Sergei Bubka: pole vaulter of the century

Sergei Bubka is the living legend of sport, the hero of our time. He is the first person in the world which hopped vault to a height of six meters. He is world record holder (6.15 m) from 1993, which is not beaten to this day.

The athlete was born in 1963, in Voroshilovgrad (formerly name of Lugansk). He decided to devote his life to the most mesmerizing and seemingly impossible type of athletics (the pole vault) at the age of 10 years. It is even more surprising decision knowing that his father (an ensign) was never gravitating to the sport, because it was quite enough of military service. His father confessed that he first visited the stadium when his son became the champion of the world. Coach of Sergei was famous Vitaly Petrov, who prepared the first Soviet pole vaulter, who took 4-meter height, Gabriel Raevsky. Although, Petrov never been able to take the height of more than 4.4 m, he got a natural eye for talent. The coach suggested suitable for training hall in Donetsk, where he moved. And if Sergei's mother did not succumb to the entreaties, the career of the great jumper could have ended before it began.

Sergei Bubka won his first gold medal at the first World Championships in Athletics, in 1983 in Helsinki (Finland) at the age of 19 years, jumping to a height of 5.7 m. Then the jump called a blind luck and did not believe in the possibility of the "upstart". His first world record he set a year later in Bratislava (Slovakia), it was 5.85 meters. And in 1985, in Paris, he overcame 6-foot threshold. For 10 years, Sergei Bubka set 35 world records. Interestingly, during the tournament in Tokyo (Japan), he won with a modest result for yourself: 5.95 m. However, the legend was born when the computer is spotted flying at a height of 6.37 m. However, there are no official evidences to suggest this.

It is necessary to dwell on the historic jump on Sergei on the Jean Bouin Stadium in Paris. Sergei Bubka considered his main rival the French athlete Terry Vignon, who a year earlier in Rome broke the record of Ukrainian athlete, and was a world champion... for five minutes. Sergey admitted that he did not want to turn into Bob Beamon, "a living mummy". This American was competing in the long jumps and his record (8.9 m) remains the best Olympic result since 1968. However, he was never able to get even close to this result after this jump. In a sports career of athlete were failures too. All Olympic Games, besides Seoul in 1988, was for him a failure. And the Olympic Games in Los Angeles, the Soviet authorities did not let him go, because they boycotted Games for political reasons. It was a sure win for Sergei. The best result these days showed the Frenchman Pierre Cynon (5.75 m), which was already lower than the best result of Sergey Bubka (5.94 m). Practicing before the Olympic Games in Atlanta, Sergei took aim at the height of 6.2-6.3 m. He did not spare himself in training, paying no attention to the coaches’ warnings, so he was injured. The diagnosis is Achilles tendon tear. Prior to 1997, prior to the event in Athens, the victories were not even mentioned. Despite the fact that the injury still bothered the jumper, he won the gold. His last competition was on the Games in Sydney (2000).

Although Sergei Bubka remains the only athlete in the world, which became the world champion six times in a row, experts believe that the athlete did not disclose his full potential. His second coach Eugene Volobuev believed that the potential of Sergei is 6.4 m, and assuming that what happened in Japan, probably, he was right. Fans looking the Ukrainian’s jumps said that he has no equal. Well, Sergei Bubka called two names, which, in his opinion, could compete with him, which "were the incentives to victory". They are an American Bill Oldson and Rodion Gatulin. However, Sergey remained the "King of the pole" for 16 years and remains to this day, even though he retired from active business.


For outstanding achievements in sports Sergei Bubka marked not only by number of sporting awards, but also the state arads: he obtained the order Hero of Ukraine, three Orders of Prince Miroslav the Wise, two "Orders of Merit", Order of the State, the Order of Lenin, the Order of the Red Banner of Labor, etc. In addition, he is one of the few who obtained a monument during lifetime. Today Sergey is a member of the executive committee of the International Olympic Committee. And now he claims to be its president. After completing his sports career, he was involved in politics, being a deputy of Ukraine in 2002-2006, he worked in the Committee of the youth policy, tourism and sports. In 2010, he became a supernumerary adviser to the President of Ukraine Viktor Yanukovych.
blog comments powered by Disqus

The coming holidays

Holodomor Remembrance Day

(In 2015, on November 28) Famine that gripped the years 1932-1933 in vast areas of the USSR, including the territory of the Ukrainian SSR, resulted in...


The Presentation of the Holy Virgin in the Temple

Introduction (Introduction to the Church of Our Lady) is one of the twelve great religious holidays. With the feast of which is celebrated the church on De...


Day of Armed Forces of Ukraine

Day of the Armed Forces of Ukraine is celebrated annually on December 6. It is noteworthy that in the state there are official holidays of all branches...

Сергей Бубка – шестовик века

Сергей Бубка чемпион мира по прыжкам с шестом


Сергей Бубка – живая легенда спорта, герой нашего времени. Он – первый в мире человек, прыгнувший с шестом на высоту более шести метров, обладатель мирового рекорда (6,15 м) с 1993 года, который не побит по сей день.

Спортсмен родился в 1963 году в Ворошиловграде (прежнее название Луганска). Он решил посвятить свою жизнь самому завораживающему и кажущемуся невозможным виду легкой атлетики - прыжкам с шестом - в возрасте 10 лет. Тем более удивительное решение, что его отец – прапорщик – никогда не тяготел к спорту, т.к. ему вполне было достаточно воинской службы. Его отец признавался: он впервые побывал на стадионе, когда его сын стал рекордсменом мира. Тренером Сергея стал прославленный Виталий Петров, подготовивший первого советского прыгуна, взявшего 4-метровую высоту, Гавриила Раевского. Хотя сам Петров ни разу не смог взять высоту более 4,4 м, он имел прирожденный нюх на таланты. Тренеру предложили подходящий для тренировок зал в Донецке, куда он и переехал. И если бы мать Сергея не поддалась на уговоры, карьера великого прыгуна могла бы закончиться, не начавшись.

Сергей Бубка получил свою первую золотую медаль на Первом чемпионате мира по легкой атлетике в 1983 году в Хельсинки (Финляндия) в возрасте 19 лет, прыгнув на высоту 5,7 м. Тогда этот прыжок называли слепой удачей и не верили в возможности «выскочки». Свой первый мировой рекорд он установил годом позже в Братиславе (Словакия), он составил 5,85 м. В 1985 году в Париже он преодолел 6-метровую планку. За 10 лет Сергей Бубка установил 35 мировых рекордов. Интересно, что во время соревнований в Токио (Япония) он победил со скромным для себя результатом: 5,95 м. Однако тогда родилась легенда, что компьютер засек полет Сергея на высоту 6,37 м. Официальных свидетельств тому, впрочем, нет.



Стоит подробнее остановиться на историческом прыжке Сергея на стадионе Жана Буэна в Париже. Тогда Сергей Бубка считал своим главным соперником французского легкоатлета Терри Виньона, который годом ранее в Риме побил рекорд украинского спортсмена, и был чемпионом мира… пять минут. Сергей признавался, что не хотел бы превратиться в Боба Бимона, «живую мумию». Этот американец состязался в прыжках в длину и его рекорд (8,9 м) остается лучшим Олимпийским результатом с 1968 года. Однако он больше никогда не смог не то что превзойти свой рекорд, но даже близко приблизиться к нему. Были в спортивной карьере спортсмена и неудачи. Все Олимпиады, кроме Сеульской в 1988 году, были для него неудачными, а на Олимпиаду в Лос-Анжелесе власти СССР его вообще не пустили, т.к. бойкотировали их по политическим мотивам, а это была верная победа для Сергея. Лучший результат тогда показал француз Пьер Кинон (5,75 м), который уже тогда был ниже лучшего результаты Сергея Бубки (5,94 м). Тренируясь перед Олимпиадой в Атланте, Сергей целился на высоту 6,2-6,3 м. Не щадя себя в тренировках, не обращая внимание на предостережения тренеров, он получил травму – надрыв ахиллесова сухожилия. До 1997 года, до соревнований в Афинах, о победах не шло и речи. Несмотря на то, что травма все еще беспокоила прыгуна, он завоевал золото. Его последним соревнованием стали Игры в Сиднее (2000 год).

Хотя Сергей Бубка и остается единственным в мире спортсменом-легкоатлетом, становившимся чемпионом мира шесть раз подряд, специалисты считают, что спортсмен не раскрыл полностью свой потенциал. Его второй тренер Евгений Волобуев считал, что потенциал Сергея составляет 6,4 м, и если допустить, что произошедшее в Японии правда, то он оказался прав. Фанаты, глядя на прыжки украинца, говорили, что ему нет равных. Сам Сергей Бубка называл две фамилии, которые, по его мнению, могли бы составить ему конкуренцию, «были стимулом, толкающим к победе» – это американец Билл Олдсон и Родион Гатулин. Тем не менее, Сергей оставался «королем шеста» 16 лет, и остается им по сей день, хотя он и отошел от активной деятельности.



За выдающиеся спортивные достижения Сергей Бубка отмечен не только рядом спортивных наград, но также государственных – Герой Украины, три Ордена князя Мирослава Мудрого, два ордена «За заслуги», орден Государства, орден Ленина, орден Трудового Красного Знамени и т.д. Кроме того, он один из немногих, кому прижизненно был установлен памятник. Сегодня Сергей является членом исполнительного комитета Международного олимпийского комитета и претендует на звание его президента. После завершения спортивной карьеры, он занимался политикой, являясь народным депутатом Украины в 2002-2006 годах, работал в Комитете молодежной политики, туризма и спорта, а в 2010 году стал внештатным советником Президента Украины Виктора Януковича.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Ближайшие праздники

Преображение Господне

Преображение Господне или Спас — христианский праздник, посвященный упоминанию о Преображении Иисуса Христа, двунадесятый праздник. Празднуется 19 августа ...


День города Луцк

По некоторым гипотезам Луцку (Луческ при основании) уже более 1000 лет (считается, что он был основан дулебами в VII веке), но официальное летоисчисление п...


День города Харьков

Харьков — относительно молодой украинский город, который отпразднует в 2013 году свое 360-летие. Он основан в 1653 году. Сегодня Харьков занимает одно из...