Dominican Monastery and the Cathedral - Lviv

Dominican cathedral and monastery - is a cult construction in Lviv (Ukraine), one of the most considerable monuments of baroque architecture in the city. It is located on square Muzeinaya, 1. In 1990th years the cathedral was transferred to UGKC and the Temple carries the name of the Most Holy Evharistia. Since 1972 in monastery and belltower buildings there was a Museum of history of religion and atheism (the modern name - Museum of history of religion) and creative association «Dzyga».

The church is performed in a stone, in the plan it poses the extended rood with the oval central part, two radially located chapels, rectangular an altar and antechurch. A huge elliptic dome which is supported by eight pairs of powerful dual columns, crowns the church. Strongly developed eaves and the decorated pediment of the portal make its facade dynamical and expressional. This effect is strengthened by sculptures on pediment, executed in different foreshortenings.

In the church architecture the influence of St. Peter's Cathedral and the church of Maria di Monte Santo in Rome, the cathedral of Sacred Dominic in Bologna, Sacred Charles Boromeus and Sacred Peter churches in Vienna was showed.

In the church interior the magnificent baroque altar is decorated by four big statues executed by artists of M.Palejovsky's spectrum. Galleries and loggias are decorated with wooden statues of Lviv sculptors work of the second half of XVIII century. In the interior K.Fessinger's initial sculptural design was saved. There are some valuable monuments of art: Y.Dunin-Borkovskaya marble gravestone of the well-known Danish sculptor B.Torvaldsen (1816), the monument of Galitsy governor F. Gauer of A.Shimzer's work (beginning of XIX century), the monument to Polish artist A.Grotger of V.Gademsky's work (1880).

The church was adjoined by the building of monastic cells, anew reconstructed in 1556-1621 and restored after fires in 1766 and 1778.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Other interesting places

The Castle “Swallow’s Nest” - c.Yalta

It was built on Avrora steep of the Ah-todor cape rock. The building reminds medieval knight's castle. The "Swallow's nest" became an original em...


Sevastopol Defence Panorama - Sevastopol

Panorama - is the historical and art monument which immortalised the feat of city defenders during the storm of French and English armies on the Ship party...


A copy of Mertsalov's Palm Tree - Donetsk

Memorable sign «Mertsalov's Palm tree» is located at the building of regional museum of local lore. It poses the copy of the well-known «Mertsalov's Palm t...


Read also

Доминиканский монастырь и собор — г. Львов

Доминиканский собор и монастырь — культовое сооружение во Львове, один из самых значительных памятников архитектуры барокко в городе. Расположен на пл. Музейная, 1. В 1990-е годы собор был передан УГКЦ и носит название Храм Пресвятой Евхаристии. В зданиях монастыря и колокольни с 1972 года находится Музей истории религии и атеизма (современное название — Музей истории религии) и творческое объединение «Дзыга».

Костёл выполнен в камне, в плане представляет вытянутый крест с овальной центральной частью, две радиально расположенные часовни, прямоугольными алтарем и притвором. Венчает костёл огромный эллиптический купол, который поддерживают восемь пар мощных сдвоенных колонн. Сильно развитый карниз и декорированный фронтон портала делают фасад динамичным и экспрессивным. Этот эффект усиливают скульптуры на фронтоне, выполненные в разных ракурсах.

В архитектуре костёла проявилось влияние собора Святого Петра и костёла Марии ди Монте Санто в Риме, собора Святого Доминика в Болонье, костёлов Святого Карла Боромеуса и Святого Петра в Вене.

В интерьере костёла роскошный барочный алтарь украшают четыре большие статуи, исполненные художниками круга М. Палейовского. Галереи и лоджии украшены деревянными статуями работы львовских скульпторов второй половины XVIII века. В интерьере сохранилось первоначальное скульптурное оформление К. Фессингера. Есть несколько ценных памятников искусства: мраморное надгробие Ю. Дунин-Борковской работы известного датского скульптора Б. Торвальдсена (1816), памятник галицкому губернатору Ф. Гауэру работы А. Шимзера (начало XIX века), памятник польскому художнику А. Гротгеру работы В. Гадемского (1880).

К костёлу примыкает здание монастырских келий, перестроенное заново в 1556—1621 годах и восстановленное после пожаров 1766 и 1778 годов.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Другие интересные места

Черная могила — г. Чернигов

Величественная насыпь кургана «Черная могила» расположена в Чернигове рядом с Елецким монастырем. Это один из самых больших сохранившихся древнерусских кур...


Выдубицкий монастырь — г. Киев

Выдубицкий монастырь — древний монастырь в Киеве. Монастырь был построен между 1070 и 1077 годами Всеволодом Ярославичем, сыном Ярослава Мудрого. Являлся с...


Исторический комплекс «Запорожская Сечь» — о. Хортица

Исторический комплекс в Запорожье — это реконструированная казацкая крепость XVI—XVIII веков. Слово «сечь» происходит от слова «засека», т.е. «частокол», к...


Читайте также