection. Then he made the first-ever filming - he rolled the horsemen and spears throwers. From November, 7th till December, 20th, 1893 in the hotel "France" (Odessa) those two films were showing.

Alexander Dovzhenko: master of allegory movie

Alexander Dovzhenko: master of allegory movie Winner of the International Film Festival in Venice in 1934, the winner of two Stalin Prizes and the Lenin Prize, Alexander Dovzhenko is still amazing us with his work, deep and surprisingly accurate. The biography of this man is also full of pain and tragedy, aspirations and dashed hopes, as his characters’.

Kiev Studio of Popular-Science Movies

Kiev Studio of Popular-Science Movies "Kievnauchfilm" was created on the basis of the Kiev Film Studio January 1, 1941 (commonly known name appeared only 13 years later). The new studio was planned as a bastion of propaganda and patriotic movies, which was especially important in the raged those years the Second World War. Then, few could have imagined what the future awaits for Studio and what kind of films will become its "star stronghold". Hardly anyone thought about the fact that a single-purpose Soviet unit will be one of the most favorite film studios in the European Community.

Odessa Film Studio

Odessa Film Studio Odessa Film Studio is one of the oldest in the Russian Empire and the largest Ukrainian producer of the movies. To date, the studio's repertoire is 222 feature films.

Modern Ukrainian cinematography

Modern Ukrainian cinematography The fall of the "Iron Curtain" and Soviet Union played an ambiguous role for intellectuals. On one side collapsed bans: it became possible not only openly praising socialism, but also criticize it without a fear. Now creative professions have free hands and they are free to create national works of art, to organize their own creative communities without coordination with the Communist Party; they got the right to travel abroad, were they are able to communicate openly in order to exchange experience with foreign colleagues and even enlist their help and support.

The coming holidays

The Day of Ukrainian Constitution

June 28 in Ukraine a national holiday - the Day of the Constitution. On this day in 1996, of the Verkhovna Rada of Ukraine adopted a new basic law of the c...


Midsummer Day

Midsummer is a traditional holiday, which is celebrated in Ukraine on the night of July 7, on the night of 23 to 24 June in the old style. Historically, ...


Day of Saint John the Baptist

Day of Saint John the Baptist celebrated since ancient times. Tradition introduced by the first Christian communities. Only in a few centuries, around th...


Read also

Театр и кино

Развитие украинского театра

Развитие украинского театра Театральное искусство Украины берет начало в глубокой древности в народных играх, танцах, песнях и обрядах. Еще с VI в. известные театральные представления скоморохов. В эпоху Киевской Руси элементы театра были в церковных обрядах. Об этом свидетельствуют фрески Софийского собора в Киеве (XI век). Первые образцы драмы произносили публично ученики киевских Братской (Киево-Могилянская Академии) и Лаврской школы (XVI—XVII века). Важными центрами развития религиозной драмы в настоящее время считалась также Львовская братская школа и Острожская академия.

Вертеп (театр)

Вертеп (театр) Само слово «вертеп» имеет старославянское происхождение и означает «ущелье» или «пещеру». Считается, что этот вид кукольного театра получил распространение в Российской империи благодаря украинским студентам. Особенно отмечается роль спудеев (так в Украине назывались бурсаки и студенты духовных учебных заведений, а также младших учеников Киево-Могилянской академии). Исследователи склоняются к тому, что вертеп зародился около 200 лет назад в Западной Украине, которая принадлежала Польше.

Украинские крепостные артисты

Украинские крепостные артисты Временем появления крепостного театр считается конец XVII века. Будучи в составе Речи Посполитой (Польша) и Российской империи, находясь в своеобразной резервации, т.е. не смешиваясь с культурой Западной Европы, украинцы имели свою собственную творческую изюминку – народные песни и театрализованные представления, и обладали эстетической ценностью для шляхтичей и князей того времени.

Золотой век украинского театра

Золотой век украинского театра Театр корифеев – одна из самых ярких страниц украинского театра. Фактически это первый профессиональный театр в Украине. Официально принято считать, что театр основан в 1882 году в Елисаветграде (ныне – Кировоград).

Современный украинский театр

Современный украинский театр Историю современного украинского театра стоит отсчитывать от создания Театра корифеев, а еще точнее – с постановки «Наталки-Полтавки» в 1882 году в Елисаветграде (ныне - Кировоград) в Зимнем театре на украинском языке. Усадьба одного из участников театра – писателя и актера Ивана Карпенко-Карого – стала кузницей сценических постановок. Хутор «Надежда» находился невдалеке от Елисаветграда, он стал центром лучших представителей творческой интеллигенции Украины.

История украинской анимации

История украинской анимации Украинской анимации уже ни много, ни мало 85 лет. В 1927 году были сняты первые украинские мультики – «Украинизация» (Киев) и «Сказка про соломенного бычка» (Одесская киностудия). События 30-х годов, последовавшие за волной репрессий - Вторая мировая война, а затем и голод - практически уничтожили эту отрасли искусства. До 1959 года на Киевской киностудии было выпущено всего несколько десятков мультфильмов.

Развитие украинского кино

Развитие украинского кино В 1893 году главный механик Одесского Новороссийского университета Иосиф Тимченко изобрел и сконструировал прототип современного киносъемочного аппарата и аппарата для кинопроекции. Тогда же он совершил первую в мире киносъемку — снял всадников и метателей копий. С 7 ноября по 20 декабря 1893 года в гостинице «Франция» (Одесса) демонстрировались эти две ленты.

Александр Довженко – мастер аллегории кино

Александр Довженко – мастер аллегории кино Лауреат Международного венецианского кинофестиваля в 1934 году, лауреат двух Сталинских премий и Ленинской премии, Александр Довженко по сей день поражает воображение своими работами – глубокими и удивительно точными. Биография этого человека также полна боли и трагизма, чаяний и разбившихся надежд, как и жизни его героев.

Киевская киностудия научно-популярных фильмов

Киевская киностудия научно-популярных фильмов «Киевнаучфильм» был создан на базе Киевской кинофабрики 1 января 1941 года (общеизвестное название появилось лишь 13 лет спустя). Новая студия планировалась как оплот пропагандистских и патриотических лент, что было особенно актуально в бушевавшей в те годы Второй мировой войны. Тогда мало кто мог себе представить, какое будущее ждет киностудию и какие фильмы станут ее «звездным оплотом». Вряд ли кто-то задумывался над тем, что очередная узкоспециализированная советская единица станет одной из любимых киностудий в европейском сообществе.

Одесская киностудия

Одесская киностудия Одесская киностудия – одна из старейших в Российской империи и крупнейший в Украине производитель кино. На сегодняшний день репертуар студии составляет 222 художественных фильма.

Современное кино в Украине

Современное кино в Украине Падение «железного занавеса» и Советского Союза сыграло неоднозначную роль для творческой интеллигенции. С одной стороны рухнули запреты – стало возможным открыто не только хвалить социализм, но и ругать его без опасений. Творческим профессиям развязали руки – они вольны создавать национальные произведения искусства, организовывать собственные творческие объединения без согласований с коммунистической партией, получили свободный выезд за границу, смогли открыто общаться с целью обмена опытом с иностранными коллегами и даже заручаться их помощью и поддержкой.

Ближайшие праздники

День памяти жертв Голодомора

(В 2017 году выпадает на 25 ноября) Массовый голод, охвативший в 1932—1933 годах огромные территории СССР, и в том числе территорию Украинской ССР, прив...


Введение во храм Пресвятой Богородицы

Введение (Введение в храм Пресвятой Богородицы) — один из двунадесятых церковных праздников. С праздником Введения, который отмечается церковью 4 декабря...


День вооруженных сил Украины

День Вооруженных Сил Украины отмечается ежегодно 6 декабря. Примечательно, что в государстве существуют официальные праздники всех видов вооруженных сил ...


Читайте также