History of Khmelnitskiy

It is the largest city (254.4 thousands inhabitants), the regional centre, which is located on the river coast Yuzhny Bug. Possibly, the first settlers in these places appeared after 1434 when these lands were grasped by Poland. They chose the place on the right coast of the river, surrounded with other parties of the river Ploskaya and bogs. The ditch was dug round the settlement, which together with the small river name formed an initial name of sentry alarm point - Ploskurov. Its first mention in documents dated back to 1493, which in XVIII century changed to Proskurov. Originally it was a small settlement with wooden fortress and sentry garrison, where lived about hundred people. In 1550 the Polish king Sigizmund II August presented Proskurov to prefect M.Vlodka, and in 1578 it acquired the right to carry out of two fairs and the weekly auctions. The settlement located nearby to Tatar "Black path" was repeatedly exposed to their attack, the most fatal occurred in 1512 and 1593. Destructive Emancipating war of the Ukrainian people, periodically flashing revolts and wearisome 27-year-old (1б72-1б99) Turkish occupation of these lands, after which in the future regional centre only some people was left, all this negatively affected Proskurov's development.

In the beginning of ХVIII century Proskurov became a private possession of Zamojsky princes whose efforts gradually turned to the important trading-craft centre of region which was famous for carpet manufacture. After the third division of Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth in 1795 these lands were the parts of Russian empire. The next repartition of the Ukrainian lands gave Proskurov the city status, the district centre of again created Podolsk province and good prospects of its development. 

An important role in its realization played the end of railway construction (1870) Zhmerinka - Proskurov - Volochisk, which considerably recovered an economic life of the city. By the end of XIX century the quantity of industrial enterprises in Proskurov had increased in ten times. In the beginning of First World War Podolia became a front zone and Proskurov suffererd not only severities, but also the deprivations of civil war, which followed them, as a result of fierce fights these lands were kept as a part of the Ukrainian Soviet Socialist Republic. Relatively later than city formation, a terrible fire of 1822 and presence in the thick of world and civil war events promoted formation of outstanding architectural face of Proskurov.

Among construction of city centre the private residences and office buildings of the end of XIX - beginning of XX centuries draw the attention, there the City Council, museum, theatre and other establishments take place now. More than ten private residences in memory of rough events of the Soviet power formation on Podolia, when the staffs of many military divisions lodged in Proskurov, now decorate the memorial boards, founded in 1967 in honour of the 50 anniversary of October revolution. The highest construction of that time is the building of a fire brigade which by analogy to other cities of the Western Ukraine could be a town hall.

Most widely in architectural shape of Khmelnitskiy, so the city began to be called in 1954, the Soviet stage of its development was presented. At that time majestic constructions of regional administration, music and drama theatre, philharmonic society, set of other buildings and monuments (to B.Khmelnitskiy, 1958; A.Makarenko, 1962; T.Shevchenko, 1964; N.Ostrovsky, 1964 and a number of military memorials), defined architectural aura of the city. For years of independence of Ukraine there were the new architectural impregnations capable in the course of time to shake the Soviet town-planning hegemony. The monument to T.Shevchenko's (1992, sculptors I. and V.Znoba, the architect V.Gromihin) is surprising-bulky, unique in Ukraine horse monument to B.Khmelnitskiy (1993, the sculptor V.Borisenko, architect N.Kopyl), unusually effective under the composite decision the monument to the soldiers who were lost in Afghanistan and other local wars. New buildings of banks bring the big variety in architectural silhouette of the city, underlining change of the social order in the country.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read also

Recommended reading

History of Lviv

Lviv is located in foothills of Carpathians in head river of Plotva, left inflow of Zapadny Bug, at the western border of Ukraine in 80 km. from Poland. It...


History of Rivne

The Rivne city is located on the river Ust'e beyond some kilometers from its confluence in the river Goryn', which conditionally divides Rivne region on lo...


History of Ujgorod

Uzhgorod city - is an administrative centre of Zakarpatskaya region. It is located at the foot of Carpathians on twisting coast of the river Uzh. As the ar...

История Хмельницкого

Крупнейший город (254,4 тыс. жителей), областной и районный центр, расположен на берегах р. Южный Буг. Вероятно, первые поселенцы в этих местах появились после 1434 г., когда эти земли захватила Польша. Они облюбовали место на правом берегу реки, окруженное с других сторон р. Плоской и болотами. Вокруг поселения вырыли ров, который с названием речки образовал первоначальное имя сторожевого сигнального пункта — Плоскуров, в документах впервые упоминаемое в 1493 г, а в XVIII в. трансформировавшееся в Проскуров. История ХмельницкогоПервоначально это было небольшое поселение с деревянной крепостью и сторожевым гарнизоном, где проживало около ста человек. В 1550 г. польский король Сигизмунд II Август подарил Проскуров каменецкому старосте М. Влодке, а в 1578 г. он получил право на проведение двух ярмарок и еженедельных торгов. Расположенное неподалеку от татарского Черного шляха поселение, неоднократно подвергалось их нападению, наиболее фатальные произошли в 1512 и 1593 гг. Неблагоприятно сказались на развитии Проскурова и разрушительная Освободительная война украинского народа, периодически вспыхивающие восстания и изнурительная 27-летняя (1672-1699 гг.) турецкая оккупация этих земель, после которой в будущем областном центре осталось всего несколько человек. 

История Хмельницкого

В начале ХVIII в. Проскуров становится частными владениями князей Замойских, усилиями которых постепенно превращается в важный торгово-ремесленный центр региона, славившийся своим ковроделием. После третьего раздела Речи Посполитой в 1795 г. эти земли входят в состав Российской империи. Очередной передел украинских земель принес Проскурову статус города, уездного центра вновь созданной Подольской губернии и хорошие перспективы развития. 

Немаловажную роль в их реализации сыграло завершение в 1870 г. строительства железной дороги Жмеринка — Проскуров — Волочиск, значительно оживившей экономическую жизнь города. К концу XIX в. в истории города Хмельницкий количество промышленных предприятий в Проскурове увеличилось десятикратно. В начале Первой мировой войны Подолье становится прифронтовой зоной и Проскуров испытал на себе не только ее тяготы, но и последовавшие за ним лишения гражданской войны, в результате ожесточенных боев которой эти земли были сохранены в составе Украинской ССР. Относительно позднее становление города, страшный пожар 1822 г. и нахождение в гуще событий мировой и гражданской войн мало способствовали формированию выдающегося архитектурного лица Проскурова. 

Среди застройки центра города привлекают внимание особняки и административные здания конца XIX — начала XX вв., где в настоящее время размещаются горсовет, музей, театр и другие учреждения. Более десятка особняков в память о бурных событиях времени становления советской власти на Подолье, когда в Проскурове квартировали штабы многих военных подразделений, украшают мемориальные доски, установленные в 1967 г. в честь 50-летия Октябрьской революции. Самым высоким сооружением той поры является здание пожарной части, которое по аналогии с другими городами Западной Украины могло бы быть ратушей. 

Наиболее широко в архитектурном облике Хмельницкого, так город стал называться в 1954 году, представлен советский этап его развития. В это время были построены величественные сооружения областной администрации, музыкально-драматического театра, филармонии, множество других зданий и памятников (Б. Хмельницкому, 1958 г.; А. Макаренко, 1962; Т. Шевченко, 1964 г.; Н. Островскому, 1964 г. и ряд военных мемориалов), определяющих архитектурную ауру города. За годы независимости Украины в ней появились новые архитектурные вкрапления, способные с годами пошатнуть советскую градостроительную гегемонию. Это памятник Т. Шевченко (1992 г., скульпторы И. и В. Зноба, архитектор В. Громихин), удивительно-громоздкий единственный в Украине конный монумент Б. Хмельницкому (1993 г., скульптор В. Борисенко, архитектор Н. Копыл), необычно эффектный по композиционному решению памятник воинам, погибшим в Афганистане и других локальных войнах. Большое разнообразие в архитектурный силуэт города вносят новые здания банков, своим появлением подчеркивающие изменение общественного строя в стране.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Читайте также

Рекомендуем почитать

История Донецка

Донецк расположен в степной зоне, в верховьях реки Кальмиус, в 95 км севернее Азовского моря, окружен небольшими лесами, холмами, реками и озерами. Заселе...


История Ивано-Франковска

Город расположен между реками Солотвинская и Надворнянская Быстрица, в предгорье Карпат, недалеко от древнего Галича —  столицы Галицко-Волынского кня...


История Харькова

Город Харьков основан в середине XVII ст., но археологические находки свидетельствуют о том, что здесь были поселения еще в эпоху бронзы во ІІ тисячелети...