City park of Ivan Franko - Lviv

The Park is located in the Galicia district of Lviv, in the center of the city. It is a national Ukraine treasure, environmental and recreational facilities. In the ground floor of the Park there is a memorial complex of Ivan Franko. The total area of green space is 10.6 hectares.

This is the first public park of the city, founded in the XVI century on the site of the city's fields. In 1614, the park was "temporarily" handed monks Jesuits. They built there brick factory to provide for themselves the material for the church and convent. They organized in the park inn and brewery. "Temporary owners” hosted here 160 years, until their order has been eliminated. On the maps of that time the park was called "Jesuit garden" or "Jesuit kaleyard".

In 1655, in the park stayed artillery of Bohdan Khmelnytsky, which besieged Lviv; and in 1773, the park went to the Austrian property. In 1835, in the middle of the park was built beautiful refined rotunda, which has survived to the present day to spite all the wars that have raged around her.

Although park changed owners several times, but nobody wanted to keep it in good condition until 1855 when it moved to the municipality property. Then the park began to change in the face for the better. There were a lot of trees and alleys. At this time the park had the name of the national hero of Poland Tadeusz Kosciuszko, and in the Soviet period, the park was renamed to Ivan Franko.

In the park are monuments of Ukrainian and Polish cultural figures and politicians, established at the end of XIX century, and a monument to Ivan Franko appeared only in 1964. The basis of the park - the oaks, maples, black poplars and linden trees planted in 1855-1890. Later there appeared rare plants: rocky oak, Bondoukou, berry yew, maple-leaf sycamore and others.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Other interesting places

Kamenka Sich - Respublikanets

In the period from XVI to XVIII century on the territory of Ukraine there were several Zaporizhzhia Siches, and Kamenska is the most preserved of them. Sic...

Trinity Cathedral - c.Novomoskovsk

It was constructed by national master A.Pogrebnyak who accordingly to the legend for discriptive reasons of the design plan presented to the customers the ...

Sofia Cathedral - Kyiv

The cathedral of Sacred Sofia (the Sofia cathedral) was constructed in XI century in the centre of Kyiv by the order of Yaroslav the Wise. On the boundary ...

Read also

Городской парк им. Ивана Франко — г. Львов

Парк находится в Галицком районе Львова, в центре города. Является национальным достоянием Украины, природоохранным и рекреационным объектом. В партерной части парка находится памятный комплекс Ивана Франко. Общая площадь зеленой зоны составляет 10,6 га.

Это первый публичный парк города, основанный еще в XVI веке на месте бывших городских полей. В 1614 году парк был «временно» передан монахам-иезуитам. Они построили в нем кирпичный завод, чтобы обеспечить себя материалом для будущего костела и монастыря. Они же организовали в парке корчму и пивоварню. «Временщики» хозяйничали тут 160 лет, пока их орден не был ликвидирован. На картах тех лет парк звался «Иезуитским садом» или «Иезуитскими огородами».

В 1655 году в парке размещалась артиллерия Богдана Хмельницкого, осаждавшего город, а в 1773 году парк перешел в австрийскую собственность. В 1835 году в центре парка была построена прекрасная утонченная ротонда, которая дожила до наших дней назло всем войнам, бушевавшим вокруг нее.

Хоть парк и менял владельцев несколько раз, сохранить его никто не стремился — до 1855 года, когда он не перешел в муниципальную собственность. Тогда парк начал меняться в лице — в лучшую сторону. Появилось множество деревьев, аллеи. В это время парк носил имя национального героя Польши Тадеуша Костюшко, а в советский период был переименован в парк имени Ивана Франко.

В парке сохранились памятники украинским и польским деятелям культуры и политики, установленных в конце XIX века, а памятник И. Франко появился только в 1964 году. Основа парка — дубы, клены, осокори (черный тополь) и липы, посаженные в 1855—1890 годах. В дальнейшем здесь появились и редкие растения: скалистый дуб, бундук, ягодный тис, кленолистный платан и другие.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Другие интересные места

Церковь Святого Георгия — г. Любомль

Церковь Святого Георгия — важное не только для Любомля сооружение, но и для всей Украины. Здание было построено в XIII веке по приказу князя Владимира Васи...


Борисоглебский собор — г. Чернигов

Борисоглебский собор является характерным образцом черниговской архитектурной школы ХІІ в. Крестовокупольный, шестистолпный, увенчанный одной главой (высот...


Крымский этнографический музей — г. Симферополь

Впервые этнографический отдел в Крыму был создан при Центральном музее Тавриды 18 мая 1923 года. Его коллекции — это конфискованные после октября 1917 го...


Читайте также