History of Cherkassy

Cherkassy municipal arms Cherkassy - is one of the most picturesque Ukrainian city with the population over 300 thousand people; it is located approximately in 180 kilometers to the south from Kiev, on the right bank of Dnepro. It is the administrative, economic, scientific and cultural centre of Cherkassy region.

The territory of present Cherkassy was populated 40 000 years ago during paleolith epoch.

In VII - III centuries B.C. the most part of steppes of Dnepro region were occupied by Scythians. On those lands of Dnepro region the kernel of east Slavic tribes was appeared, who formed Kiev Russia.

The first mention of Cherkassy refers to 1394 when it was strengthened by the city on southern boundaries of Kiev land. In due course the edge became a part of Old Russian power, an original advanced post on the way of aggressive nomads which made attacks from southern steppes on those Slavic lands.

In XIV - first half of XVII century population of Cherkassy suffered from the Tatar-Mongolian invasion, battled against the Turkish-Tatar yoke, against oppression of the Lithuanian feudal lords and Polish szlyachta.

Before liquidation of Kiev princedom (in 1471) Cherkassy was included into its structure, and after liquidation - in structure of Kiev voivodship, the Great Lithuanian princedom. From XV century, the city became the centre of Cherkassy starostvo. There was constantly a head, the deputy of the big Lithuanian prince, and after Ljubljana Union of 1569 - the Polish king.

In XV century in Cherkassy region there were first settlements of Cossacks, and Cherkassy became their powerful strengthening in struggle against Polish szlyachta, attacks of Turks and Crimean Tatars. (They were called cherkassy under the city name round which Cossacks lodged, however, in Russian documents of XVI-XVII centuries all Ukrainians were named cherkassy). For protection against enemies, Cherkassy castle was built. In the beginning of XVI century, the castle was strengthened. In 1532, it helped to sustain a 30-days siege of Crimean horde. In 1549, the new more powerful castle was erected. It was on a high mountain near Dnepro. The city was built round the castle. It had also strengthening: a jail with two gates.

Cherkassy citizens actively participated in peasant-Cossack revolts of the end of XVI - first half of XVII century. In May 1593 near Cherkassy, severe fight of insurgents group under the guidance of K.Kosinsky took place. Cherkassy region played considerable role in liberation war of Ukrainian people against Polish magnates in 1648-1654 . Documents and material exhibits of museum of local lore tell about events in edge during liberation struggle under the guidance Bohdan Khmelnitskiy. Cossack flag and a copy of first letter of Bohdan Khmelnitskiy written in Cherkassy on June 8, 1648 to Russian tsar Alexey Mihayovich with the request for reunion of Ukraine with Russia are reserved.

Under the Andrusovsky contract (1667) Cherkassy again shifted away to Poland again. In condition of national oppression exasperation and strengthening of feudal dependence, the peasant revolts were spread out. Peasants' march-off against Polish-szlyachta oppressions in Cherkassy region, known as "Koliiyvshina" was one of large revolts of XVIII century in Right-bank Ukraine.

In 1793, the city became a district city of Russian empire, its Kiev province that positively affected the city development. The considerable industrial enterprises started to arise; the greatest were tobacco and tissue factories. The trade reached appreciable development in the middle of XIX century. Every year once a week, there were seven fairs, and markets in a city. The cargo turn of landing stage on Dnepro grew. Cherkassy became one of the main reloading points of wood who was alloyed from northern areas across Dnepro. Economy development promoted city growth. Building of Cherkassy was conducted under the plan of 1815 which provided creation of quarters with direct streets.

In second half of XIX century, after reform of 1861, building of railways in Cherkassy the industry started to develop; there were, in particular, sugar refining plant, mechanical factory, some tobacco factories.

When in Russia powerful revolutionary march-offs began, in March 1905 workers of Uman printing houses, bakeries of iron factory striked; in May - June workers of Shpola and Cherkassy sugar factories.

In February 1917, bourgeois-democratic revolution won in the country. Natives of edge (A.Homenko, Y.Shkyrya, I.Zaslavsky) took part in struggle against autocracy in Petersburg. In May - June 1917 the work of Bolshevist organizations became more active in Cherkassy region.

In November 1922, Smelyansky sugar factory started up, one year later ten more sugar factories started to let out production.

During the Great Patriotic War Cherkassy were occupied by the enemy for 834 days. For that time Hitlerites caused huge damage to the city, having destroyed almost all industrial enterprises and over 3 000 buildings. From the middle of 1941, territory of Cherkassy region became an arena of bloody battles. Defensive fights on that front site were conducted by 26-th, 6-th, 38-th, 12-th army, and also by Dneprovsky group of Pinsky military flotilla. Commanders of armies and Dneprovsky military flotilla were: lieutenant general F.Kostenko, I.Muzychenko, D.Rjabyshev, major general P.Ponedelin, rear admiral D. Rogatchyov. 

On December 14, 1943, Cherkassy was released from fascist aggressors by armies of 2-nd Ukrainian front after fierce fights.

Restoration of the destroyed economy began. In the end of 1949 industrial enterprises of Cherkassy reached a pre-war level of production.

Modern Cherkassy - is one of the most considerable industrial centers of Ukraine where are developed mechanical engineering, chemical, easy, the food-processing industry are developed.

In Cherkassy there are three higher educational institutions (Cherkassy State University of Bohdan Khmelnitskiy, Engineer- technology Institute, Business Management Institute), a number of average special educational institutions, design-research establishments, 2 theatres, radio-and a television centre, some big libraries, museums, sports constructions.

Names of great Ukrainian poet T.Shevchenko, outstanding Ukrainian actress M.Zankovetskaya, Ukrainian playwright I.Karpenko-Karuy, Russian writer K.Paustovsky, Ukrainian composer K.Stetsenko, Ukrainian poet and the public figure P.Tychiny and many others are connected with Cherkassy. There lived and created Les Homin, poet Vasil Simonenko.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Read also

Recommended reading

History of Kropyvnytskyi

Kropyvnytskyi (until 2016, the city was called Kirovograd) is located on the coast of Ingul river (river inflow of Yuzhny Bug) at the confluence in i...


History of Ternopil

Ternopil - is a city-centre of Ternopil region on the river Seret, on the left inflow of Dniester rever. On this territory the traces of primitive people e...


History of Chernihiv

For the first time  is mentioned in 907 in the contract of Russia with Byzantium when Kiev prince Oleg, confirmed the victory over Greeks.In his terri...

История Черкасс

Герб ЧеркассЧеркассы — один из живописнейших украинских городов с населением свыше 300 тыс. человек — расположен примерно в 180-ти километрах к югу от Киева, направом берегу Днепра. Это административный, экономический, научный и культурный центр Черкасской области.

Территория нынешних Черкасс была заселена 40 000 лет тому назад в эпоху палеолита.

В VII—III столетиях до нашей эры большая часть приднепровских степей была занята скифами. Именно на этих землях Приднепровья формировалось ядро восточнославянских племен, из которых возникла Киевская Русь.

Первое упоминание в истории Черкасс относится к 1394 году, когда они уже были укрепленным городом на южных рубежах Киевской земли. Со временем край стал частью древнерусской державы, своеобразным форпостом на пути воинственных кочевников, которые совершали набеги из южных степей на эти славянские земли.

В XIV — первой половине XVII веков население Черкасс страдало от татаро-монгольского нашествия, сражалось против турецко-татарского ига, против гнета литовских феодалов и польской шляхты.

До ликвидации Киевского удельного княжества (в 1471 году) Черкассы входили в его состав, а после ликвидации — в состав Киевского воеводства Великого Литовского княжества. С XV ст. город стал центром Черкасского староства. Здесь постоянно находился староста, наместник большого литовского князя, а после Люблянской унии 1569 года — польского короля.

В XV веке на Черкасчине появились первые поселения казаков, а Черкассы стали их мощным укреплением в борьбе против польской шляхты, набегов турков и крымских татар. По названию города, вокруг которого казаки селились, их стали именовать и черкассами, а в русских документах XVI—XVII ст. черкассами называли всех украинцев вообще, так и развивалась история города Черкассы. Для защиты от врагов был сооружен Черкасский замок. В начале XVI столетия замок укрепили. Это помогло в 1532 году выдержать тридцатидневную осаду крымской орды. В 1549 году возвели новый более мощный замок. Находился он на высокой горе возле Днепра. Город расстраивался вокруг замка. Он также имел укрепления — острог с двумя воротами. 

Жители Черкасс активно участвовали в крестьянско-казацких восстаниях конца XVI — первой половины XVII ст. В мае 1593 года под Черкассами произошла жестокая битва отряда повстанцев под руководством К. Косинского.История города Черкассы, История Черкасс

Значительную роль сыграла Черкасчина в освободительной войне украинского народа 1648—1654 гг. против польских магнатов. Документы и вещественные экспонаты краеведческого музея рассказывают о событиях в крае в период освободительной борьбы народа в под руководством Богдана Хмельницкого. Здесь хранятся казацкие знамена и копия первого письма Богдана Хмельницкого к русскому царю Алексею Михайловичу с просьбой о воссоединении Украины с Россией, написанного в Черкассах 8 июня 1648 года.

По Андрусовскому договору (1667) Черкассы снова отошли к Польше. В условиях ожесточения национального гнета и усиления феодально-крепостнической зависимости развертывались крестьянские восстания. Одним из крупных восстаний XVIII века на Правобережной Украине было выступление крестьянских масс на Черкасчине против польско-шляхетского угнетения, известное под названием «Колиивщина».

В 1793 году город становится уездным городом Российской империи, ее Киевской губернии, что положительно сказалась на развитии города. Начинают возникать значительные промышленные предприятия, наибольшим из которых была табачная и папиросная фабрики. Заметного развития торговля достигла в средине XIX ст. Каждый год в городе происходило 7 ярмарок, а базары — один раз в неделю. Вырос грузовой оборот пристани на Днепре. Черкассы стали одним из главных перевалочных пунктов леса, который сплавлялся из северных районов по Днепру. Развитие экономики способствовало росту города. Застройка Черкасс велась по плану 1815 года, который предусматривал создание кварталов с прямыми улицами.

Во второй половине XIX ст., после реформы 1861 г., строительства железных дорог в Черкассах начала развиваться промышленность; возникают, в частности, сахаро-рафинадный и механический завод, несколько табачных фабрик.

Когда в России начались мощные революционные выступления,
в марте 1905 года бастовали рабочие Уманских типографий, пекарен чугуноплавильного завода; в мае-июне Шполянского и Черкасского сахарных заводов.

В феврале 1917 года в стране победила буржуазно-демократическая революция. В борьбе с самодержавием в Петербурге принимали участие и уроженцы края (А.П. Хоменко, Я. И. Шкыря, И. С. Заславский). В мае-июне 1917 года активизируется работа большевистских организаций на Черкасчине.

В ноябре 1922 года был пущен Смелянский сахарный завод, через год начали выпускать продукцию еще десять сахарных заводов. 

Во время Великой Отечественной войны Черкассы 834 дня были оккупированы врагом. За это время гитлеровцы нанесли городу огромный ущерб, разрушив почти все промышленные предприятия и свыше 3.000 зданий. С середины 1941 года территория Черкасчины стала ареной кровопролитных сражений. Оборонительные бои на этом участке фронта вели 26-я, 6-я, 38-я, 12-я армии, а также Днепровский отряд Пинской военной флотилии. Командующие армиями и Днепровской военной флотилии: генерал-лейтенанты Ф.Я. Костенко, И.Н. Музыченко, Д.И. Рябышев, генерал-майор П.Г. Понеделин, контр-адмирал Д.Д. Рогачев. 

14 декабря 1943 года Черкассы были освобождены от немецко-фашистских захватчиков войсками 2-го Украинского фронта после ожесточенных боев. Началось восстановление разрушенного хозяйства. В конце 1949 г. промышленные предприятия Черкасс достигли довоенного уровня производства.

Современная история Черкасс

Современные Черкассы — один из значительных индустриальных центров Украины, где развиты машиностроение, химическая, легкая, пищевая промышленность.

В Черкассах есть три высших учебных заведения (Черкасский Государственный Университет им. Богдана Хмельницкого, Инженерно-технологический институт, Институт управления бизнесом), ряд средних специальных учебных заведений, проектно-исследовательские учреждения, 2 театра, радио- и телецентр, несколько больших библиотек, музеев, спортивных сооружений.

С Черкассами связаны имена великого украинского поэта и выдающегося художника Т.Г. Шевченко, украинской актрисы М. Заньковецкой, украинского драматурга И. Карпенко-Карого, русского писателя К. Паустовского, украинского композитора К. Стеценко, украинского поэта и общественного деятеля П. Тычины и многих других. Здесь жили и творили писатель Лесь Хомин, поэт Василь Симоненко.

 Под редакцией: Коваленин В.А.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Читайте также

Рекомендуем почитать

История Луганска

Луганск, самый восточный город на Украине, расположен в северо-восточной части Донецкого бассейна, в месте слияния рек Лугань (правый приток реки Северский...


История Кировограда

Кировоград расположен на берегах Ингула (приток реки Южный Буг) при впадении в него речушек Сугоклея и Биянка. Город возник на территории, где на рубеже ...


История Сум

Сумы — административный, экономический и культурный центр Сумской области, образованной 10 января 1939 г. Количество населения по переписи 2005 г. составля...