History of Ternopil

Ternopil municipal arms Ternopil - is a city-centre of Ternopil region on the river Seret, on the left inflow of Dniester rever.

On this territory the traces of primitive people encampments are found since Х thousand BC.
If to speak actually about the city, its history should begin with Old Russian strengthening which was named Sopilche (Topilche), and in 1240-1241 Batuy destroyed it during winter campaign to Carpathians. After a while the city revived, and since 1349, as well as all Western Ukraine, got under the power of Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth.
 
The period of Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth

For the first time the city was mentioned in annals of ХIV century when Polish king Sigismund I gave out to Krakow castellan, great coronal hetman Yan Amor Tarnovsky a document on creation of the city and on possession of the neighboring land. The city was founded in 1540.

On behalf of the hetman, there was a first name of the city - Ternopil. On the bank of the river Seret the castle was erected in where in the centre the big square was located.

The meetings, fairs were held there, and decrees were disclosed. In XV-XVI centuries, the city was protected by the high walls, which were laid out from the big boulders. The castle should protect southwest borders of kingdom from attacks of Tatars and Turk that nevertheless in 1544-1698 fourteen times devastated the city, killed or took away inhabitants in its captivity.

In 1548, the city acquired the Magdebourg right, according which Ternopil was given some privileges: inhabitants were released from taxes for 15 years, and allocated with the right to arrange three fairs and annual auctions in year, and to have warehouses for foreign merchants.

At church parish, Ternopil petty bourgeoisies created a brotherhood, to which in 1570 the city proprietor Prince V.Ostrozhsky allocated the land, and means for the maintenance of school and hospital for aged and sick people. The brotherhood within several centuries expanded its activity and influence on various layers of Ukrainians, helped them to save up belief, ceremonies, customs, national originality, churches; schools and libraries were also building...
In 1648 through Ternopil a liberation way of Bohdan Khmelnitsky's Cossacks in its struggle against Polish szlyachta passed. In 1651 and 1655 local residents not only joined his groups, but also independently acted on protection of their rights, defended their belief and culture. The considerable part of townsmen ran on Zaporozhian Host and joined Cossacks until the All-Ukraine revolt. Ternopil citizens also helped Cossacks in 1648 during liberation campaign of Bohdan Khmelnitsky's to Lviv.

The Austrian period

In 1772, after the first division of Poland, Ternopil passed under the power of Austria. The new power promoted to economic development and awakening of Ukrainian national life. In second half of ХІХ century six highways were laid to Ternopil, in 1870 the railway Lviv - Ternopil was constructed. Two banks, 5 private mills and 3 grits cutters started to work in the city, shoe, tailor's, forge, joiner's and other shops extended. It affected increase in population. If in 1808 in Ternopil lived 7093 men, at the end of the century there were over 30 thousand men. In 1820, the grammar school opened. 

In 1844, the city became a free royal city. During the period of "people spring" in 1848, "Russakaya Rada" was created in Ternopil as a branch of «Glavnaya Russkaya Rada» in Lviv. In 1870, the railway appeared Ternopil. In September 1875, Ternopil "Prosvita" was created. Since 1898, Ukrainian grammar school started to operate.

Under the influence of revolutionary events of 1848, the intelligence of Ternopil began the struggle for spiritual and national self-determination. Known political figure Aleksander Barvinsky in 1876 opened the branch "Prosvita" where books on history of Ukraine started to be published, there was also the library and a bookstore for Ukrainian people, concerts and ethnographic exhibitions were organized. In 1898, Ukrainian grammar school was opened.
In beginning of ХХ century in Ternopil cultural and educational, sports societies "Sich", "Plast", "Sokil" started to be created.

The First World War

With beginning of First World War in administrative-territorial division of Ternopil region essential changes had occurred. In August 1914 armies of Russia occupied East Galicia and part of Bukovyna. The military general governorship of Galicia which included Lviv, Peremyshl', Ternopil and Chernovtsy provinces was created. The administrative power belonged to the governor and chiefs of district managements. All administration was created from military men and officials, who came from Russian provinces.

The West Ukrainian National Republic

Since November 1918, Ukrainian power affirmed in Ternopil. Professor S. Sidoryak became the city commissioner. P.Karmansky and A.Kunko were selected as delegates of WUNR parliament. From November 23 until December 31, 1918 the city was temporary the capital of republic: government of WUNR led by K.Levitskiy (from the middle of December S.Golubovich fulfilled duties of the head of the government) stayed in Ternopil.

On January 22, 1919 in Kiev «Act of Zluka», which proclaimed unification of two Ukrainian states in one independent cathedral Ukrainian National Republic (UNR) was accepted. 

In the beginning of July 1919 owing to approach of Polish army, the territory of WUNR was limited to a small part of southern Ternopil region between Zbruch, Dnestr and the line of cities Zaleshchiki-Gusyatin. On July 17-18th, 1919, receding under the impact of the opponent, UGA and management of WUNR passed Zbruch and entered the great Ukraine. WUNR ceased to exist as the state, though its government continued to operate in emigration until July 23, 1923.

The second Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth

In July 1919, the city passed under the power of Poland and Ternopil stayed as a part of the state until September 1939. In 1922, Ternopil became the centre of newly made homonymous voivodship of Poland. The Polish power conducted a rigid colonial policy in all spheres of edge life, first - in an ethnic question. Ukrainians were limited in the rights, rigidly pursued for the slightest displays of national advantage. But petty bourgeoisies of Ternopil started to renew the work of societies "Lug", "Sokol", "Prosvita", "Rodnaya shkola", "Plast", sports club "Podolia" and to defend the social and national rights. Organization of Ukrainian Nationalists (ОUN) renewed its activity. The youth nationalist centre in Ternopil, Ukrainian grammar school headed by Roman Paladiychuk and future leader of OUN Yaroslav Stetsko, were especially actively operating.

The Soviet period (1)

On September 17, 1939, armies of Red army occupied the city, and on December 4, the same year Ternopil became the regional centre as a part of Ukrainian Soviet Socialist Republic.

Temporary voivodship, district and city managements, in villages - rural committees that conducted a policy of the Soviet power were created. On October 27, 1939, the National Meeting of the Western Ukraine made the decision on inclusion of the Western Ukraine in the structure of USSR. 

Since November 1 1939, the existing of administrative-territorial device was established in USSR, and 6 areas, among them - Ternopil with the centre in Ternopil were created.

Fascist occupation

At July 1941 after the beginning of Germany-Soviet war German-nazi aggressors occupied Ternopil region. The territory of former Ternopil voivodship was attached on August 1, 1941 to the district "Galichina" of the general province of Germany. Hitlerites attached the territory of Kremenetsk district of Volynsk voivodship to the general district «Volhynia and Podolia» of Reichscommissariat "Ukraine", created on August, 20th, 1941. On the occupied lands, German military authorities executed administrative functions.

 The Soviet period (2)

In July 1944, Red army completely released the territory of Ternopil area from German-nazi armies, administrative-territorial division of the pre-war period renewed. Because Ternopil was destroyed, regional governing bodies until August 1946 stayed in Zbarzha, and then in Tchertkov.

In the 50-th years of XX century there was a scale updating of Ternopil city territory. The new dam with higher water level and bigger area (Komsomol lake) was under construction. So-called Sabattarians on an accomplishment of the territory around lake were held. The park of Shevchenko, stretched along east coast of a reservoir was founded. The Old Castle had been restored, where later the sports palace was located. The quay along park was structured in neoclassical style.
In 60-th years near the Old Castle the central landing stage was constructed, nearby there was the hotel "Ternopil". On slopes of Kutkovetskaya Mountain, the forest park was founded.

The period of Independent Ukraine

Now Ternopil - is the centre of Ternopil region as a part of Ukraine, the economic and spiritual centre of the western region of Ukraine. The railway and highways of Ternopil connects it with the Western Europe. For last decades the infrastructure develops, the present shape of the city gets new lines, while the industrial sphere is reconstructed. The enterprises of Ternopil make the lighting and radio engineering equipment, beet combines, building materials, furniture, china, an artificial skin, fabrics, confectionery products, and the light industry goods. 

Modern Ternopil - is a student's city. Here the qualified experts are prepared by universities, academies, number of institutes, schools, secondary and specialized secondary educational institutions. There appeared lyceums and colleges.
Two theatres, philharmonic hall, museum of regional studies and art, picture gallery, culture center, parks, libraries, and a singing field are situated and working in Ternopil. The best creative power unites the regional organizations of National unions of writers, artists, journalists and architects of Ukraine. 

In modern Ternopil, as for 01.06.2005 - 235 thousand of inhabitants were counted; the majority of them are Ukrainians. Here also live Russian, Poles, Germans, representatives of almost 100 nationalities.

Ornament of Ternopil is the Theatrical Square and parkway of Shevchenko. There on April 29 in 1990 Ukrainian national flag was lifted and consecrated for the first time in our state. Populous meetings, meetings that are held by democratic parties and public organizations take place in this square. People bring flowers to the monument of T.Shevchenko, erected in park near the square.

On P.Sagaydachny Street, the monument to Ivan Franko, which is naturally combined with a city architectural ensemble, was consecrated on May 28, 1995.

Performance of coryphaeuses of the Ukrainian theatre of M.Kropivnitsky, M.Zankovetsky, M.Sadovsky, composer M.Lisenko, world famous Salomeya Krushelnitskaya were memorable events in the city life. In days of the First World War director Les Kurbas organized well-known "Ternopil theatrical evenings". At various times in our city were P.Kulesh, I.Franko, V.Stefanyk, Les Martovych, V.Gnatyuk, O.Dovzhenko, I.Bagryany, P.Tychina, M.Rylsky, M.Bazhan, A.Malyshko, O.Gonchar.

In Ternopil works dramatic theatre of T.Shevchenko, puppet theatre, philharmonic hall, museum of regional studies and art of Ternopil region , culture centers, cinemas, libraries, and Singing field. The best creative power unites the regional organizations of the Unions of writers, artists, journalists, architects of Ukraine.

Under the editorship of: V.A. Kovalenin

blog comments powered by Disqus

Read also

Recommended reading

History of Kropyvnytskyi

Kropyvnytskyi (until 2016, the city was called Kirovograd) is located on the coast of Ingul river (river inflow of Yuzhny Bug) at the confluence in i...


History of Sumy

Sumy - is an administrative, economic and cultural centre of Sumy region, it was founded on January 10, 1939. The quantity of population on census of 2005 ...


History of Ivano-Frankosk

The city is located between the rivers of Solotvinskaya and Nadvornyanskaya Bystritsa, in foothills of Carpathians, near the ancient Galich - the capital o...

История Тернополя

Герб ТернополяТернополь — город-центр Тернопольской области на реке Серет, левом притоке Днестра.
На этой территории обнаружены следи стоянок первобытных людей еще с Х тыс. до н.э.
Если говорить собственно о городе, его историю следует начинать с древнерусского укрепления, которое называли Сопильче (Топильче), разрушенного во время зимнего 1240—1241 гг. похода Батыя к Карпатам. Через некоторое время город возрождается, а с 1349 г., как и вся Западная Украина, попадает под власть Речи Посполитой.

Период Речи Посполитой

Впервые город упоминается в летописях ХIV века, когда польский король Сигизмунд I выдал краковскому кастеляну, великому коронному гетману Яну Амору Тарновскому, грамоту на создание города и на владение окрестной землей. Город был основан в 1540 году.

От имени гетмана и произошло первое название города — ТАРНОПОЛЬ. На берегу реки Серет был возведен замок, в центре которого была расположена большая площадь. На ней проводились собрания, ярмарки и оглашались указы. В XV—XVI веках город был защищен высокими стенами, выложенными из больших каменных глыб. Замок должен был охранять юго-западные границы королевства от набегов татар и турок, которые все же в 1544—1698 гг. четырнадцать раз опустошали город, убивали или забирали в плен его жителей.

История ТернополяВ 1548 г. город получил Магдебургское право, по которому Тернополю давались некоторые привилегии: жители на 15 лет освобождались от податей, а также наделялись правом устраивать три ярмарки в год и ежегодные торги, а также держать товарные склады для заграничных купцов.

В церковном приходе тернопольские мещане создали братство, которому собственник города князь В.-К. Острожский в 1570 г. выделил землю, средства на содержание школы и госпиталя для престарелых и больных людей. Братство в течение нескольких столетий расширяло свою деятельность и влияние на различные слои украинцев, помогало им сберегать веру. обряды, обычаи, национальную самобытность, строили церкви, школы и библиотеки.

Через Тернополь проходил освободительный путь казаков Богдана Хмельницкого в его борьбе против польской шляхты в1648 г., 1651 г. и 1655 г. Местные жители не только присоединялись к его отрядам, но и самостоятельно выступали на защиту своих прав, отстаивали свою веру и культуру. Значительная часть жителей города бежала на Запорожскую Сечь и присоединялась к казакам еще до всеукраинского восстания. Тернопольцы также помогали казакам во время освободительного похода 1648 г. Богдана Хмельницкого на Львов. 

Австрийский период

В 1772 г., после первого раздела Польши, Тернополь перешел под власть Австрии. Новая власть содействовала экономическому развитию, пробуждению украинской национальной жизни. Во второй половине ХІХ ст. к Тернополю пролагают шесть шоссейных путей, в 1870 г. построена железная дорога Львов — Тернополь. В городе начали работать 2 банка, 5 частных мельниц и 3 крупорушки, расширились сапожные, портновские, кузнечные, столярные и другие цеха. Это повлияло на прирост населения. Если в 1808 г. в Тернополе проживали 7093 мужчины, то в конце века было свыше 30 тысяч. В 1820 г. открылась гимназия. 

В 1844 г.  в истории Тернополя, город становится вольным королевским городом. В период «весны народов» в 1848 р. была создана в Тернополе «Русская рада» как филиал «Главной Русской Рады» во Львове. В 1870 г.. в Тернополь пришла железная дорога. В сентябре 1875 г. создается тернопольская «Просвита». С 1898 г. начала действовать украинская гимназия.

Под влиянием революционных событий 1848 г. интеллигенция Тернополя начала борьбу за духовное и национальное самоопределение. Известный общественно-политический деятель Александр Барвинский в 1876 г. открывает филиал «Просвиты», где начали издаваться книги по истории Украины, была библиотека и книжная лавка для украинского населения, организовывались концерты и этнографические выставки. В 1898 г. была открыта украинская гимназия. 

В начале ХХ ст. в Тернополе начали создаваться культурно-просветительные и спортивные общества «Січ», «Пласт», «Сокіл».

Первая мировая война

С началом початком Первой мировой войны в административно-территориальном делении Тернопольщины произошли существенные изменения. В августе 1914 г. Восточную Галицию и часть Буковины оккупировали войска России. Создается военное генерал-губернаторство Галиции, в которое входили Львовская, Перемышльская, Тернопольская и Черновицкая губернии. Административная власть принадлежала губернатору и начальникам уездных управлений. Вся администрация создавалась из военных и чиновников, прибывших из российских губерний.

Западно-Украинская Народная Республика

С ноября 1918 г. в Тернополе утвердилась украинская власть, первая в истории Тернополя. Городским комиссаром стал профессор С. Сидоряк. Делегатами парламент ЗУНР были избраны П. Карманский и А. Кунько. С 23 ноября до 31 декабря 1918 г.город временно был столицей республики: в Тернополе пребывало правительство ЗУНР во главе с К. Левицким (с середины декабря исполнял обязанности главы правительства С. Голубович).

22 января 1919 г. в Киеве был принят «Акт Злуки», провозгласивший объединение двух украинских держав в независимую соборную Украинскую Народную Республику (УНР). 

В начале июля 1919 г. вследствие наступления польской армии территория ЗУНР ограничивалась небольшой частью южной Тернопольщины между Збручем, Днестром и линией городов Залещики-Гусятин. Отступая под натиском противника, УГА и руководство ЗУНР 17—18 июля 1919 г. перешли Збруч и вступили в Великую Украину. ЗУНР как государство перестала существовать, хотя ее правительство до 23 июля 1923 г. продолжало действовать в эмиграции.

Вторая Речь Посполитая

В июле 1919 г. город перешел под власть Польши и пребывал в составе этого государства до сентября 1939 г. В 1922 г. Тернополь стал центром новосозданного одноименного воеводства Польши. Польская власть проводила жесткую колониальную политику во всех сферах жизни края, прежде всего — в национальном вопросе. Украинцев ограничивали в правах, жестко преследовали за малейшие проявления национального достоинства. Но мещане Тернополя начали возобновлять работу обществ «Луг», «Сокол», «Просвита», «Родная школа», «Пласт», спортивного клуба «Подолье» и отстаивать свои социальные и национальные права. Оживила свою деятельность и организация Украинских Националистов (ОУН). Особенно активно действовал молодежный националистический центр в Тернопольской украинской гимназии, руководимый Романом Паладийчуком и будущим лидером ОУН Ярославом Стецько.

Советский период (1)

17 сентября 1939 г. город заняли войска Красной армии, и 4 декабря этого же года Тернополь стал центром области в составе Украинской Советской Социалистической Республики.

Были созданы временные воеводства, уездные и городские управления, в селах — сельские комитеты, которые проводили политику советской власти. 27 октября 1939 г. Народное Собрание Западной Украины приняло решение о включении Западной Украины в СССР в состав УССР. 

С 1 ноября 1939 вводится существующее в УССР административно-территориальное устройство и создано 6 областей, среди них — Тернопольская с центром у Тернополе.

Фашистская оккупация

У июле 1941 г. после начала германо-советской войны Тернопольщину оккупировали немецко-нацистские захватчики. Территория прежнего Тернопольского воеводства была присоединена 1 августа 1941 г. к дистрикту «Галичина» Генеральной. губернии Германии. Территория Кременецкого уезда Волынского воеводства гитлеровцы присоединили к генеральному округу «Волынь и Подолье» рейхскомиссариата «Украина», созданного 20 августа 1941 г. На оккупированных землях административные функции исполняли немецкие военные власти.

Советский период (2)

В июле 1944 Красная армия полностью освободила территорию Тернопольщины от немецко-нацистских войск, возобновлялось административно-территориальное деление довоенного периода. В связи с тем, что Тернополь был почти полностью разрушен, областные органы власти и управления до августа 1946 г. пребывали в Збараже, а потом в Черткове.

В пятидесятые годы ХХ века происходит масштабное обновление городской территории Тернополя. Строится новая дамба с более высоким уровнем воды и большей площадью (Комсомольское озеро). Проводятся так называемые субботники по благоустройству территории вокруг озера. Заложен парк имени Шевченко, протянувшийся вдоль восточного берега водоема. Отреставрирован Старый Замок, в котором со временем разместился Дворец спорта. Набережная вдоль парка была оформлена в неоклассическом стиле. 

У 60-ые годы возле Старого замку построили центральную пристань, рядом отель «Тернополь». На склонах Кутковецкой горы был заложен лесопарк.

Период Независимой Украины

В настоящее время Тернополь — центр Тернопольской области в составе Украины, экономический и духовный центр западного региона Украины. Тернополь пересекают железнодорожный и шоссейный пути, связывающие его с Западной Европой. За последние десятилетия развивается инфраструктура, приобретает новые черты нынешний облик города, перестраивается производственная сфера. Предприятия Тернополя производят светотехническое и радиотехническое оборудование, свеклокомбайны, строительные материалы, мебель, фарфоровую посуду, искусственную кожу, ткани, кондитерские изделия, товары легкой промышленности. 

Современный Тернополь — студенческий город. Здесь готовят квалифицированных специалистов университеты, академии, ряд институтов, училищ, средние и средние специальные учебные заведения. Появились лицеи и колледжи. 

В Тернополе работают два театра, филармония, краеведческий и художественный музеи, картинная галерея, дворцы культуры, парки,Областной театр библиотеки, есть и певческое поле. Лучшие творческие силы объединяют областные организации Национальных союзов писателей, художников, журналистов и архитекторов Украины. 

В современном Тернополе, станом на 01.06.2005 г. насчитывается 235 тысяч жителей, большинство из них — украинцы. Здесь живут также русские, поляки, немцы, представители почти 100 национальностей.
Украшением Тернополя является театральная площадь и бульвар Шевченко. Здесь 29 апреля в 1990 г. впервые в нашем государстве было поднят и освящен украинский национальный флаг. На площади проходят многолюдные собрания, митинги, которые проводят демократические партии и общественные организации. Сюда люди приносят цветы к памятнику Т.Г. Шевченко, установленному в сквере около площади.

На улице гетмана П. Сагайдачного 28 мая 1995 года освящен памятник Ивану Франко, который естественно совмещается с архитектурным ансамблем города.

Памятными событиями в жизни города были выступления корифеев украинского театра М. Кропивницкого, М. Заньковецкой, М. Садовского, композитора М. Лисенко, всемирно-известной Саломеи Крушельницкой. В годы первой мировой войны режиссер Лесь Курбас организовывал знаменитые «Тернопольские театральные вечера». В разные времена в нашем городе находились П. Кулеш, И. Франко, В. Стефанык, Лесь Мартович, В. Гнатюк, О. Довженко, И. Багряный, П. Тычина, М. Рыльский, М. Бажан, А. Малышко, О. Гончар.

В Тернополе работают драматичный театр им. Т.Г. Шевченко, театр кукол, филармония, областной краеведческий и художественный музей, дворцы культуры, кинотеатры, библиотеки, есть Певчее поле. Лучшие творческие силы объединяют областные организации Союзов писателей, художников, журналистов, архитекторов Украины.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Читайте также

Рекомендуем почитать

История Львова

Львов расположен в предгорьях Карпат в верховьях реки Полтвы, левого притока Западного Буга, у западной границы Украины в 80 км от Польши. Основан в серед...


История Кропивницкого

Кропивницкий (до 2016 года — Кировоград) расположен на берегах Ингула (приток реки Южный Буг) при впадении в него речушек Сугоклея и Биянка. Город возник...


История Винницы

Город Винница расположен на территории правобережной Украины, называемой Побужьем, позже  Подольем. Город занимает берега Южного Буга и небольших рече...