The Fortess - c.Kamenets-Podolsky

For the first time Kamenets-Podolsky fortress is mentioned in 1374 in the reading and writing of prince Jury Koriatovich who owned Podolia at that time. Archaeological researches testify, that the fortress existed in Х-ХIII centuries. At first it posed as typical Old Russian wooden defensive construction. Walls and towers were basically wooden and partially stone. In XV century Podolia was grasped py Polish-szlyachta state, Kamenets-Podolsky became the centre of voivodship, the important point of Polish-Lithunian Commonwealth defence .
In the middle of XVI century wooden strengthening of the fortress were replaced on the stone ones under the guidance of architect Iov Pretvich. The fortress poses the polygon of extended form enclosed with high fortifications, with towers at every corner. To the right of eastern gate there is a single-tier pentahedral black tower with a well of 36 m. depth and 6 metres in diameter. Further on the circle there are 10 towers - Lyantskoronsky, Kommendantsky, Rozhanka, Water, New, Dennaya, Lyasky, Tenchinsky, Kolpak and to the left from the eastern gates - Papal, or Karmelyuk tower. It was the last name which the tower received in XIX century when Ustim Karmelyuk was imprisonned in it.
In 1672 Kamenets-Podolsky, as well as thw whole Podolia, was grasped by Turks. They restored the destroyed strengthenings, but they didn't bring any considerable constructions in the complex of strengthenings. As the Turkish garrison settled down there, people started to name the fortress and the bridge "Turkish".
After joining in 1812 of Bessarabia to Russian empire the Turkish border was removed, and Kamenets-Podolsky fortress as the defensive construction lost the value, it started to be used for garrison placing, and later - as a prison.
In 1928 the fortress was declared as republican reserve, and in 1937 the memorial estate was organised there. In 1948 the fortress was brought in the state register of historical-architectural instructions of all-union value.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Other interesting places

Monument to Duke de Reshelye (Duke de Reshelye) - Odessa

Monument to Duke de Rishile or just Duke is the main symbol of Odessa. Bronze statue of a full-length (a little larger than the original) is dedicated to A...


Antoniy caves - Chernihiv

The caves building was widespread in antiquity in many countries of the world. Many caves were perfectly remained till our times. Such vaults are always fu...


The Church of Saint Basil - Ovruch

Basil’s Church is the oldest church of the city. The exact date of construction is 1190. The church was built by the orders of Prince Rurik Rostislavovich....


Read also

Крепость — г. Каменец-Подольский

Каменец-Подольская крепость впервые упоминается в 1374 году в грамоте князя Юрия Кориатовича, который владел в то время Подольем. Археологические исследования свидетельствуют, что крепость существовала в Х—ХIII вв. Сначала она представляла собой типовое старорусское деревянное оборонное сооружение. Стены и башни были в основном деревянными и лишь частично каменными. В XV в. Подолье было захвачено польско-шляхетской державой, и Каменец-Подольский стал центром воеводства, важным пунктом обороны Речи Посполитой.

В середине XVI в. деревянные укрепление крепости под руководством архитектора Иова Претвича были заменены каменными. Крепость представляет собой многоугольник вытянутой формы, обнесенный высокими крепостными стенами с башнями на каждом углу. Справа от восточных ворот находится одноярусная пятигранная Черная башня с колодцем глубиной 36 м и диаметром 6 метров. Далее по кругу идет 10 башен — Лянцкоронская, Комендантская, Рожанка, Водяная, Новая, Денная, Ляская, Тенчинская, Колпак и слева от восточных ворот — Папская, или Кармелюкова. Это последнее название башня получила в XIX в., когда в ней был посажен Устим Кармелюк.
В 1672 году город Каменец-Подольский, как и все Подолье, захватили турки. Они восстановили разрушенные укрепления, но никаких значительных сооружений в комплекс укреплений не внесли. В связи с тем, что здесь располагался турецкий гарнизон, крепость и мост в народе начали называть «турецкими».

После присоединения в 1812 году Бессарабии к Российской империи турецкая граница отодвинулась, и Каменец-Подольская крепость как оборонное сооружение утратило свое значение, ее начали использовать для размещения гарнизона, а позже — как тюрьму.

В 1928 году крепость, была объявлена республиканским заповедником, а в 1937 году здесь организован музей-заповедник. В 1948 году крепость внесена в государственный реестр историко-архитектурных памяток общесоюзного значения.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Другие интересные места

Ужгородский ботанический сад — Ужгород

Ужгородский ботанический сад — ботанический сад Ужгородского национального университета (Закарпатская область, Украина), памятник садово-паркового искусств...


Могила основателя хасидизма Баал-Шем Това — с. Меджибож

Меджибож — родина хасидизма, здесь в 1740 г. поселился путешествующий религиозный философ Израиль Бешт (Баал Шем-Тов), здесь же и умер в 1760 г. Его моги...


Змеиная пещера — г. Симферополь

Змеиная пещера известна крымским туристам если не по личным посещениям, то по скупым описаниям, изредка встречающимся в путеводителях. Из 50 исследованных ...


Читайте также