Monument to Adam Mickiewicz - Lviv

Monument to Adam Mitskevichku or Column of Adam Mickiewicz is a symbol of Lviv, located in the heart of the city on the square bearing the name of the poet.

Figure emblematic historical figure is 3.3 meters, the total height of the monument is 21 meters. Polish diaspora wanted to erect a monument in Lviv after the poet's death, but the decision for a long time to brake. About monument began to talk in earnest after the formation of the cult of Adam Mickiewicz as a national Polish genius. 28 projects took part in the competition for a monument to the agent of national-liberation movement in Poland, announced December 10, 1898 for the 100th anniversary of the birth of Adam Mickiewicz. Due to the originality (the presence of the column) won the project of Anton Popel. The final draft of Adam Mickiewicz depicted with throw the right hand, which is close to the angel with lyre. The column is made of Milan granite; sculptures of angel and Mickiewicz covered with greenish platinum. The monument was erected in 1904 and opened on October 30.

Originally, the monument had to be in other place, but during the excavation to install the pedestal was found underground water, preventing the construction, and now a monument is in the center of the area (not on the edge). Because local inhabitants were afraid of further flood of the river Poltava, they brought here tons of sand and for some time that Mickiewicz Square (formerly Mariyskaya or Maryatskaya Square) wore the nickname "Lviv Sahara".

After the construction the monument was the dominant of area, overlooking the three-story buildings in eclectic style. However, in 1909 at the junction of Copernicus street and the Mickiewicz Area appeared the monumental building, which became the "competitor" of the monument; and then, in 1921, there was a house of Sprecher – Lviv’s first "skyscraper".
blog comments powered by Disqus

Other interesting places

Askold's Tomb - Kyiv

Askold's Tomb is a place on the right bank of the Dnieper River in Kiev, where, according to legend, buried Prince Askold – on the place of his death. Hi...


Kirovohrad Regional Art Museum - Kirovohrad

The Kirovohrad regional art museum was created in January, 1993 on the basis of picture gallery and located in the former arcade - the sights of architectu...


The Church of Holy Spirit - c.Rogatyn

The church (1598) is the trivial temple which walls are laid out from smoothly processed massive oak bars. Together with a belltower the church has the gen...


Read also

Памятник Адаму Мицкевичу — г. Львов

Памятник Адаму Мицкевичку, или Колонна Адама Мицкевича, — один из символов Львова, расположенный в самом центре города — на площади, носящей имя поэта.

Фигура знаковой исторической личности составляет 3,3 метра, суммарная же высота памятника 21 метр. Польская диаспора Львова захотела воздвигнуть памятник сразу после смерти поэта, однако решение долгое время тормозилось. О ней стали говорить всерьез после образования культа Адама Мицкевича как национального польского гения. 28 проектов приняли участие в конкурсе на лучший памятник деятелю национально-освободительного движения Польши, объявленного 10 декабря 1898 года к 100-летию со дня рождения Мицкевича. За счет оригинальности (наличия колонны) победил проект Антона Попеля. В окончательном проекте Адам Мицкевич изображен с откинутой в сторону правой рукой, к которой приближается ангел с лирой. Колонна выполнена из миланского гранита, скульптуры Мицкевича и ангела покрыты зеленоватой платиной. Памятник сооружен в 1904 году, его открытие выпало на 30 октября.

Изначально памятник должен был находиться в несколько другом месте, однако во время земляных работ по установке постамента, были обнаружены подземные воды, мешающие строительству, и теперь памятник находится в центре площади, а не с краю. Так как местные жители боялись дальнейшего разлива реки Полтава, сюда свозились тонны песка, за что некоторое время площадь Мицкевича (ранее Марийская или Марьяцкая) носила прозвище «львовская Сахара».

После строительства памятник был доминантой площади, возвышаясь над трехэтажными строениями в эклектическом стиле. Однако в 1909 году в месте перехода улицы Коперника в площадь Мицкевича появилось монументальное здание, ставшее «конкурентом» памятника, а затем, в 1921 году, рядом появился дом Шпрехера — первый львовский «небоскреб».
blog comments powered by Disqus

Другие интересные места

Памятник Артему — г. Святогорск

Занимательна история создания монумента. В 1925 году на этом месте стоял небольшой крест. Советская власть не могла с этим смириться, и было решено установ...


Памятник почтальону — г. Перечин

В городе Перечин находится единственный в Украине памятник почтальону, установленный в 2005 году. При этом он посвящен историческому лицу — местном жителю ...


Николаевская церковь — г. Святогорск

Николаевская церковь — уникальное сооружение. Ее алтарь, расположенный, как принято, в восточной части, высечен в массиве скалы. Отличительная особенность ...


Читайте также