History of Lugansk

Lugansk municipal arms Lugansk- is the most eastern city in Ukraine, which is located in the northeast part of Donetsk basin, in the place of merge of rivers Lugan' (the right inflow of the river Seversky Donets) and Olkhovaya.

In the end of XVIII century after Russia successfully finished number of wars, opened an exit to the Black Sea and attached Crimea, there appeared a necessity of southern borders strengthening. With those purpose Old Turkish fortresses were used, and the new ones started to be under construction. For fortresses and for construction there were necessary fleet guns, kernels, and ammunition. With that end, the first iron-works were created on the river Lugan. The "godfather" of Lugansk foundry was the commander of Black Sea fleet admiral Nikolay Mordvinov under whose petition on November 14, 1795 Catherine II signed the decree "About foundry formation in Donetsk district at small river Lugani and about establishment of coal nibbling, which was found in the country". According to that decree in which for the first time the idea of development of metallurgy on mineral fuel contained, Lugansk (Ekaterinoslavsk) factory was constructed - the first-born of southern metallurgy was constructed by 1800 closely to the settlement Kammenny Brod near the river Lugan . The same year on Lugansk casting-gun factory the blast furnace gave out the first pig-iron. It was the first blast furnace in Ukraine.

In April 1796, coal extraction began in Lisichiy gill. "The first mine in Ukraine in the first year of its work gave out 3 tons of coal in a day. There worked 50 masterful miners and 2 juvenile".

In 1798, the factory released its first production - 15670 poods of shells for Sevastopol squadron.

The Settlement, which arose round the factory, was called Lugansk factory. Masterful and qualified workers were involved from all corners of province. By 30-th years of XIX century, there were already almost 200 private houses; barracks in which the poorest population huddled were saved also. Favorable geographical position promoted trade development. Trading-craft institutions and the first vocational school were opened there.

Initially the city was built up without officially approved plan. All vertical streets were called as lines (as in Petersburg), and all horizontal streets had names. The very first street of the city was Angliyskaya Street. Foreign experts, who had arrived to work on the factory lodged on it. There the private residence was constructed for the director of the factory. In the same street, in the family of the factory doctor, V.Dal' was born- the composer of the Russian explanatory dictionary. There were streets Peterburgskaya, Uspenskaya, Kazanskaya, Bankovskaya... In due course Peterburgskaya Street became the central street.

There were two-storeyed houses under construction in which, as a rule, on the ground floor shops, photographer's studio, hairdressers were located. In Lugansk, there were more than ten cult constructions: Kazanskaya church, Preobrazhenskiy, Trotsky, Uspensky, Peter and Paul, Voznesensky, Nikolaevsky Cathedral, a synagogue, a church, and some prayful houses. Unfortunately, all those constructions representing the big interest as architectural monuments were destroyed in 30th years of XX century. Peter and Paul church in Kammennyi Brod was the only saved, but strongly suffered.
In 70-th years of XIX century, building of the railway Lugansk-Debaltsevo began.

On September 3, 1882, the emperor confirmed regulation about the foundation of Lugansk factory based on the settlement. In 1896 German industrialist, Gustav Gartman started to build engine-building factory, and in 1900, the first commodity steam locomotive was released.

In 1882 taking into account economic situation, under the petition of local merchant class and nobility Lugansk was given the status of a district city. In spring, 1883 office benches were opened, and the first Chairman of City Council was chosen; it was situated in one of the best buildings of the city on Kazanskaya Street.

In 70-80 of XIX century in Lugansk new factories and plants appeared. The largest ones became Lugansk cartridge factory (reoriented from foundry) and engine-building factory of Gartman. In 1898 more than 30 industrial enterprises and many small handicraft works and craft workshops were already in Lugansk.

With population increase, the network of educational institutions extended. Some private grammar schools, two state grammar schools, schools, elementary schools were in the city. With industry development, some banks appeared in Lugansk. In 1903, Lugansk as the district city was granted municipal arms. The life of Lugansk citizens was various. Some libraries, cinemas worked in the city; theatrical companies came there on tours. In the beginning of XX century the mountain-commercial club, the National audience, circus-chapiteau, city park were opened.

Lugansk became a large industrial centre. In the beginning of XX century there were 16 factories and plants, 40 craft enterprises, the telephone station, 6 Orthodox Churches, a synagogue, a Catholic Church, Lutheran Church.
In 1918, Lugansk became a capital of Donetsk-Krivorozhsk republic. The city was twice named Voroshilovgrad. In 1990, its name was defininitively returned to Lugansk.

In the beginning of XX century Lugansk confirmed itself as a large industrial centre, as a city with the multinational traditions and special way of life. Lugansk - is not only a perfect city with numerous f parks, squares and cultural monuments, but also one of the largest industrial cities of Ukraine. For example, Lugansk factory of locomotive building supplied with diesel locomotives all former Soviet Union and was known not only in the USSR, but also abroad.
Lugansk - is the native land of many well-known people. One of them is V.Dal' - the author of well-known «Explanatory dictionary of great Russian language» and one of closest friends of A.Pushkin.

There are theatres, philharmonic society, art gallery, and more then ten Higher education establishments are in the city.
Activity of V.Dal, K.Voroshilov, A.Parhomenko, V.Brumel, M.Matusovsky, N.Gastello, S.Bubka is connected with the city.

Under the editorship of: V.A. Kovalenin

blog comments powered by Disqus

Read also

Recommended reading

History of Khmelnitskiy

It is the largest city (254.4 thousands inhabitants), the regional centre, which is located on the river coast Yuzhny Bug. Possibly, the first settlers in ...


History of Sumy

Sumy - is an administrative, economic and cultural centre of Sumy region, it was founded on January 10, 1939. The quantity of population on census of 2005 ...


History of Lutsk

In VII-VIII centuries on the island which was surrounded by the rivers Styr and Glushets, on impassable fenny bottom-lands, the East slavic tribes lived. ...

История Луганска

Герб города ЛуганскЛуганск, самый восточный город на Украине, расположен в северо-восточной части Донецкого бассейна, в месте слияния рек Лугань (правый приток реки Северский Донец) и Ольховая.

После того как Россия в конце XVIII века удачно завершила ряд войн, открыла выход к Черному морю и присоединила Крым, возникла необходимость укрепления южных границ. С этой целью были использованы старые турецкие крепости, а также начали строиться новые. Для крепостей и для строящегося флота нужны были пушки, ядра, боеприпасы. С этой целью на реке Лугань создается первый в Украине чугунолитейный завод. «Крестным отцом» Луганского литейного завода был командующий Черноморским флотом адмирал Николай Мордвинов, по ходатайству которого Екатерина II подписала 14 ноября 1795 года указ «Об устроении литейного завода в Донецком уезде при речке Лугани и об учреждении ломки найденного в той стране каменного угля». В соответствии с этим указом, в котором впервые содержалась идея развития металлургии России на минеральном топливе, был построен Луганский (Екатеринославский) завод — первенец металлургии юга который и был построен завод у селения Каменный Брод близ реки Лугань к 1800 году. И в этом же году на Луганском литейно-пушечном заводе домна выдала первый чугун. Это была первая доменная печь в Украине.

В апреле 1796 года начата добыча каменного угля в Лисичьем буераке. «Первая шахта на Украине в первый год своей работы выдавала на гора в день до 3-х тонн угля. Шахтеров тогда здесь работало 50 мастеровых и 2 малолетних». 

В 1798 году завод выпускает первую свою продукцию — 15 670 пудов снарядов для Севастопольских батарей.
Возникший вокруг завода поселок именовался Луганский завод. Мастеровые и квалифицированные рабочие привлекались сюда со всех концов губернии. К 30-м годам XIX века здесь было уже почти 200 частных домов, но сохранились и казармы, в которых ютилось наиболее бедное население. Выгодное географическое положение способствовало развитию торговли. Возникают торгово-ремесленные заведения, открылась первая профессиональная школа. 

Первично город застраивался без официально утвержденного плана. Все вертикальные улицы назывались линиями (по типу петербургских), а все горизонтальные имели названия. Самой первой улицей в истории города Луганска была улица Английская. На ней поселились иностранные специалисты, приехавшие работать на завод. Здесь для директора завода был построен особняк. На этой же улице, в семье заводского врача, родился В.И. Даль — составитель «Толкового словаря русского языка». Позже появились улицы Петербургская, Успенская, Казанская, Банковская... Со временем центральной улицей становится Петербургская. Здесь строятся двухэтажные дома, в которых, как правило, на первом этаже размещались магазины, фотоателье, парикмахерские. В Луганске насчитывалось более десятка культовых сооружений: Казанская церковь, Преображенская, Троицкая, Успенская, Петропавловская, Вознесенская, Николаевский собор, синагога, костел, несколько молитвенных домов. К сожалению, все эти сооружения, представляющие большой интерес и как архитектурные памятники, были уничтожены в 30-е года XX столетия истории Луганска. Единственной сохранившейся, но сильно пострадавшей является Петропавловская церковь в Каменном Броде. 

В 70-е года XIX века, началось строительство железной дороги Луганск-Дебальцево. 

3 сентября 1882 года император утвердил положение об основании на базе поселка Луганский завод города Луганска. В 1896 году немецкий промышленник Густав Гартман начинает строить паровозостроительный завод, а в 1900г. был выпущен первый товарный паровоз. 

В 1882 году Луганск, с учетом его экономического положения, по ходатайству местного купечества и дворянства был возведен в статус уездного города. Весной 1883 года открыты присутственные места, избран первый председатель Городской думы, которая разместилась в одном из лучших зданий города на улице Казанской.

В 70—80 гг. XIX века в Луганске появляются новые фабрики и заводы. Крупнейшими становятся Луганский патронный завод (перепрофилированный из литейного) и паровозостроительный завод Гартмана. В 1898 году в Луганске насчитывалось уже более 30 промышленных предприятий, а также немало мелких кустарных производств и ремесленных и ремесленных мастерских. 

С увеличением численности населения, расширялась сеть образовательных учреждений. В городе было несколько частных гимназий, две казенные гимназии, училища, начальные школы. С развитием промышленности в Луганске появляется несколько банков. На правах уездного города Луганску в 1903 году был пожалован и герб. Разнообразной была жизнь луганчан. В городе работало несколько библиотек, кинематографов, на гастроли приезжали театральные труппы. В начале XX века были открыты Горно-коммерческий клуб, Народная аудитория, цирк-шапито, городской парк.
Луганск становится крупным промышленным центром. В начале XX века здесь было 16 фабрик и заводов, 40 ремесленных предприятий, открыта телефонная станция, 6 православных церквей, синагога, римско-католический костёл, лютеранская кирха.

В 1918 году Луганск становится столицей Донецко-Криворожской республики. Городу дважды давалось имя Ворошиловград. В 1990 году Луганску окончательно возвращают его название.

В начале XX столетия Луганск утвердил себя как крупный промышленный центр, как город со своими многонациональными традициями и особым укладом жизни. Луганск — не только прекрасный город со множеством парков, скверов и памятников культуры, но также один из крупнейших промышленных городов Украины. Например, Луганский тепловозостроительный завод поставлял тепловозы всему бывшему Советскому Союзу и был известен не только в СССР, но и за рубежом.

Луганск — родина многих знаменитых людей. Одним из них является В.И. Даль — автор известного «Толкового словаря живого великорусского языка» и один из ближайших друзей А. С. Пушкина.

В городе есть театры, филармония, художественная галерея, а также больше десятка вузов.

С городом связана деятельность В. Даля, К. Ворошилова, А. Пархоменко, В. Брумеля, М. Матусовского, Н. Гастелло, С. Бубки.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Читайте также

Рекомендуем почитать

История Симферополя

Город Симферополь — административный, экономический, научный и культурный центр Автономной Республики Крым. Население города — свыше 400 тыс. человека.В...


История Сум

Сумы — административный, экономический и культурный центр Сумской области, образованной 10 января 1939 г. Количество населения по переписи 2005 г. составля...


История Николаева

Город Николаев расположен в Северном Причерноморье на берегах Бугского лимана при слиянии с рекой Ингул. Наиболее ранний археологический памятник, который ...