History of Poltava

Poltava municipal arms Poltava - is a city on the left coast of the river Vorskla, the left inflow of Dnepro. In VII-XIII centuries AD in that territory slavic tribes of northerners and glades lived.

The first mention about strengthened settlement Ltava on that place, carried by 1174, we find in Ipatevsky list of Primary Chronicle. Moreover, 800 years later the city anniversary was solemnly celebrated. However, the subsequent large-scale archeological excavations and researches of Poltava historical centre gave the basis to celebrate in 1999 official 1100 year-old age of the city.
During an epoch of the Tartar-Mongol Yoke many settlements of average Podneprov'e were destroyed, including Ltava, as long time there were no mentions about it. Only in 1430, the city was mentioned under the name of Poltava. By that time territory of Poltava area was the part of the Great Lithuanian princedom. After Lublin union in 1569 it passed to the Polish feudal lords. In 1641 in a written source, Poltava was named as a city. The same time crafts were developing there and the local government, so-called Magdebursk right, was established. In addition, when the city was captured by Ukrainian Catholic magnate Yarema Vishnevetsky, already 812 household were registered there.

In the beginning of Liberation war in May-June 1648 peasant-Cossack groups of Poltava area under the guidance of Bohdan Khmelnitsky released Pereyaslav and Lubni from polish-szlyachta armies, and then they became reliable reaward of Bohdan Khmelnitsky's army. Poltava supplied revolted people with gunpowder, weapon and foodstuffs. The same time during Liberation war new military and administrative bodies, territorially military units - regiments started its formation on the territory of Ukraine, Poltava became the centre of the Poltava regiment. In 1763 within regiments, division into districts was established. After the Andrusovsky armistice of 1667 on which Left-bank Ukraine remained as a part of Russia, regimental cities (Poltava. Pereyaslav, Lubni, Gadyach) became shopping centers and centers of fast development of productive forces in agriculture, crafts and industry.

On June 27, 1709 Poltava fight which became a critical event during all Northern war took place. From that time lifting of Russia authority as Empire, gradual loss and full liquidation of Ukrainian autonomy began. In 1775, Poltava became the district centre of Novorossiysk province.

In beginning of ХVІІІ century in Poltava, there were some shops, which united about 300 handicraftsmen. At that time, Russian administration of Poltava liquidated the Magdebourg right of the city. Moreover, during same time, the city was famous for its fairs (they were four). Poltava Illinsky fair became famous to all Ukraine. About 40.000 people visited it in a year. Only Odessa merchants bought the goods for sum, which were more than 1 million roubles.

On March 9, 1802, Poltava received the status of provincial city. The city started to redevelop actively. In 1803-1805, the centre in which there was a round area was reconstructed, and eight streets as beams came away from it. In 1804-1811, seven big office buildings were constructed, the capital bridge through the Vorskla was also built, and one street was paved.

Poltava gradually turned to the centre of cultural and spiritual life of Ukraine. In 1818 the institute of noble maidens and spiritual school, in 1820 the school of gardening, and in 1840 the military school were opened. In 1818-1819 the writer N.Gogol' studied in that school. In Poltava grammar school writer M.Staritsky, the historian and public figure M.Dragomanov, mathematician V.Ostrogradsky also studied. In 1844, T.Shevchenko came to the city. In 1846, Poltava intellectuals V.Belozersky, G.Andruzsky, etc. became the members of Cyril and Methodius brotherhood, based in Kiev. The poet and writer I.Kotlyarevsky was born in Poltava. In 1865-1866 the writer I.Nechuy-Levitsky, and in 1871 Panas Mirny, known scientist V.Dokuchayev and his pupil V.Vernadsky, doctor M.Sklifosovsky worked there.
In 1891 at the initiative of V.Dokuchayev famous writer V.Korolenko worked and lived in Poltava.

Considerable deterioration of standard of life of the population during the First World War promoted its active participation in revolution 1917-1920. After February revolution of 1917 in provinces, there were Councils. Provisional government bodies - commissariats and public committees were simultaneously created. Ukrainian Central Rada had considerable support from the population during that period.

After the civil war and the win of Russian communists, Poltava was a part of Ukrainian Soviet Socialist Republic. Industrialisation and collectivisation processes passed there in conditions of terror and reprisals. Actions for "activization" of grain-collections in 1930-th years became very complicated for peasantry. "Great crisis" in agriculture, Holodomor of 1932-1933 cost about one million demographic losses of the population of Poltava region.

By the end of the 30-th years on territory of the Poltava region 224 industrial enterprises and 312 co-operative industrial gangs had appeared.

In days of the Second World War Poltava was the target of occupation. The city became the staff centre of group of armies "Yug". The considerable part of a city was destroyed.

Citizens of Poltava spent active guerrilla struggle against invaders. Throughout 1941-1943 thirty-nine guerrilla forces and groups, more than 70 underground and patriotic organizations operated in rearward of the enemy. Poltava was released on September 22, 1944.
Post-war building of Poltava was conducted in the 50-th years, there was TV, city gasification. Since 1962, the first trolley buses were started. The theatre of N.Gogol' (1958) and building of destroyed Museum of local lore (1964) became the main symbol of spirituality of Poltava.

In the period of 80th years in Poltava region the oil and gas extraction, chemical, mining, automobile, electrotechnical, textile industry developed in fast rates.

In a year of Independence of Ukraine Poltava appeared as developed cultural-economic centre with 315 thousand inhabitants.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read also

Recommended reading

History of Kropyvnytskyi

Kropyvnytskyi (until 2016, the city was called Kirovograd) is located on the coast of Ingul river (river inflow of Yuzhny Bug) at the confluence in i...


History of Lviv

Lviv is located in foothills of Carpathians in head river of Plotva, left inflow of Zapadny Bug, at the western border of Ukraine in 80 km. from Poland. It...


History of Rivne

The Rivne city is located on the river Ust'e beyond some kilometers from its confluence in the river Goryn', which conditionally divides Rivne region on lo...

История Полтавы

Герб Полтавы - история ПолтавыПолтава — город на левом берегу реки Ворсклы, левого притока Днепра. В VII—XIII веках н.э. на этой территории проживали славянские племена северян и полян.

Первое упоминание об укрепленном поселении Лтава на этом месте, относимое к 1174 году истории Полтавы, мы находим в Ипатьевском списке «Повести временных лет». И спустя 800 лет был торжественно отмечен юбилей города. Однако последующие широкомасштабные археологические раскопки и исследования исторического центра Полтавы дали основание официально отпраздновать 1100-летний возраст города в 1999 году.

В эпоху татаро-монгольского ига много населенных пунктов среднего Поднепровья было разрушено, в том числе и Лтава, так как долгое время о ней не было никаких упоминаний. И только в 1430г. город упоминается под названием Полтава. К этому времени территория Полтавщины была в составе Великого княжества Литовского. После Люблинской унии 1569 г. она переходит в руки польских феодалов. В 1641 г. в письменном источнике Полтава была названа городом. В это же время здесь усиленно развиваются ремесла и вводится местное самоуправление, так называемое магдебурское право. А когда город захватывает окатоличенный украинский магнат Ярема Вишневецкий, здесь уже числится 812 хозяйств.

В начале освободительной войны под руководством Богдана Хмельницкого крестьянско-казацкие отряды на Полтавщине освободили в мае-июне 1648 г от польско-шляхетских войск Переяслав и Лубны, после чего стали надежным тылом армии Богдана Хмельницкого. Полтава снабжала восставших порохом, оружием, продовольствием. В это же время в ходе Освободительной войны на территории Украины стали создаваться стали новые военные и административные органы управления, территориально-военные единицы — полки, Полтава становится центром Полтавского полка. В 1763 г. в пределах полков было учреждено деление на уезды. После Андрусовского перемирия 1667 г., по которому Левобережная Украина осталась в составе России, полковые города (Полтава. Переяслав, Лубны, Гадяч) становятся центрами быстрого развития производительных сил в сельском хозяйстве, ремеслах и промышленности, торговыми центрами. 

27 июня 1709 г. состоялась Полтавская битва, которая стала переломным событием в ходе всей Северной войны. С этого времени начался подъем авторитета России как империи, постепенная утрата и полная ликвидация украинской автономии. В 1775 Полтава становится уездным центром Новороссийской губернии. 

В начале ХVІІІ века в Полтаве было несколько цехов, которые объединяли около 300 ремесленников. В это время российской администрацией Полтавы было ликвидировано магдебургское право города. И в это же время город славился своими ярмарками (их было четыре). На всю Украину прославилась полтавская Иллинская ярмарка. В год ее посещало около 40 000 чел. Только одесские купцы закупали товара на сумму более 1 млн.рублей. 

9 марта 1802 года Полтава получает статус губернского города. Город начинает активно перестаиваться. В 1803—1805 гг. был перестроен центр, внутри которого находилась круглая площадь, а от нее лучами отходили 8 улиц. В 1804—1811 гг. было построено 7 больших административных зданий, сооружен капитальный мост через Ворсклу, была вымощена одна улица. 

Полтава, постепенно превратилась в центр культурной и духовной жизни Украины. В 1818 г. открыт институт благородных девиц и духовное училище, в 1820 г. — школа садоводчества, а в 1840 году открыт кадетский корпус. В 1818-1819 гг. в училище учился писатель Н.В. Гоголь. В полтавской гимназии обучались писатель М.П. Старицкий, историк и общественный деятель М.П. Драгоманов, математик В.М. Остроградский. В 1844 г. в город приезжал Т.Г. Шевченко. В 1846 г. полтавские интеллигенты В. Белозерский, Г. Андрузский и др. стали членами основанного в Киеве Кирилло-Мефодиевское братства. В Полтаве родился поэт и писатель И.П. Котляревский. В 1865—1866 гг. здесь работали писатель И.С. Нечуй-Левицкий, в 1871 г. Панас Мирный, известный ученый В.В. Докучаев и его ученик В.И. Вернадский, врач М.В. Склифосовский.

В 1891 году по инициативе В.В. Докучаева был 921 гг. в Полтаве жил и работал известный писатель В.Г. Короленко.
Значительное ухудшение жизненного уровня населения во время Первой мировой войны способствовало активному участию его в революции 1917—1920 гг. Сразу же после Февральской революции 1917 г. в губернии возникли Советы. Одновременно создавались органы Временного правительства — комиссариаты и общественные комитеты. Значительную поддержку со стороны населения в этот период имела и Украинская Центральная Рада. 

После гражданской войны, которую российские коммунисты выиграли, Полтава вошла в состав Украинской Советской Социалистической Республики. Процессы индустриализации и коллективизации проходили здесь в условиях террора и репрессий. Очень тяжелым для крестьянства стало мероприятие по «активизации» хлебозаготовок в 30-х годах. «Великий перелом» в сельском хозяйстве, голодомор 1932—1933 гг. стоили Полтавщине около миллиона демографических потерь населения.

К концу тридцатых годов на территории Полтавской области значилось 224 промышленных предприятия и 312 кооперативных промартелей.

В годы Второй мировой войны Полтава подверглась фашистской оккупации. Город стал штабным центром группы армий «Юг». Значительная часть города была разрушена. Полтавчане проводили активную партизанскую борьбу против оккупантов. В тылу врага на протяжении 1941—1943 гг. действовало 39 партизанских отрядов и групп, более 70 подпольных и патриотических организаций. Освобождена была Полтава 22 сентября 1944 г. 

Послевоенное строительство Полтавы проводилось в 50-х годах, появилось телевидение, началась газификация города. С 1962 г. Запустили первые троллейбусы. Главным символом духовности Полтавы стал театр им. Н. Гоголя (1958 г.) и строительство разрушенного Краеведческого музея (1964 г.) .

В период 80-х годов на Полтавщине быстрыми темпами развивались нефтегазодобывающая, химическая, горнорудная, автомобильная, электротехническая, текстильная промышленность.

В год Независимости Украины Полтава предстала развитым культурно-экономическим центром с 315 тысячами жителей.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Читайте также

Рекомендуем почитать

История Ровно

Город Ровно расположен на р. Устье за несколько километров от ее впадения в р. Горынь. которая условно делит Ровенщину на низменную (северную) и равнинно-в...


История Житомира

Житомир — один из старейших городов Украины, административный, экономический и культурный центр Житомирской области (с 1937 года), наибольший из городов ...


История Тернополя

Тернополь — город-центр Тернопольской области на реке Серет, левом притоке Днестра. На этой территории обнаружены следи стоянок первобытных людей еще с ...