History of Chernivtsy

Chernivtsy municipal arms Chernivtsy (up to 1944 Chernovitsi) is located on coast of the river Prut and is the regional centre, that bordered on Moldova and Romania, Ivano-Frankovsk, Ternopol, Khmelnitskiy regions of Ukraine.

Settlements in territory of Chernivtsy arose already in a neolith. In city suburbs archeologists have found out settlements of Tripolye cultures, bronze and iron centuries, and also slavic monuments of the beginning of our era (II-V centuries). In IX-XI centuries there were settlements of white Croat and Tivertsy tribes.

The basis in XII century of the strengthened settlement on the place of Chernivtsy, on the left coast of the Prut, historians connect with a name Galits prince Yaroslav Osmomysla. It was the fortress with trading-craft settlement and was called Chern (or the Black city), probably, because of black wooden walls. In 1259 on request of Tatar Burunday the fortress was destroyed.

Owing to frequent high waters on low left coast of the Prut, the new city was constructed on high right coast.
When the Galitsk-Volynsk princedom broke down in the middle of XIV century, Chernivtsy passed to Hungary to short time, and then to Poland. Since 1359 they were a part of the Moldavian princedom as a boundary city with Poland through which there passed a trading way from Lviv to Suceava. Moldavian head Alexander Dobruy in reading and writing which was given out to Lviv merchants on October 8, 1408, already named it Chernivtsy. And since then this date is marked as official day of the city. At that time it stood at a crossroads of roads from northwest Europe to the Balkans and to Turkey. Since 1457, the city became the centre of fairs holding and an administrative centre of all regions.

In days of Stephan the Great Chernivtsy already was a city. Therefore, they were called in the document of 1490. During the Moldavian period they received self-management on the basis of Magdebourg the rights and as «a free city» directly submitted to voivode. When Moldova.

When Moldova got in Turkish yoke and the sultan transformed the grasped country into the obedient vassal, the city head became that feudal lords, who brought to the sultan the greatest bribe. Because of it feudal lords were continuous conflicting, and even took part in real fights.

In 1509 the Polish hetman Kamyanetsky completely burnt Chernivtsy. In 1537 the city was ruined by armies of Polish king. During wars between Poland and Turkey (1595-1620) Chernivtsy repeatedly passed from hands to hands. In 1650 and 1653 Cossacks of Khmelnitsky visited Chernivtsy. The city was devastated during wars of Moldova with Poland (1497, 1509, 1688), Turks (1476 and 1714) and Tatars (1626, 1646, 1650, 1672).

In winter 1709-1710, after defeat of Swedish army of Charles XII near Poltava Russian armies occupied Chernivtsy for the first time, pursuing the Swedish army and parts of the Cossacks of Mazepa who adjoined Swedes. Again, in 1739 during Russian-Turkish war. After those huge devastations by 1762, there were hardly 200 wooden houses and 1200 inhabitants in Chernivtsy.

Till 1774 the city was under the power of the Moldavian princedom which was the vassal of Turkey and played a considerable role on important trading way from Europe and Byzantium. After the next Russian-Turkish war 1768-1774 Chernivtsy in third time were occupied by Russian armies, and then passed to the power of Austria. Austrian Empress Maria Tereziya, having used defeat of Turks in Russian-Turkish war (1768-1774), in 1775 included Bukovina together with Chernivtsy in Gabsburg Empire. The city became the centre of Bukovina: in the beginning of military authorities (1774-1786), and then in 1786-1849 the centre of civil management of Bukovinsky district which was a part of Galichina, in 1849 -an independent territory of Bukovina. In 1864 Chernivtsy found full local government.

Since 1775 the population of Chernivtsy constantly grew, getting more and more mixed national structure. Except Ukrainians and Romanian, Poles, Germans and Jews lodge there.

(Till 1918 German language on which Jews spoke, prevailed; together with Germans they made half of population of the city). When in 1778 duke Charles fon Entsenderg became the head of military authorities of Chernivtsy, the city started to blossom by efforts of handicraftsmen involved there, merchants, industrialists who promoted trade and manufacture development. During XIX century the Austrian administration of a city promoted education development: by 1869, 6 schools worked already, grammar schools, teacher's seminary, specialised schools were created. In 1875 the university with three faculties was founded. At schools the training were in German, but gradually there were national schools with the Ukrainian language of training.

On the boundary of XIX - XX centuries on Bukovina talented writers, artists, musicians (M.Ivasyuk, R.Kayndl, E.Maksimovich, O.Kobylyanskaya, J.Fedkovich, etc.) created. Chernivtsy became the cultural centre, which was well-known in Europe. From the middle of XIX to the beginning of XX century the set of architectural monuments were constructed: a town hall (1848), post office (1855), Armenian church (1875), Jewish synagogue (1877), Drama theatre (1905), Court (1906), premise of railway station (1908).

The city economy developed steadily: in 1866 the railway Chernivtsy-Lvivs was under construction, brewery, a steam mill, distillery, furniture factory, Chamber of commerce, trading stock exchange, power station, a tram, plumbing and sanitary were created. In 1895 in Chernivtsy there were over 2500 workers, and in 1910 there were 2140 handicraftsmen and 1400 dealers in the city.

Till 1914 Chernivtsy was the important Ukrainian publishing centre. There from the middle of XIX century some publishing houses worked, there was variety of daily and monthlies magazines and newspapers, Ukrainian textbooks, dictionaries etc. were printed.

After signing in November 1918 of an armistice between Germany and countries of Antanta, Chernivtsy were occupied by Romanian armies, on November 28, the Romanian General Congress of Bukovina proclaimed joining of Bukovina with Chernivtsy to Romania. Contrary to prosecutions from the authorities Chernivtsy remained the centre of nationalization in Bukovina.

In 1940 the city was occupied by Red army and was a part of USSR. In the beginning of Great Patriotic War, German and Romanian armies enter there. Chernivtsy came back in the structure of Romania, but in 1944 Soviet army released the city.

After the Second World War in Chernivtsy there was extreme changes of national structure of population. According to all-Ukrainian population censuses of 2001 in the city population there were present the following ethnic groups: Ukrainians - 79,9 %, Russian - 11,3 %, Byelorussians - 0,4 %, Poles - 0,6 %, Moldavians - 1,6 %, Romanians - 4,5 %.

For comparison: during the Austrian period there was such distribution of national groups in Chernivtsy: Jews - 33 %, Carpatho-Russians - 19 %, Germans - 17 %, Romanians - 15 %, Poles-15 %. In Romanian period on census of 1930 there were accordingly: Jews - 29 %, Romanians - 26 % , Germans - 23 %, Carpatho-Russians - 11 %, Poles - 7 %).

After the Second World War in Chernivtsy there was extreme changes of national structure of population. According to all-Ukrainian population censuses of 2001 in the city population there were present the following ethnic groups: Ukrainians - 79,9 %, Russian - 11,3 %, Byelorussians - 0,4 %, Poles - 0,6 %, Moldavians - 1,6 %, Romanians - 4,5 %.
For comparison: during the Austrian period there was such distribution of national groups in Chernivtsy: Jews-33 %, Carpatho-Russians - 19 %, Germans - 17 %, Romanians - 15 %, Poles-15 %. In Romanian period on census of 1930 there were accordingly: Jews - 29 %, Romanians - 26 % Germans - 23 %, Carpatho-Russians - 11 %, Poles - 7 %).

It is extremely important to mention one of the main city trait: different nationalities, creed, political views never prevented citizens of Chernivtsy to live in piece and mutual understanding.

Real estimation of international relations in an ancient city were the words of modern German publicist George Gayntsena: it was "the ship of pleasures with the Ukrainian command, German officers and Jewish passengers onboard which constantly headed between the West and East under the Austrian flag. Hardly you will invent something more freakish and fragile for central-east Europe of first half of ХХ century, than the company of Ukrainian, German and Jew on one ship under tolerance sails! Chernivtsy is a city where Sunday began with Schubert, ended with duel. This city - is on half-roads between Kiev and Bucharest, between Krakow and Odessa - was the private capital of Europe where best coloratura sopranos sang, and firmans argued on Charles Krause, where sidewalks swept with bouquets of roses and bookshops were more than coffee houses... It was the city where dogs were named as Olympic gods and hens pecked out Gelderline poets from the land".

After Chernivtsy was in the structure of Ukraine vigorous industrialisation of region began, the machine-building and chemical enterprises, network of large instrument-making factories were created. The city population considerably increased, for a professional training science and education actively developed. In 1970 in Chernivtsy there were 50 secondary schools, 8 technical schools, 8 specialized technical schools, musical, pedagogical, medical schools, 3 higher educational establishments.

Now in Chernivtsy about 70 000 workers are engaged and about 60 % of an industrial output of the region is concentrated in the city. The leading branches are: the light, food, electronic and chemical industry, mechanical engineering and metal working, woodworking industry.

Architecture masterpieces in the city are - theatre, Justice palace, the Cathedral, hotels "Paris", "Bell view" ("the perfect view"), Chamber of trade and crafts, Management of Bukovinsky savings bank (now the Art museum). The variety of architectural styles are presented: Romance, Gothic, Byzantian, classicism, eclecticism, modernist style, neoclassics, Mauritian, baroque, pseudo-baroque, Florentine and others.

Under the editorship of: V.A. Kovalenin

blog comments powered by Disqus

Read also

Recommended reading

History of Lutsk

In VII-VIII centuries on the island which was surrounded by the rivers Styr and Glushets, on impassable fenny bottom-lands, the East slavic tribes lived. ...


History of Kyiv

Kyiv - is one of the largest cities of Europe, lays on both coast of Dnepro, below the confluence of the left Desna inflow. The northern part of the city i...


History of Dnipro

The third city of Ukraine in population (in 2005 there were 1 103 000 inhabitants), the regional centre which is located on abrupt banks of Dnepro river in...

История Черновцов

История ЧерновцыЧерновцы (до 1944 Черновицы) расположены на берегах реки Прут и являются центром области, котораЯрослав Осмомыслая граничит с Молдавией и Румынией, Ивано-Франковской, Тернопольской и Хмельницкой областями Украины.

Поселения на территории Черновцов возникали уже в период неолита. В городских предместьях археологи обнаружили поселения трипольской культуры, бронзового и железного веков, а также славянские памятники начала нашей эры (II—V вв.). В IX—XI вв. здесь были поселения белых хорват и тиверцев. 

Основание в XII в. укрепленного селения на месте Черновцов, на левом берегу Прута, историки связывают с именем галицкого князя Ярослава Осмомысла. Это была крепость с торгово-ремесленным поселением, называлась Черн (или Черный город), вероятно, из-за черных деревянных стен. В 1259 по требованию татарского темника Бурундая крепость была разрушена. 

Вследствие частых паводков на низком левом берегу Прута новый город был построен на высоком правом берегу. 

Когда Галицко-Волынское княжество распалось в середине XIV в., Черновцы на краткое время перешли к Венгрии, а потом к Польше. С 1359 они входят в состав Молдавского княжества как пограничный с Польшей город, через который проходил торговый путь из Львова на Сучаву. Молдавский господарь Александр Добрый в грамотах, которые он выдал львовским купцам 8 октября 1408 года, уже называет его Черновцами. И эта дата с тех пор отмечается как официальный день города. В то время он стоял на перекрестке дорог с северо-западной Европы на Балканы и в Турцию. С 1457 года город стал центром проведения ярмарок и административным центром всего региона.

Во времена Стефана Великого, в истории Черновцов, их уже считали городом. Именно так они называются в документе 1490 г. В молдавский период они получили самоуправление на основе Магдебурского права и как «вольный город» непосредственно подчинялись воеводе. Когда же сама Молдавия попала в турецкое ярмо и султан превратил захваченную страну в послушного вассала, хозяином в городе становился тот из феодалов, кто подносил султану наибольшую взятку. Феодалы из-за этого вели между собой беспрерывные распри, а то и настоящие бои. 

В 1509 г. дотла сжег Черновцы польский гетман Камянецкий. В 1537 г. город разоряют войска польского короля. Во время войн между Польшей и Турцией (1595—1620) Черновцы неоднократно переходили из рук в руки. В 1650 и 1653 годах в Черновцах побывали казаки Хмельницкого. Город опустошался во время войн Молдавии с Польшей (1497, 1509, 1688), турками (1476 и 1714) и татарами (1626, 1646, 1650, 1672). 

После поражения шведской армии Карла XII под Полтавой зимой 1709—1710 гг., преследуя шведскую армию и части примкнувших к шведам казаков Мазепы, впервые заняли Черновцы российские войска. Вторично — в 1739 г. во время русско-турецкой войны. После этих больших опустошений к 1762 году в Черновцах остается едва  200 деревянных домов и 1200 жителей.

  До 1774 года город находился под властью Молдавского княжества, которое было вассалом Турции и играло значительнуюуниверситет роль на важном торговом пути из в Европу и Византию. После очередной русско-турецкой войны 1768—1774 в истории города Черновцы, город был в третий раз занят российскими войсками, а затем перешел во власть Австрии. Австрийская императрица Мария Терезия, воспользовавшись поражением турок в русско-турецкой войне 1768—1774 гг., включила в 1775 г. Буковину вместе с Черновцами в империю Габсбургов. Город становится центром Буковины: вначале военной администрации (1774—1786), а затем в 1786—1849 гг. центром гражданского управления Буковинского округа, входившего в состав Галичины, в 1849 г. — автономного края Буковины. В 1864 г. Черновцы обрели полное местное самоуправление.
Начиная с 1775 г. население Черновцов постоянно растет, приобретая все более смешанный национальный состав. Кроме украинцев и румын, здесь селятся поляки, немцы и евреи.

До 1918 г. преобладал немецкий язык, на котором говорили и евреи; вместе с немцами они составляли половину населения города). Когда в 1778 году главой военной администрации Черновцов стал герцог Карл фон Энценберг, город начал расцветать усилиями привлекаемых сюда ремесленников, купцов, промышленников, которые способствовали развитию торговли и производства. В течение XIX ст. австрийская администрация города способствует развитию просвещения: к 1869 р. работали уже 6 школ, создаются гимназии, учительская семинария, специализированные училища. В 1875 г. был основан университет с тремя факультетами. В школах обучение шло на немецком языке, но постепенно возникают народные школы с украинским языком обучения. 

На рубеже XIX—XX столетий на земле Буковины творят талантливые писатели, художники, музыканты (М. Ивасюк, Р. Кайндль, Е. Максимович, О. Кобылянская, Ю. Федькович, и др.). Черновцы становятся культурным центром, известным всей Европе. С середины XIX и до начала XX века было построено множество архитектурных памятников: ратуша (1848), почтамт (1855), Армянская церковь (1875), еврейская синагога (1877), драматический театр (1905), дворец правосудия (1906), помещение железнодорожного вокзала (1908).

Устойчиво развивается в это же время экономика города: в 1866 г. строится железная дорога Черновцы-Львов, создаются пивоварня, паровая мельница, винокурня, мебельная фабрика, торговая палата, торговая биржа, электростанция, трамвай, водопровод и канализация. В 1895 в Черновцах работало свыше 2500 рабочих, а в 1910 в городе было 2140 ремесленников и 1400 торговцев.
постройка 19 века

С середины XIX века до начала XX в Истории Черновцов было построено множество архитектурных памятников, принесших славу городу: ратуша (1848), помещение почтамта (1855), Армянская церковь (1875), еврейская синагога (1877), драматический театр (1905), дворец правосудия (1906), помещение железнодорожного вокзала (1908).

До 1914 г. Черновцы были важным украинским издательским центром. Здесь с середины XIX в. работало несколько издательств, выходил целый ряд ежедневных и ежемесячных журналов и газет, печатались украинские учебники, словари и др.

После подписания в ноябре 1918 года перемирия между Германией и странами Антанты Черновцы были заняты румынскими войсками, 28 ноября румынский Генеральный конгресс Буковины провозгласил присоединение Буковины с Черновцами к Румынии. Вопреки преследованиям со стороны властей Черновцы оставались центром украинства в Буковине.

В 1940 году город был занят Красной армией и вошел в состав УССР. В начале Великой Отечественной войны сюда входят немецкие и румынские войска. Черновцы возвращаются в состав Румынии, но в 1944 году город освобождает Советская армия. 

После Второй мировой войны в Черновцах произошли чрезвычайные изменения национального состава населения. По всеукраинской переписи населения 2001 года в населении города присутствовали следующие этнические группы: украинцы — 79,9%, русские — 11,3%, белорусы — 0,4%, поляки — 0,6%, молдаване — 1,6%, румыны — 4,5%

Для сравнения: в австрийский период существовало такое распределение национальных групп в Черновцах: евреи — 33%, русины — 19%, немцы — 17%, румыны — 15%, поляки — 15%. В румынский период по переписи 1930 года соответственно: евреи — 29%, румыны — 26% немцы — 23%, русины — 11%, поляки — 7%). 

Чрезвычайно важно отметить одну из главнейших черт города: разные национальности, вероисповедание, политические взгляды никогда не мешали черновчанам жить в мире и взаимопонимании. 

Реальной оценкой межнациональных отношений в старинном городе стали слова современного немецкого публициста Георга Гайнцена: «Это был «корабль удовольствий» с украинской командой, немецкими офицерами и еврейскими пассажирами на борту, который под австрийским флагом постоянно держал курс между Западом и Востоком. Вряд ли выдумаешь что-либо более причудливое и непрочное для Центрально-Восточной Европы первойХудожественный музей половины ХХ в., чем компания украинца, немца и еврея в одном корабле под парусами толерантности! Черновцы — это город, где воскресный день начинался с Шуберта, а заканчивался дуэлью. Этот город — на полдороги между Киевом и Бухарестом, между Краковом и Одессой — был негласной столицей Европы, где пели лучшие колоратурные сопрано, а фирманы спорили о Карле Краусе, где тротуары подметали букетами роз, и где книжных магазинов было больше чем кофеен... Это был город, где собак называли именами олимпийских богов и где куры выклевывали из земли стихи Гельдерлина».

После вхождения Черновцов в состав Украины начинается энергичная индустриализация региона, создаются машиностроительные и химические предприятия, сеть крупных приборостроительных заводов. Население города значительно увеличилось, для подготовки кадров активно развивается наука и образование. В 1970 гг. в Черновцах было 50 общеобразовательных школ, 8 техникумов, 8 профтехнических, музыкальных, педагогических, медицинских училищ, 3 высшие учебные заведения.

В настоящее время в Черновцах занято около 70 000 рабочих и сконцентрировано около 60% промышленной продукции области. Ведущие отрасли — легкая, пищевая, электронная и химическая промышленность, машиностроение и металлообработка, деревообработка.

Шедевры архитектуры в городе — театр, дворец юстиции, Кафедральный собор, отели «Париж», «Бель Вю» («Прекрасный вид»), Палата торговли и ремесел, Дирекция Буковинской сберкассы (сейчас Художественный музей). Представлены самые разнообразие архитектурные стили: романский, готический, византийский, классицизм, эклектика, модерн, неоклассика, мавританский, барокко, псевдобарокко, флорентийский и другие.

Под редакцией: Коваленин В.А.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Читайте также

Рекомендуем почитать

История Винницы

Город Винница расположен на территории правобережной Украины, называемой Побужьем, позже  Подольем. Город занимает берега Южного Буга и небольших рече...


История Ровно

Город Ровно расположен на р. Устье за несколько километров от ее впадения в р. Горынь. которая условно делит Ровенщину на низменную (северную) и равнинно-в...


История Николаева

Город Николаев расположен в Северном Причерноморье на берегах Бугского лимана при слиянии с рекой Ингул. Наиболее ранний археологический памятник, который ...