History of Ivano-Frankosk

The city is located between the rivers of Solotvinskaya and Nadvornyanskaya Bystritsa, in foothills of Carpathians, near the ancient Galich - the capital of Galitsko-Volynsk princedom. Until 1962, the city was called Stanislav (Stanislavov)
The city was founded on the place of village Zabolot'e. There passed the central trading way from Lvov to the mouth of Danube. The city was founded in 1662 by Polish noble family of Pototsky as their strong point in Galicia and as a fortress for protection against attacks of the Crimean Tatars. The city received its name in honor of voivode Stanislav Pototsky.
On May 7, 1662, Polish king Yan Kazimir granted the Magdebourg right to the city.

Stanislav began from Rynkovaya square and town hall, which are saved until now and changed in a little kind. In further constructions ideas of Renaissance, which expressed in a lay-out of suburbs of the city, streets, temples were reflected.

In 1676-1677, Stanislav sustained a siege of Turkish armies. In 1706, it was plundered by Russian armies in revenge for support Stanislav Leschinsky by Pototsky family.

After devastating campaigns of Turks to Podolia and Galicia during which fortresses in Kamenets, Chertkov and Buchach were destroyed, Stanislav's protective role essentially increased.

In 1772 after the first division of Poland, Stanislav turned out under the power of Austria and became the centre of one of 18 districts of Galicia.

In 1801 owing to bankruptcy of last city proprietor Prot Pototsky, Stanislav and roundabout villages passed to the property of state treasury.

In XVІІІ-XІX centuries, the city was the considerable trading-craft centre of Poland. Besides Poles, Ukrainians, Jews and Armenians which national communities were numerous, had brought contribution to the development of its crafts and culture.

The public life of the city was stirred by revolution of 1848. «Russian council» was created (along with Polish) in Stanislav, the group of National guards was organized, the first newspaper started to leave. In neogenic parliament Ukrainian deputies were selected.

In the city, in 1884 well-known public figure and writer Natalia Kobrinskaya held the constituent assembly of "Society of Russian women» (later - «the Union of Ukrainians»). It was the beginning of organized women's movement in Ukraine.
In 1866 owing to successful geographical position Stanislav became the important railway junction, and one year later - the district centre. Second half of 19-th century was noted by fast development of industrial relations, creation of the new enterprises. Railway lining gave the considerable push to it. Since that times locomotive-repair factory, distillery association started their work. In second half of XIX - beginning of XX century amount of city building considerably grew. Tens administrative buildings, grammar schools, hotels, trading, apartment houses and other constructions built in that years, form an attractive architectural shape of the central part of modern Ivano-Frankovsk.

After disintegration of Austro-Hungary in 1918, the West Ukrainian National Republic was created. During January-May of 1919, Stanislav was its capital. In May the city was occupied by Polish armies, occupation was lasting for two decades. That time was reflected in an architectural silhouette of the city, having decorated it, in particular, by Joseph's church (1920-th years) and majestic Troitskaya church (1935).

During the First World War in 1915-1916, severe fights were conducted for the city. The part of historical building was destroyed and restored subsequently in the newest architectural forms.

In 20-th years of ХХ century, about 65 thousand people lived in Stanislav. The largest enterprise of the city was the factory on repair of cars and steam locomotives. 18 small enterprises were working.

In September 1939, Stanislav was occupied by the Soviet armies and included in the structure of USSR. That period defined by reprisals against the population, an apogee became at the secret execution of prisoners and suspected (innocent people) by employees of Commissariat of Internal Affairs, who was in city prison before Hitlerites arrival.

During the Second World War the in 1944 the city was under fascist occupation. Soon after the city capture, Gestapo conducted mass arrests of representatives of the Polish intelligence. 800 Polish intellectuals were executed on 20-th of August 1941 in Black wood under the city. On July, 26-th, 1942 in the same place the high-ranking Franciscan monks were executed for concealment of Jews. In 1941, it was created the Jewish ghetto, which prisoners in 1943 were sent in camp of death, named Belzets.

Underground workers of the Organization of Ukrainian Nationalists - the Ukrainian Rebel Army, headed struggle against aggressors. In November 1943, fascists made public execution of 27 patriots, members of OUN-URA in the city centre.
In total in Stanislav and its village fences fascists destroyed over 100 thousand innocent citizens.

In 1944, the Soviet army released the city.

In 1962, the city celebrated 300's anniversary. It was renamed and since that time carries the name of outstanding Ukrainian writer and public figure Ivan Franko which repeatedly visited the city, wrote and read his works there.
Ivano-Frankovsk's citizens together with other inhabitants of Galicia enthusiastically apprehended democratic transformations of 1990-th years, which were their motive power. They lifted national blue-yellow flags over the city in April 1990, and mass voted for independence of Ukraine on referendum.

Under the editorship of: V.A. Kovalenin

blog comments powered by Disqus

Read also

Recommended reading

History of Zaporizhia

Zaporizhzhya (Zaporizhia) - is a Ukrainian city, an administrative centre of Zaporizhzhya region, located on the river Dnepro. Its population is 790 thousa...


History of Rivne

The Rivne city is located on the river Ust'e beyond some kilometers from its confluence in the river Goryn', which conditionally divides Rivne region on lo...


History of Kharkiv

Kharkiv city was founded in the middle of XVII century, but archeological finds testify that there were settlements during a bronze epoch in ІІ millennium ...

История Ивано-Франковска

Город расположен между реками Солотвинская и Надворнянская Быстрица, в предгорье Карпат, недалеко от древнего Галича —  столицы Галицко-Волынского княжества. До 1962 года назывался Станислав (Станиславов).

Основан был город на месте села Заболотье, отсюда и начинается история Ивано-Франковска. Здесь проходил центральный торговый путь от Львова до устья Дуная. Основала город в 1662 польская дворянская семья Потоцких как свой опорный пункт в Галиции и как крепость для защиты от набегов крымских татар. Имя свое город получил в честь воеводы Станислава Потоцкого.

7 мая 1662 г. польский король Ян Казимир даровал городу магдебургское право.

Станислав начинался от Рынковой площади и ратуши, которые в несколько измененном виде сохранились до сих пор. В дальнейшем строительстве отразились идеи ренессанса, которые выраженные в планировке окраин города, улиц, храмов.

В 1676—1677 гг. Станислав выдержал осаду турецких войск. В 1706 г. был разграблен русскими войсками в отместку за поддержку Потоцкими Станислава Лещинского.

История Ифвано-Франковска После опустошительных походов турок на Подолье и Галицию, во время которых были разрушены крепости в Каменце, Черткове и Бучаче, защитная роль Станислава существенно возрастает.
В 1772 году после первого раздела Польши Станислав оказался под властью Австрии и стал центром одного из 18 округов Галиции. 

В 1801 году вследствие банкротства последнего собственника города Прота Потоцкого Станислав и окольные села перешли у собственность государственной казны, вот такие вот события пережила история Ивано-Франковска.

В XVІІІ—XІX веках город был значительным торгово-ремесленным центром Польши. Помимо поляков в развитие его ремесел и культуры внесли свой вклад украинцы, евреи и армяне, национальные общины которых были здесь довольно многочисленными. 

Общественную жизнь города всколыхнула революция 1848 г. В Станиславе был создан «Русский совет» (наряду с польским), организован отряд Национальной гвардии, начала выходить первая газета. В новообразованный парламент были избраны депутаты-украинцы.

В 1884 г. известный общественный деятель и писательница Наталья Кобринская провела в городе учредительное собрание «Общества русских женщин» (более позднее название — «Союз украинок»). Этим было положено начало организованному женскому движению на Украине. 

В 1866 г. благодаря удачному географическому положению Станислав становится важным железнодорожным узлом, а годом позже — центром уезда. Вторая половина XIX ст. отмечена быстрым развитием промышленных отношений, созданием новых предприятий. Значительный толчок этому дала прокладка железной дороги. С тех времён ведут начало локомотиворемонтный завод, ликероводочное объединение. Во второй половине XIX — начале XX вв. значительно вырос объем городского строительства. Десятки административных зданий, гимназий, гостиниц, торговых, жилых домов и других сооружений, построенных в эти годы, формируют привлекательный архитектурный облик центральной части современного Ивано-Франковска.

После распада Австро-Венгрии в 1918 г. была создана Западно-Украинская Народная Республика. Станислав на протяжении января-мая 1919 г. был её столицей. В мае город занимают польские войска, оккупация длится два десятилетия. Это время отразилось и в архитектурном силуэте города, украсив его, в частности, костелом Иосифа (1920-е годы) и величественной Троицкой церковью (1935 г.).

Во время первой мировой войны в 1915—1916 гг. за город велись жестокие бои. Часть исторической застройки была разрушена и восстановлена впоследствии уже в новейших архитектурных формах.

В 20-е годы. ХХ ст. в Станиславе проживало около 65 тысяч человек. Крупнейшим предприятием города оставался завод по ремонту вагонов и паровозов. Работало 18 мелких предприятий.

В сентябре 1939 г. Станислав занят советскими войсками и включен в состав УССР. Этот период отличается репрессиями против населения, апогеем которых стал тайный расстрел сотрудниками НКВД узников и подозреваемых (невинных людей), находившихся в городской тюрьме перед приходом гитлеровцев. 

Во время Второй мировой войны город в течение1941—1944 гг. находился под фашистской оккупацией. Вскоре после захвата города гестапо провело в нем массовые аресты представителей польской интеллигенции. 800 польских интеллигентов было казнено 20 августа 1941 в Черном лесу под городом. 26 июля 1942 г. там же были казнены за укрывательство евреев высокопоставленные францисканские монахи. В 1941 году было создано еврейское гетто, заключенные которого были в 1943 отправлены в лагерь смерти Белзец. 

Борьбу с захватчиками возглавили подпольщики Организации Украинских Националістів - Украинской Повстанческой Армии. В ноябре 1943 г. фашисты произвели в центре города публичный расстрел 27 патриотов, членов ОУН-УПА.

Всего в Станиславе и его околицах фашисты уничтожили свыше 100 тыс. мирных граждан.

В 1944 г. город освобожден Советской армией.

В 1962 г. город отметил свое 300-летие. Он был переименован и с тех пор носит имя выдающегося украинского писателя и общественного деятеля Ивана Франко, который неоднократно здесь бывал, писал и читал свои произведения. 

Иванофранковцы вместе с другими жителями Галиции восторженно восприняли демократические преобразования 1990-х годов, были их движущей силой. Национальные сине-желтые флаги они подняли над городом уже в апреле 1990 г., а на референдуме 1991 г. массово проголосовали за независимость Украины.

Под редакцией: Коваленин В.А.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Читайте также

Рекомендуем почитать

История Ужгорода

Город Ужгород — административный центр Закарпатской области. Расположен у подножья Карпат на извилистых берегах р.Уж. Как свидетельствуют археологиче...


История Херсона

Херсон расположен на высоком правом берегу Днепра за 25 км от места впадения его в Днепровский лиман Черного моря. Город является крупным ж/д узлом. В горо...


История Черновцов

Черновцы (до 1944 Черновицы) расположены на берегах реки Прут и являются центром области, которая граничит с Молдавией и Румынией, Ивано-Франковской, Терно...