History of Kropyvnytskyi

Kirovograd municipal arms Kropyvnytskyi (until 2016, the city was called Kirovograd) is located on the coast of Ingul river (river inflow of Yuzhny Bug) at the confluence in it such rivers as Sugokley and Bianka. On the boundary of XV - XVI century the city arose on the territory where the Cossacks originated.

Settling of territory of modern Kirovograd region began in paleolith (20-15 thousand years ago). Since that time, each epoch was represented on open spaces of that edge. Near village Vladimirovka of Novoarhangelsk region, the traces of one of the greatest Tripol'e settlements were found; it counted more than 200 land constructions. The Iron Age is represented by monuments of Chernoless cultures, which was marked by division of craft from agriculture. Antique historians mentioned those edges also. Gerodot suggested that, legendary Eksampley was settled down exactly there - sacred roads of Skifiya. Sarmatians and Goty, Gunny and Avary, Khazary, Ugry and Pechenegi left traces of stay there.

Since the first millennium AD Slavs had affirmed there as a part of Anth's tribes union, and in due course - as a part of Kiev state. The restless life of a border zone, which was rich with constant military collisions, a number of outstanding battles and among them - a victory of hectares of the Lithuanian-Ukrainian armies under the guidance of prince Olgerd over the Tatar hordes on Dark blue Waters (1362) took place there.

Occurrence of large settlements there refers to the middle of XVIII century in 1752-1754 when fort of Sacred Elizabeth based on a place of the present regional centre. The place under the building of future fortress was chosen in December 1752 by expedition under the command of general I.Glebov on the eminence of the right coast of the river Ingul. On July 30, 1752, the fortress project was confirmed. Peasants from the central areas of Russian empire, soldiers of Perm' carabineer regiment and volunteers from the roundabout lands were sent for its building. In addition, Ukrainian hetman Cyrilo Rozumovsky sent 611 workers.

200 Zaporozhean Cossacks carried out protection of construction.

Elisavetgrad was under construction as a fortress for colonization of northern Black Sea Coast, and as an advanced post in struggle against Turkey and Crimean Tatars, and against haidamaki: the imperial army, which destroyed Zaporozhian Host, had acted from there. Under the Belgrad peace treaty of 1739, the fortress was the main strong point of Zadneprov'e lands, attached to Russia. It was the unapproachable stronghold, capable to sustain numerous storms and a long siege; it was a base for concentration armies, capable to crush the enemy.

Fort earthworks were partially saved till now. The fort, which was being under construction for five years considered a masterpiece of art of fortification. However, in review of Russian empire border, which removed further on the south in the end of XVIII century, the fortress lost its strategic value.

During almost thirty years the fort carried out its direct functions, however after Poland divisions and Crimea joining when borders of Russian empire were removed far on the West and on the South, it began to turn to a civil city. Immigrants from other regions of Russia and from abroad were actively involved. Population of Elisavetgrad began to grow quickly. But since the second third of XIX century city development slowed down, because in 1829 it became the centre of army settlements in the south of Ukraine and a place of fighting maneuvers.

After cancellation of military settlements in the middle of XIX century, the region economy was developing more intensively. Elisavetgrad linked with Odessa, Kharkov and Kiev by railway. In January, 1859 military settlements were liquidated, and in 1865 from one-horse town Elisavetgrad again became a district city. There appeared enterprises of processing and food-processing industry. On the boundary of XIX - XX centuries Elisavetgrad was notable for a high level of development of education, musical and theatrical culture.

By the middle of 1890, the quantity of factory enterprises in the city had grown twice, and the manufacture amount had grown in 13 times. Railroad line Elisavetgrad - Balta gave an exit to the sea, and the line Elisavetgrad - Kremenchug connected the city with waterway of Dnepropetrovsk and Donetsk basin. Among the machine-building enterprises, which were guided by manufacturing of agricultural cars and tools, the factory of brothers El'vorty based in 1874, was also stood out.

The begun world war and followed it revolution and civil war were essentially reflected in a region life. Throughout several years, Elisavetgrad got under the power of White and Red armies.

In 1924 Elisavetgrad city was renamed into Zinov'ev city(1924-1934), in 1934 - into Kirovo, (1934-1939), and since 1939 it was renamed again into Kirovograd when by Decree of Presidium of the Supreme body of USSR it was confirmed about creation of Kirovograd region with the centre in Kirovo city with its renaming into Kirovograd. The last renaming - to the city of Kropyvnytskyi - happened in 2016 on the wave of all-Ukrainian decommunization.

Years of the Second World War became the severe test. Kirovograd region lost 92 thousand people. In defensive and offensive fights thousand people were killed. One hundred thirty five citizens of Kirovograd awarded the Title of Hero of the Soviet Union. Inhabitants of Kirovograd carefully honor their liberators from fascist invaders. The city was released on January 8, 1944.

In post-war time the city considerably increased in sizes, its industrially economic potential also increased. Agriculture development led to occurrence of manufacture of agricultural cars. Such large machine-building factories as "Hydrosila" and «Krasnaya Zvezda», Joint-Stock Company "Radiy" are known widely outside of Ukraine. Light and food-processing industries are also presented in the city.

For years of independence, the essential steps to adjustment of facilities work, and development of social sphere was made. Continuing traditions, the region confirmed itself in agricultural machinery manufacture, the mining industry also developed. Agriculture reforming was finished. Positive tendencies in region economy gave the bases to draw a conclusion in correctness of reforms direction, stimulating dynamical development of the region.

3 Higher education establishments, 2 theatres, 2 cinemas, regional studies and art museums function in the city.

Such people are associated with Kirovograd: the writer and the political figure of the beginning of XX-th century Vladimir Vinnichenko, the playwright and actor Ivan Karpenko-Karyi (Tobilevich), who was also the director and one of the founders of constant professional Ukrainian theatre in Elisavetgrad. Among them there were composer Marko Kropivnitsky, the national actor of Ukraine Yuliy Meytus, outstanding pianist Henrykh Neygauz, teacher Vasily Suhomlinsky, poet Arseny Tarkovsky.

At various times A.Suvorov, M.Kutuzov, A.Pushkin, A.Mitskevich was working in Elisavetgrad.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read also

Recommended reading

History of Zhytomir

Zhytomyr-is one of the oldest cities of Ukraine, the administrative, economic and cultural centre of Zhytomyr region (since 1937), the biggest city of Ukra...


History of Ivano-Frankosk

The city is located between the rivers of Solotvinskaya and Nadvornyanskaya Bystritsa, in foothills of Carpathians, near the ancient Galich - the capital o...


History of Kharkiv

Kharkiv city was founded in the middle of XVII century, but archeological finds testify that there were settlements during a bronze epoch in ІІ millennium ...

История Кропивницкого

Герб Кировограда - История города КировоградаКропивницкий (до 2016 года — Кировоград) расположен на берегах Ингула (приток реки Южный Буг) при впадении в него речушек Сугоклея и Биянка. Город возник на территории, где на рубеже XV—XVI веков зародилось казачество. 

Заселение территории современной Кировоградщины началось еще в период палеолита (20—15 тыс. лет тому назад). С того времени каждая из эпох представлена на просторах этого края. Возле села Владимировка Новоархангельского района найдены следи одного из наибольших трипольских поселений, насчитывающих более 200 наземных строений. Памятниками чернолесской культуры представлен железный век, ознаменованный отделением ремесла от земледелия. Об этих краях упоминали и античные историки. Геродот считал, что именно здесь располагался легендарный Эксампей — священные дороги Скифии. Оставили следы своего пребывания здесь сарматы и готы, гунны и авары, хазары, угры и печенеги.

С первого тысячелетия н.э. тут навсегда утверждаются славяне как часть антского союза племен, а со временем - Киевской державы. Неспокойная жизнь пограничья была богатой постоянными военными столкновениями, здесь состоялся ряд выдающихся сражений и среди них — победа литовско-украинских войск под руководством князя Ольгерда над татарскими ордами на Синих Водах (1362 год).

Появление здесь крупных населенных пунктов относится к середине XVIII века, когда на месте нынешнего областного центра был 1752—1754 годах основан форт Святой Елизаветы. Место под строительство будущей крепости было выбрано в декабре 1752 года на возвышении правого берега реки Ингул экспедицией под командованием генерала И.Ф. Глебова. 30 июля 1752 года проект крепости был утвержден. Для ее строительства были присланы крестьяне из центральных районов Российской империи, солдаты Пермского карабинерного полка и добровольцы из окольных земель. Кроме того, прислал 611 работников гетман Украины Кирилл Розумовский. Охрану строительства несли 200 запорожских казаков. Елиcаветград строился как крепость для колонизации северного Причерноморья, как форпост в борьбе против Турции и крымских татар, а также против гайдамаков: именно отсюда выступило царское войско, которое разрушило Запорожскую Сечь. Крепость была главным опорным пунктом на присоединенных к России по Белградскому мирному договору 1739 г. землях Заднепровья. Она была неприступной твердыней, способной выдержать многочисленные штурмы и длинную осаду, служила базой для концентрации войск, способных разгромить неприятеля. 

Земляные валы форта частично сохранилась до сих пор. Строившийся в течении пяти лет форт считался тогда шедевром фортификационного искусства. Однако в связи с тем, что в конце XVIII века граница Российской Империи отодвинулась дальше на юг, крепость утратила свое стратегические значение.

На протяжении почти тридцати лет форт выполнял свои прямые функции, однако после разделов Польши и присоединения Крыма, когда границы Российской Империи отодвинулись далеко на запад и на юг, он стал превращаться в гражданский город. Активно привлекались переселенцев из других регионов России и из-за границы. Население Елисаветграда стало быстро расти. Но со второй трети XIX в. истории Кропивницкого развитие замедлилось, ибо в 1829 г. Кропивницкий стал центром войсковых поселений на юге Украины и местом боевых маневров. 

После отмены военных поселений в середине XIX ст. экономика региона развивается интенсивнее. Елисаветград соединяется железной дорогой с Одессой, Харьковом и Киевом. В январе 1859 года военные поселения были ликвидированы, а в 1865 году Елисаветград из заштатного снова становится уездным городом. Возникают предприятия перерабатывающей и пищевой промышленности. Елисаветград на рубеже XIX—XX столетий отличался высоким уровнем развития образования, музыкальной и театральной культуры. 

К середине 1890 года количество фабрично-заводских предприятий в городе выросла вдвое, а объем производства вырос в 13 раз. Железнодорожная линия Елисаветград - Балта дала выход к морю, а линия Елисаветград – Кременчуг соединила город с водным днепропетровским путем и Донецким бассейном. Среди машиностроительных предприятий, ориентирующихся на изготовление сельскохозяйственных машин и орудий, выделился завод братьев Эльворти, основанный в 1874 году.

Начавшаяся мировая война, последовавшие за ней революция и гражданская война существенно отразились на жизни региона. На протяжении нескольких лет Елисаветград попадал под власть Белой и Красной армий. 

В 1924 г. город Елисаветград был переименован в город Зиновьев (1924—1934 гг.), в 1934 г. — в город Кирово (1934—1939 гг.), снова Кировоград с 1939 г., когда Указом Президиума Верховного Совета СССР было утверждено представление Президиума Верховного Совета УССР об образовании Кировоградской области с центром в городе Кирово с переименованием его в Кировоград. Последнее переименование — в город Кропивницкий — случилось в 2016 году на волне всеукраинской декоммунизации.

Суровым испытанием стали годы Второй мировой войны. Кировоградщина потеряла 92 тысячи человек. В оборонных и наступательных боях погибло 152 тысячи человек. 135 кировоградцев удостоено звания Героя Советского Союза. Жители Кропивницкого бережно чтят своих освободителей от немецко-фашистских оккупантов. Город освобожден 8-го января 1944 года. 

В послевоенное время город значительно увеличился в размерах, возрос его промышленно-экономический потенциал. Развитие сельского хозяйства привело к возникновению производства сельскохозяйственных машин. Такие крупные машиностроительные заводы, как «Гидросила» и История Кировограда«Красная Звезда», ЗАО «Радий» известны широко за пределами Украины. В городе также представлены лёгкая и пищевая промышленность. 

Современная история города Кропивницкий

За годы независимости были сделаны существенные шаги в налаживании работы хозяйств, в развитии социальной сферы. Продолжая традиции, область утверждает себя в производстве сельскохозяйственной техники, развивается горнодобывающая промышленность. Завершено реформирование агропромышленного комплекса. Позитивные тенденции в экономике области дают основания сделать вывод в правильности курса реформ, стимулирующих динамичное развитие региона.

В городе функционируют 3 вуза, 2 театра, 2 кинотеатра, краеведческий и художественный музеи.

С Кропивницким связаны писатель и общественно-политический деятель начала ХХ века Владимир Кириллович Винниченко, драматург и артист Иван Карпович Карпенко-Карый (Тобилевич), драматург, артист, режиссер и один из основателей постоянного профессионального украинского театра в Елисаветграде. Марко Лукич Кропивницкий, композитор, народный артист Украины Юлий Сергеевич Мейтус, выдающийся пианист Генрих Густавович Нейгауз
педагог Василий Александрович Сухомлинский, поэт Арсений Александрович Тарковский.

В Елисаветграде в разное время бывали А. Суворов, М. Кутузов, А. Пушкин, А. Мицкевич.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Читайте также

Рекомендуем почитать

История Черкасс

Черкассы — один из живописнейших украинских городов с населением свыше 300 тыс. человек — расположен примерно в 180-ти километрах к югу от Киева, направ...


История Черновцов

Черновцы (до 1944 Черновицы) расположены на берегах реки Прут и являются центром области, которая граничит с Молдавией и Румынией, Ивано-Франковской, Терно...


История Луцка

В VII—VIII веках на острове, находившемся в окружении рек Стырь и Глушец, непроходимых топких пойм, проживали восточнославянские племена. В то время на сам...