History of Kharkiv

Kharkiv municipal arms Kharkiv city was founded in the middle of XVII century, but archeological finds testify that there were settlements during a bronze epoch in ІІ millennium BC. There were found traces of Scythians (VI-III centuries BC) and Sarmatians (ІІ-І centuries BC) stay; settlements of Chernyakhovskay culture (ІІ-VI century) and the Slavic settlement Donets, known by annals, and "The lay of Igor's Warfare". However, in ХІІ-XVII centuries the present territory of Kharkiv was a part of the Wild Field, where Cuman and then Tatars dominated.

The source of city name is most likely the small river Kharkiv. Some historians connect Kharkiv with ancient settlement of Cuman Sharukan' which was nearby to the place where modern Kharkiv settles down.

In 1654 on the hill at merge of small rivers Kharkiv and Lopan' building of the powerful fortress for the purpose of protection of Russian lands, and in particular Moscow, from attacks of the Crimean Tatars, began. Ukrainian immigrants who, being rescued from Polish szlyachta, settled there with the permission of Moscow tsar constructed the fortress. Tsar Aleksey granted Kharkiv citizens considerable trading privileges, which promoted prompt growth of city riches and Cossack liberties.

Ukrainian settlers constructed new strengthening and bore defensive military service. In 1655 in Kharkiv lived nearby 600 noblemen, and the total population was nearly 2000 people. The part of townsmen was engaged in craft and trade, but the majorities lodged in large villages and were engaged in grain industry.
During the Russian-Swedish war in connection with Ivan Mazepa's military advance and revolt of the Don Cossacks, Peter І charged to strengthen the Kharkiv strengthening. In 1660-1662, former suburban strengthening was completed, and in old fortress, the new ones were created.

In 1724 in Kharkiv, there already were 61 streets and 1300 courtyard.

In due course Kharkiv began to be allocated from regimental centers of Slobozhanshchina thanks to the favorable economic and trading location. The city also started to play a leading cultural role in that area. In XVIIІ century, Kharkiv fairs (4 times in a year) expanded. There the goods from the Baltic ports and the central areas of Russia, Crimea, Kherson, Kiev, Poland, Silesia, Moldova and German cities were brought.
In 1765, the imperial government cancelled regimental self-management of Kharkiv. Cossacks became military settlers. The administrative and territorial unit - province with the centre in Kharkiv was created.

Significant event in city history was the foundation in 1805 of Kharkiv University. Such known scientists as outstanding philologist Potebnya, the winner of Nobel Prize Mechnikov were studied there, the founder of the modern Polish state Juzef Pilsudsky was registered among students of University.

In XIX century in Kharkiv 4 grammar schools for young men and some high schools for girls were based. In 1873, the veterinary institute and in 1885 Technological institute was opened. In second half of 19 century, specialized schools were opening, among them: trading, technical, musical, railway schools.

In 1867 in Kharkiv, the appellate court was created.
By the end of 19 centuries, Kharkiv became the largest intellectual, trading and industrial centre of the south of Russian empire and simultaneously the revolutionary movement centre. In 1900, for the first time in Russia, May Day demonstration took place in Kharkiv.

The population from 1800 to 1917 increased almost in 30 times and in 1917, it made 297 thousand people.
To the beginning of XX century, Kharkiv turned to a large industrial centre and railway junction. In 1904 there were 1200 enterprises in the city, and 17 000 workers were engaged there. Taking into account the handicraft enterprises, number of workers made 45 thousand people, including 28 000 handicraftsmen.
During revolution in 1917 when the power was in hands of Provisional government, the local authorities were in hands of provincial commissioner, municipal duma, country council. The 3-rd generalist of Central Rada extended its power on Kharkiv region. However, affinity of Russia, in which Bolsheviks grasped the power, and Donbas where they actually seized power, plus weakness of the Ukrainian forces solved destiny of the city. In the end of November, 1917 Red Army from Russia and sailors from Baltic came to Kharkiv. They together with local Bolsheviks disarmed the armies of Central Rada and Russian anti-Bolsheviks forces.

In April 1918 after the Brest peace treaty the German army and Ukrainian armies released Kharkiv from Bolsheviks. In November 1918, armies of Directory UNR captured the temporarily power in Kharkiv, but in January 1919, Bolsheviks again grasped the city and the Soviet government of Ukraine acted there until June 1919, when the city was occupied with the Russian White armies of general Denikin, which were to the middle of December of 1919. After the definitive victory of Red army over Denikin, the third Ukrainian Soviet government, which proclaimed Kharkiv as the capital of USSR, returned to the city.

In days of revolution and civil war Kharkiv suffered a lot, the city repeatedly passed from hands to hands, and Bolsheviks Cheka, one of the most terrible in the country, exterminated thousands of townspeople.
After the termination of civil war, Kharkiv was proclaimed as the capital of Ukrainian Soviet Socialist Republic and the most brilliant period in city history began. There lived and worked the figures, which became classics of the Ukrainian culture: writers Oles Gonchar and Ostap Vishnya, poets Vladimir Sosyura and Pavlo Tychina, theatrical director Les Kurbas and film director Alexander Dovzhenko. In Kharkiv such stars of the first size, as crooners Leonid Utesov, Claudia Shulzhenko, composer Isaak Dunaevsky and others began their career.

At the same time in Kharkiv enormous accomplishment works were conducted, the building of the first high-rise building in the USSR - Gosprom, and one of the largest squares of the world became the wreath of that works. In 1931 in Kharkiv, for the first time in the world the atom of lithium was split, that began a nuclear epoch in mankind history. At that particular time world famous physicists Ioffe and Landau worked in the city.

Then new factories were constructed and some old factories were reconstructed, new inhabited complexes and campus were founded, tram lines were prolonged, buses and trolley buses were started up. In 1931 Kharkiv tractor plant, machine-tool constructing (1933), turbine (1934) gave the first production. Pre-revolutionary plants: electromechanical, metal cutting, transport mechanical engineering and others increased volume of their production.

Before approach of German army some enterprises were evacuated, the others were destroyed. Fascists entered the city on October 25, 1941.

The city stayed 22 months under occupation of German armies. In February 1943, the attempts to release Kharkiv were undertaken, but definitively Soviet armies released the city only on August 23, 1943. Because of hunger and reprisals of aggressors, the quantity of Kharkiv inhabitants decreased from 900 thousand to 300 thousand people. There again for the first time in the world history the trial over the military criminals took place, having become a prelude of the Nuremberg process.

Kharkiv as a result of war was one of the most destroyed cities of Europe, tens monuments of architecture were destroyed, numerous art values were taken out to Germany, while waste grounds and ruins on the place of destroyed quarters up to the middle of 60-th years reminded townspeople of war.
After releasing of fascists the city restoration and reconstruction of the destroyed buildings gradually began. A number of old factories were restored and the new ones were constructed. The city promptly grew, new inhabited quarters were erected: Saltovka, Pavlovoe Pole, Rogan, Alekseyevka, Kholodnaya Gora, Krasnaya Bavaria.

In 1975 opening of Kharkiv underground, having a length of 18 kilometers with 13 stations) became the important event in the city life.

In Soviet time, Kharkiv took the third place in the USSR by quantity of higher educational institutions. Now Kharkiv - is the second in Ukraine on population (one and a half million citizens).

The city continues to develop and for nowadays, it is the second city in Ukraine on importance. From 1917 to 1934 Kharkiv was the capital of Ukraine.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read also

Recommended reading

History of Lviv

Lviv is located in foothills of Carpathians in head river of Plotva, left inflow of Zapadny Bug, at the western border of Ukraine in 80 km. from Poland. It...


History of Sumy

Sumy - is an administrative, economic and cultural centre of Sumy region, it was founded on January 10, 1939. The quantity of population on census of 2005 ...


History of Vinnitsa

City is located on the territory of right-bank Ukraine, named Pobuzh'e, later Podol'e. The city occupies coast of Yuzhny Bug and small rivers Tyazhilovki,...

История Харькова

История ХарьковаГород Харьков основан в середине XVII ст., но археологические находки свидетельствуют о том, что здесь были поселения еще в эпоху бронзы во ІІ тисячелетии до н.э. Найдены следы пребывания здесь скифов (VI—III ст. до н.э.) и сарматов (ІІ—І ст. до н.э.); поселения Черняховськой культуры (ІІ—VI ст.) и славянский поселок Донец, известный и по летописям, и по «Слову о полку Игореве». Однако в ХІІ—XVII ст. нынешняя территория Харкова была частью Дикого Поля, где господствовали половцы, а потом татары.

Источник названия города — скорее всего речка Харьков. Некоторые историки связывают Харьков с древним поселением половцев Шарукань, которое находилось неподалеку от того места, где располагается современный город, вот такая вот история Харькова.

В 1654 году на холме у слияния речек Харьков и Лопань началось строительство мощной крепости для защиты русскихкрепость земель, и в частности Москвы, от набегов крымских татар. Крепость была построена украинскими переселенцами, которые, спасаясь от польской шляхты, оседали здесь с разрешения московского царя. Царь Алексей даровал харьковчанам значительные торговые льготы, которые способствовали стремительному росту богатств города и казацкие вольности.

Украинские поселенцы сооружали новые укрепления и несли оборонную военную службу. В 1655 г. в Харькове жило около 600 служилых людей, а всего населення было около. 2000 человек. Часть жителей города занималась ремеслом и торговлей, но большинство селилось в слободах и занималась хлеборобством.

Во время российско-шведской войны в связи с выступлением Ивана Мазепы и восстанием донских казаков Петр І поручил усилить харьковские укрепления. У 1660—1662 гг. были достроены прежние пригородные укрепления, а в старой крепости созданы новые.

В 1724 году в Харьове уже были 61 улица и 1300 дворов.

Со временем Харьков стал выделяться из числа полковых центров Слобожанщины благодаря выгодному экономическому и торговому положенню. Город также начал играть ведущую культурную роль в этом районе. В XVIIІ ст. разрослись харьковськие ярмарки (4 раза в год). Сюда привозили товары из балтийских портов и центральных районов России, из Крима, Херсона, Киева, Польши, Силезии, Молдавии и немецких городов.
В 1765 г. царское правительство отменило полковое самоуправление Харькова. Казаки становились военными поселенцами. Была создана административно-территориальная единица — губерния с центром в Харькове.

Харьковская губернияЗначимым событием в истории города Харькова является основание в 1805 году Харьковского университета. Здесь преподавали такие известные ученые, как выдающийся филолог Потебня, лауреат нобелевской премии Мечников, а среди студентов университета числился, в частности, основатель современного польского государства Юзеф Пилсудский.

В XIX столетии в Харькове было основано 4 гимназии для юношей и несколько средних школ дял девочек. В 1873 году открыт ветеринарный институт; в 1885 году — Технологический Иститут. Во второй половине XIX века откывались профессиональные школы: торговые, технические, музыкальные, железнодорожные. В 1867 году в Xарькове создана своя судебная палата.

К концу XIX века Харьков стал крупнейшим интеллектуальным, торговым и промышленным центром юга Российской империи и одновременно центром революционного движения. В 1900 году в Харькове, впервые в России, состоялась первомайская демонстрация.

Численность населения с 1800 по 1917 год возросла почти в 30 раз и в 1917 году составляла 297 тыс.

К началу XX века Харьков превращается в крупный промышленный центр и железнодорожный узел. В 1904 году в городе насчитывалось 1200 предприятий, где было занято свыше 17 000 рабочих. С учетом кустарных предприятий численность рабочих составляла 45 тыс., в том числе 28 000 ремесленников.

Во время революции в 1917 году, когда власть была в руках Временного правительства, местная власть — в руках губернского комиссара, городской думы, земств. 3-й универсал Центральной Рады распространял ее власть на Харьковщину. Но близость России, в которой власть захватили большевики, и Донбасса, где они также фактически захватили власть, плюс слабость украинских сил решили судьбу города. В конце ноября 1917 года в Харьков прибыли красноармейцы из России и матросы из Прибалтики. Они вместе с местными большевиками обезоружили войска Центральной Рады и российские антибольшевицкие силы.

После Брестского мирного договора немецкая армия и украинские войска в апреле 1918 года освободили Xарьков от большевиков. В ноябре 1918-го временно власть в Xарькове захватили войска Директории УНР, но в январе 1919 город опять захватили большевики и тут действовало советское правительство Украины до июня 1919 года, когда город заняли российские белые войска генерала Деникина, которые находились тут до середины декабря 1919-го. После окончательной победы красных над Деникиным в Xарьков вернулось третье украинское советское правительство, которое обьявило Харьков столицей УССР.

В годы революции и гражданской войны Харьков очень сильно пострадал, город многократно переходил из рук в руки, а бгосударственный Банкольшевистская ЧК, одна из самых страшных в стране, истребила тысячи горожан.
После окончания гражданской войны Харьков был провозглашен столицей Украинской Советской Социалистической республики и начался самый блестящий период в истории города. Именно здесь жили и работали деятели, которые стали классиками украинской культуры, писатели Олесь Гончар и Остап Вишня, поэты Владимир Сюсюра и Павло Тычина, театральный режиссер Лесь Курбас и кинорежиссер Александр Довженко. В Харькове начинали свою карьеру такие звезды первой величины, как эстрадные певцы Леонид Утесов, Клавдия Шульженко, композитор Исаак Дунаевский и многие другие.

В это же время в городе были проведены колоссальные по объему работы по благоустройству Харькова, венцом чего стало строительство первого высотного здания в СССР — Госпрома и одной из крупнейших площадей мира. В 1931 году в Харькове — впервые в мире — был расщеплен атом лития, что положило начало атомной эпохе в истории человечества. Именно тогда в нашем городе работали всемирно известные физики Иоффе и Ландау.

Тогда же были построены новые и реконструированы некоторые старые заводы, заложены новые жилые комплексы и студенческий городок, продлены трамвайные линии, пущены автобусы и троллейбусы. В 1931 г. дал первую продукцию Харьковский тракторний завод, станкостроительный (1933), турбинный (1934). Увеличили объем продукции дореволюционные: электромеханический, металлообрабатывающий, транспортного машиностроения и другие. Так вот проходила история возникновения Харькова в Украине.

Перед наступлением немецкой арплощадь Дзержинскогомии некоторые предприятия были эвакуированы, остальные уничтожены. Фашисты вошли в город 25-го октября 1941 года.
Под оккупацией немецких войск город пробыл 22 месяца. В феврале 1943-го года предпринимались попытки освободить Харьков, но окончательно советские войска освободили город лишь 23 августа 1943 года. От голода и репрессий захватчиков количество жителей Харькова уменьшилось с 900 тысяч до 300 тысяч человек. И здесь также впервые в мировой истории состоялся открытый процесс над военными преступниками, ставший прелюдией нюрнбергского процесса.

Харьков в результате войны оказался одним из самых разрушенных городов Европы, были уничтожены десятки памятников архитектуры, вывезены в Германию многочисленные художественные ценности, а пустыри и развалины на месте разрушенных кварталов напоминали горожанам о войне вплоть до середины 60-х годов.

После освобождения города от фашистов постепенно начинается восстановление и реконструкция разрушенных зданий города. Был восстановлен ряд старых заводов и построены новые. Город стремительно рос, были возведены новые жилые кварталы: Салтовка, Павловое Поле, Рогань, Алексеевка, Холодная Гора, Красная Бавария.

Важным событием в жизни города стало открытие в 1975-м году Харьковского метрополитена длиной 18 километров с 13-ю станциями.

В советское время Харьков занимал третье место в СССР по количеству высших учебных заведений. Сейчас город Харьков — второй в Украине по численности населения (полтора миллиона жителей).

Город продолжает развиваться и на сегодня является 2-м по важности городом Украины. С 1917 по 1934 год Харьков являлся столицей Украины.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Читайте также

Рекомендуем почитать

История Днепропетровска

Третий по численности населения город Украины (в 2005 г. — 1103 тыс. жителей), областной центр, расположен на крутых берегах Днепра в месте впадения в нег...


История Донецка

Донецк расположен в степной зоне, в верховьях реки Кальмиус, в 95 км севернее Азовского моря, окружен небольшими лесами, холмами, реками и озерами. Заселе...


История Черновцов

Черновцы (до 1944 Черновицы) расположены на берегах реки Прут и являются центром области, которая граничит с Молдавией и Румынией, Ивано-Франковской, Терно...