History of Lutsk

In VII-VIII centuries on the island which was surrounded by the rivers Styr and Glushets, on impassable fenny bottom-lands, the East slavic tribes lived. At that time on the highest hill the strengthenings which in due course had outgrown in the castle which was named "Top" were constructed.

Originally its inhabitants were dulebs,luchans, yatvyags and kryvichs.

In the end of Х century Volhynia together with Lutsk was a part of the Kievan Russia and became its western suburb.
The first written mention of Lutsk was in 1085 in Ipatievsky annals about the powerful fortress which sustained 6 monthly siege of the Polish king, from this date the city history began.

The modern name of the city "Lutsk" originates from the ancient name «Loychesk» or «Luchesk». There are some hypotheses of the city name origin: the first one occurs from the word "luk", i.e. «a river bend», another one - it is connected with the name of dulebs' leader Luka, who based that city, also there is another one version, that the city name occurs from the word "meadow" , however, there are also other versions.

In 1097 Svyatopolk II passed Lutsk to David Svyatoslavovich who was soon replaced by David Igorevich, since then to the middle of XII centuries Lutsk city had been the suburb of Vladymir-Volynsk princedom.

In 1150 Lutsk sustained 6 week siege of Yury Dolgoruky's regiments, it wasn't given way to the horde of khan Kuremsy in 1259.

The grand duke Roman Mstislavovich created powerful state association - the Galitsko-Volynsk princedom. His son Danilo Galitsky who under the European custom called himself as the king, settled in Lutsk in 1227. The city situated on the crossing of trading ways from the North Baltic countries to Byzantium that promoted its development and enrichment.

Almost the century in Lutsk the local princes ruled, but in 1340 Lutsk was taken by the armies of Lithuanian prince Gediminas, 4 years later Lithuanian prince Lyubart, who married Volynsk princess at whom Lutsk received the superiority over Vladimir, possesed the city. The prince residence - Lutsk castle, which had remained up to now was constructed at that time.

By the end of XIV century Lutsk became the important shopping centre, merchants from many countries gathered, and some of them even lodged there, so there were the city quarters occupied by Germans, Poles, and others. 
Then Lutsk became the known political centre where in 1429 the historical meeting of the most influential monarchs of the European countries took place.The purpose was the discussion about the struggle measures against the general enemy - Turks.

The Polish king Yagaylo, the German emperor Sigizmund, Moscow Grand duke Vasily II with the princes. metropolitan Fotiy, the papal legate, the Danish king, the grand Prussian master, the Perekopsk khan and Byzantium ambassador were present at that congress.

The German emperor Sigizmunt called sovereigns and grandees for mutual reconciliation and unification of the eastern and western churches, to the struggle against Turks, and to the assistance rendering to Byzantium, but all those offers were rejected by Poles.

 In 1432 the Magdebourg right was granted to Lutsk,according to which, except all other privileges on the city self-management, it was authorised to arrange three fairs in a year. In the city the salt from Galitsk Prikarpatye and the Black Sea estuaries which then was then sent to Lithuanian and East Russian lands had been stored. After Lublin union in 1569 Lutsk got under the power of Poland, and became the centre of neogenic Volynsk voivodeship and voivode's residence.

 In 1617 in Lutsk the Vozdvizhensky (Chesnohrestsky) brotherhood - one of the first in Ukraine was created. Peter Mogila was its member.

On September, 1st, 1619 the brotherhood obtained an official recognition of the Polish king with the privilege on the church building.

In the brotherhood premise the first printing house was created in Lutsk.

If in the end of XV century Lutsk was considered as one of the best cities of the edge, then since the end of XVI century the period of its gradual decline began - frequent fires, epidemics, flooding led the city to devastation. The cultural and religious city life gradually died away, in government agencies of voivodeship Russian (Ukrainian) language replaced Polish, and the governmental posts were occupied by Poles. In 1706 the city was grasped and plundered by Swedes. 

After the third division of Poland, Lutsk passed under the power of Russian empire and in 1795 it became the district centre of Volynsk vicegerency, then to the Volynsk province, but it didn't led to the revival of economic and cultural life of the city.

During the Patriotic War of 1812 in Lutsk the staff of the second Russian army under the command of the well-known commander Bagration took place there.

In 1832 in Lutsk the grammar school was opened, where Larissa Kosach - the known poetess Lesya Ukrainka studied.
The city life changed only in 1880th years after the railway appearance, then economic growth began. In 1895 in Lutsk 15125 people lived.

In the First World War Volhynia became the place of fierce fights, the Brusilovsky break which entered in the history of the First World War, occurred in the summer of 1915 on the suburbs of Lutsk.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read also

Recommended reading

History of Donetsk

Donetsk is located in a steppe zone, in Kal'minus river heads, in 95 km. to the north of Sea of Azov, it is surrounded by small woods, hills, rivers and l...


History of Ivano-Frankosk

The city is located between the rivers of Solotvinskaya and Nadvornyanskaya Bystritsa, in foothills of Carpathians, near the ancient Galich - the capital o...


History of Zhytomir

Zhytomyr-is one of the oldest cities of Ukraine, the administrative, economic and cultural centre of Zhytomyr region (since 1937), the biggest city of Ukra...

История Луцка

Герб ЛуцкаВ VII—VIII веках на острове, находившемся в окружении рек Стырь и Глушец, непроходимых топких пойм, проживали восточнославянские племена. В то время на самом высоком холме были построены укрепления, со временем переросшие в замок, который назвали «Верхним».

Первоначально его жителями были дулебы, лучане, ятвяги и кривичи.

В конце Х века Волынь вместе с Луцком вошла в состав Киевской Руси и стала ее западной окраиной.

Первое письменное упоминание в истории Луцка в Ипатиевской летописи датируемое 1085 г., как о мощной крепости, выдержавшей 6-месячную осаду польского короля, именно с этой даты ведется история города.

Современное название города «Луцк» происходит от старинного наименования «Лоуческ» или «Луческ». Существует несколько гипотез по происхождению названия города: по одной — происходит от слова «лук», т.е. «изгиб реки», по другой — связано с именем вождя дулебов Луки, который основал этот город, также есть версия, что название города происходит от слова «луга», впрочем, есть и другие версии.

В 1097 году Святополк II отдал Луцк Давиду Святославовичу, которого вскоре сменил Давид Игоревич, с тех пор до средины XII века город Луцк был пригородом Владимир-Волынского княжества.

В 1150 году Луцк выдержал 6-недельную осаду полками Юрия Долгорукого, не поддался он и орде хана Куремсы в 1259 году.

Великий князь Роман Мстиславович создал могущественное государственное объединение — Галицко-Волынское княжество. Его сын Данило Галицкий, который по европейскому обычаю именовал себя королем, в 1227 году обосновался в Луцке. Город располагался на пересечении торговых путей из северо-балтийских стран к Византии, что содействовало его развитию и обогащению.

Почти столетие в Луцке правили местные князья, но в 1340 году Луцк был взят войсками литовского князя Гедиминаса, спустя 4 года достался литовскому князю Любарту, женатому на Волынской княжне, при котором Луцк получил превосходство над Владимиром. В то время была построена резиденция князя — Луцкий замок, сохранившийся до наших дней.

К концу XIV века Луцк стал важным торговым центром, сюда съезжались купцы из многих стран, а некоторые даже здесь селились, так появились городские кварталы, населенные немцами, поляками, и другими. 
Тогда же Луцк стал известным политическим центром, где в 1429 году состоялась историческая встреча наиболее влиятельных монархов европейских стран, целью которого было обсуждение мер борьбы против общего врага — турок. На этом съезде присутствовали — король польский Ягайло, император германский Сизигмунт, Великий князь московский Василий II с многими удельными князьями и митрополитом Фотием, папский легат, датский король, гроссмейстер прусский, воевода валахский, хан перекопский и византийски посол.

Император германский Сизигмунт призывал государей и вельмож к взаимному примирению и единению восточной и западной церквей, к борьбе против турок, и к оказанию помощи Византии, но все эти предложения были отклонены поляками. В 1432 году Луцку было даровано Магдебургское право, согласно которого, кроме всех прочих льгот по городскому самоуправлению, городу разрешалось устраивать три ярмарки в год. В городе складировалась соль из галицкого Прикарпатья и черноморских лиманов, которую затем отправляли в литовские и восточно-русские земли. После Люблинской унии 1569 года город Луцк попал под власть Польши, стал центром новообразованного Волынского воеводства и резиденцией воевод.

В 1617 году истории Луцка было создано Воздвиженское (Чеснохрестское) братство — одно из первых в Украине, членом которого был Петр Могила.

1 сентября 1619 года братство получило официальное признание короля Польши с предоставлением привилегии на строительство церкви.

История ЛуцкаВ помещении братства была создана первая в Луцке типография.
Если в конце XV века Луцк считался одним из лучших городов края, то с конца XVI века начался период постепенного его упадка — частые пожары, эпидемии, наводнения приводили к опустошению города. Постепенно угасала культурная и религиозная жизнь города, в правительственных учреждениях воеводства русский (украинский) язык сменил польский, да и правительственные должности заняли поляки. В 1706 году город был захвачен и разграблен шведами. 

После третьего деления Польши, Луцк перешел под власть Российской империи и в 1795 году стал уездным центром Волынского наместничества, затем Волынский губернии, но это не привело к оживлению экономической и культурной жизни города.

Во время Отечественной войны 1812 года в Луцке размещался штаб второй российской армии под командованием знаменитого полководца Багратиона.

В 1832 году в Луцке была открыта гимназия, в которой училась Лариса Косач-Квитка — известная поэтесса Леся Украинка.

Жизнь в городе изменилась только в 1880-х годах, после того, как в городе появилась железная дорога, после чего начался экономический рост. В 1895 году в Луцке проживало 15 125 человек.

В период Первой мировой войны Волынь стала местом ожесточенных боев, летом 1915 года на окраинах Луцка произошел Брусиловский прорыв, вошедший в историю Первой мировой войны.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Читайте также

Рекомендуем почитать

История Хмельницкого

Крупнейший город (254,4 тыс. жителей), областной и районный центр, расположен на берегах р. Южный Буг. Вероятно, первые поселенцы в этих местах появились ...


История Херсона

Херсон расположен на высоком правом берегу Днепра за 25 км от места впадения его в Днепровский лиман Черного моря. Город является крупным ж/д узлом. В горо...


История Симферополя

Город Симферополь — административный, экономический, научный и культурный центр Автономной Республики Крым. Население города — свыше 400 тыс. человека.В...